Beowulf - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Beowulf Reviews

Page 1 of 1672
April 26, 2019
Such an underrated movie. It's beautifully animated, action-packed and super enjoyable.
½ January 24, 2019
wow. wtf IS this?????????? i barely lasted 25 minutes before i started skipping around to actions scenes i didn't care about. absolute garbage. the animation may have been good for it's time (questionable), but it looks terrible and feels absurdly fake. everything about it feels fake. the faces look super fake. the movement doesn't feel real. and worst of all, the sound design doesn't even help. grendel is a giant, i was expecting bass in the footsteps, not only was there no base, i could barely hear the footsteps at all. when someone gets thrown into a table, you barely hear the impact. and don't get me started on the weakest dragon roar i've ever heard. there were some cool looking scenes, and grendel had a cool and creepy design. but nothing could save this movie for me. it was basically over when i heard grendel's moaning lmao (1 viewing)
½ January 11, 2019
The worst movie I've ever seen. Too long, Boring, Looks terrible, This movie literally gave me a conniption.
July 19, 2018
The CGI characters look relatively realistic, and the story is well brought, but the facial expressions are too bland to ever become very believable.
July 4, 2018
I forgot how much I loved this movie. I saw it several times when it first became available for rent many years ago. And now that I've discovered that it is on Amazon Prime, I've been watching it again and again. Great movie!
½ June 16, 2018
Pros: way better way to experience the epic than reading Old English! Entertaining, full of drama and action and a star studded cast. Watching the movie made me want to look more into the poem itself.
Cons: my biggest dissappointment is they took serious liberty with the plot line. Anyone (like myself) hoping to glean what Beowulf is will get serious mixed signals. Better to completely revamp the plot line like the Christopher Lambert movie so people know it isn't going to follow any actual poem plot points.
Animation I am sure is very advanced for 2007, but it is going to date the movie over time, and I don't know why they even used it. Sure you need animation for a dragon, but to roast a pig? Also I didn't realize why images came very close to the screen until I read this movie was meant to see in 3D - it is dstracting to watch in 2D.
I am not a fan of Angelina Jolie, and while you can excuse Beowulf for pausing, even an idiot would know not to stick his penis in a light socket. Geez!
Super Reviewer
February 18, 2018
Beowulf is an odd film, on one hand it is full of inspired direction and creatively but on the other, the character animation is lifeless. The action scenes are the key here, most of what is shot is not something you'll see filmed and I think this was an inspired direction. You trade real life actors for lifeless drones, the story won't add to much if you cannot relate to someone. The technology isn't here, but it won't be long, Avatar pushed the boundaries that little bit further. I get why there is mixed feelings on this film but I'm on the side of ambition, the action is relentless and the story is grand. I hope they revisit this film in the future and add facial features, a directors cut that can enhance the film and avoid the pitfalls of a lifeless character. 17/02/2018.
½ January 2, 2018
intriguing in the beginning, loses its luster as the story gets more and more off the wall, and as you realize you're not watching live action. It was not obvious at first. But eventually it's clear. and there is no reason for it. The fight scene ending was completely ridiculous. Movies that do this need to stick to source material, or else not do it at all. The source material is the only reason anyone saw this. And it deserves to be followed.
½ November 8, 2017
A decent adaptation of the ancient English poem, though at times, one or two scenes are so ridiculous, they're hilarious to watch!
October 29, 2017
i think beowulf looks like a amazing movie but its not a kids movie because it has lots of sexual innuendo and is very vilonte beowulf rips a dragons heart out and then crushes it in his hands but it still looks like a good movie for the action and plot
½ October 16, 2017
I had to read this in class and it was bad so im assuming the movie is bad as well
October 14, 2017
Take a trip down the uncanny valley with very few impressive moments to retell the brash tale of Beowulf. Worth a watch but more so just to see how close technology is from fooling it's audiences.
½ June 16, 2017
Can't stand how under appreciated this adult animation is. The surreal animation creates a off sense to the world which supports the themes of greed and violence. And the misters would not have looked half as good in a live action.
½ May 11, 2017
Not my type of movies at all... somehow I enjoyed it immensely. The story lacks substance and the plot is poorly developed but the visual beauty (and by that I mean the special effects and cinematography) makes up for everything.
January 22, 2017
Should be a good'n -the cast is promising and its a fantastic tale, direction possibly a bit dodge for this kinda movie but will jus' have to wait'n see...
December 31, 2016
Decent movie, great leap in graphics
December 23, 2016
OMFGOMFGOMFG THIS MOVIE IS GONNA BE AMAZING I HAVE TO SEE IT I CANT WAIT OMFG ITS GONNA BE SO GOOOOOOOOOOD! this... i... sweaaaaar...

xD xD xD xD xD
December 3, 2016
Beowulf is an ass kicking flick and a fantastic experience in all of its glory!

The movie was ahead of its time and nothing has unleashed its epicness till yet!

Movie's direction, story, the screenplay, graphics, animation and its soundtracks will leave you pumped up!!!

It's an hell raising flick and a jaw dropping stunt by Robert Zemeckis!
November 20, 2016
Beowulf boasts great action, beautiful motion-capture computer-animation, stellar performances from its cast including a visually stunning Angelina Jolie in the role of Grendel's Mother resulting in another entertaining film from the mind of director Robert Zemeckis who improves over his last motion-capture CGI directorial effort, The Polar Express. However, note that some people will be surprised by how bloody and gory this film is in spite of earning a PG-13 rating in the US and a 12A rating in Britain. Did Zemeckis bribe the MPAA or were they watching the film when they were drunk and so, out of drunkenness, they accidentally submitted PG-13 instead of R and were too lazy to re-rate it on appeal? Whatever. A good motion-capture CGI movie. Not for little kids.
October 22, 2016
A wonderful film that tells the tale of Beowulf in a spectacular way.
Page 1 of 1672