Being John Malkovich - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Being John Malkovich Reviews

Page 1 of 589
April 24, 2019
John Malkovich appeared extraordinary as himself. The can throw scene is even amazing as one of the greatest improvised scenes in movies. Apart from his improv, he also plays a lonely character but is far from himself in the public eye. Cameron Diaz appeared with such beauty whatsoever. Same with Catherine Keener, the cunning but tempting. "Being John Malkovich" is clearly an interesting masterpiece with a unique and strange concept but not everyone would enjoy it. Filled with a twist but smart dark humor, this film never had the slightest bit of boredom. The movie has a lot of ambiguity and theory but it's a sin if I spoil it. The story of "getting stuck in someone else's body" is indeed nothing new but the film nailed it best.
½ April 19, 2019
What? Another over-rated film. This was a waste of my time.
½ March 18, 2019
It is an extremely unique film, but that plot is all that it has good about it. Everything else is so mind-boggling and selfish, it starts to crumble on its own weight. The characters are mean and unrelatable and the love story sub-plot is ridiculous and filled with cruel intention. The point behind the whole story is so self-absorbed and lousy, I was just anxiously waiting for it to cut to the end credits. I don't get why people love it. Absolute garbage.
½ March 3, 2019
Weird, funny, and very different with good performances from its four leads.
March 2, 2019
Brilliant and utterly unique film that is unlike any you have ever seen but still tells a very relatable story. The cast is uniformly excellent across the board, with both Cusak and Diaz unrecognizable in their roles, while Catherine Keener is a perfect femme fatale (her line, "If you ever got me, you wouldn't know what to do with me" is delivered with razor-sharp precision). Of course, Malkovich himself is perfectly game, mocking himself with glee (there is a great running gag about how everyone knows he's an actor but can't name a movie he was in). Behind the camera, director Spike Jonze and writer Charlie Kaufman craft a truly unique movie, with crazy rules that are so out there they kind of make sense (the fact Craig is a puppeteer does come into effect later). Despite the initial craziness, the film does make nice commentary on celebrity worship and wishing to be someone other than yourself, even to your detriment. Simply put, a true classic and a film that remains unique anything else made before or since.
½ February 22, 2019
Stupid, art-type film. Don´┐ 1/2 1/2(TM)t waste your time
February 3, 2019
Wow. What a time to be alive. Nothing I love more than a warm cup of John Malkovich.
½ February 1, 2019
OMG, I love these whacky af movies! Hate that I waited so long to see this masterpiece. Am I the only one that finds John Malkovich hot in this film? I´┐ 1/2 1/2(TM)d let him enter my brain any day.
½ January 28, 2019
One of the tripiest movies I've ever watched, the entire film is filled with insane, small details that all just compound to give the entire thing a very dream-like feeling. Full of unlikely but funny and understandable characters and the strangest premise for a film, it really hits all the absurd comedic beats.
January 27, 2019
The best, GREATEST fantasy movie ever made!
January 15, 2019
Love, love LOVE this awesome film. Such a rare treat to see a film that's 100% original writing. Pretty certain the actors loved working together performing for this brilliant screenplay.
½ January 11, 2019
Very interesting premise with bizarre characters and developments till it all makes sense. Wonderfully done - kept me guessing till the end.
½ January 10, 2019
The incomparable genius of Charlie Kaufman. Screenwriting goals.
½ November 27, 2018
Charlie Kauffman is a genius and Being John Malkovich is a testament to that. A unique idea but the zaniness is a bit too much to overcome. Not the director's fault though- Spike Jonze's filmography is defined by the offbeat and probably Being John Malkovich could be his most straightforward, or accessible film. But if so was the intention then he could have made this into a more box office friendly film. The drab settings and production design and the bleak outlook dampened the mood. The acting is good throughout and John Malkovich is very good playing a scared version of himself, and as mentioned at the start- the idea is absolutely class. (Kauffman and Jonze's movie magic at play).
½ November 6, 2018
This film was almost good.
October 29, 2018
After hearing so much about this movie I had to see what all the fuss was about and I really wish I hadn't. Being John Malkovich is one of the worst movies I've ever seen. It just keeps getting weirder and weirder and then ends without any explanation. The plot itself makes absolutely no sense whatsoever. Reading the reviews I realized I may be alone here with my opinion but I'm sticking to it.
September 27, 2018
Charlie Kauffman is a genius and Being John Malkovich is a testament to that. A unique idea but the zaniness is a bit too much to overcome. Not the director's fault though- Spike Jonze's filmography is defined by the offbeat and probably Being John Malkovich could be his most straightforward, or accessible film. But if so was the intention then he could have made this into a more box office friendly film. The drab settings and production design and the bleak outlook dampened the mood. The acting is good throughout and John Malkovich is very good playing a scared version of himself, and as mentioned at the start- the idea is absolutely class.
September 18, 2018
One of those few movies that remains as unpredictable in its second half as it was in its first half. Cerebral mind bending must see.
August 8, 2018
Wow..., the kind of bizarre that makes you burst out laughing!
½ August 1, 2018
A unique idea but the zaniness is a bit too much to overcome. Not the director's fault though- Spike Jonze's filmography is defined by the offbeat and probably Being John Malkovich could be his most straightforward, or accessible film. But if so was the intention then he could have made this into a more box office friendly film. The drab settings and production design and the bleak outlook dampened the mood. The acting is good throughout and John Malkovich is very good playing a scared version of himself, and as mentioned at the start- the idea is absolutely class.
Page 1 of 589