Before We Vanish (Sanpo suru shinryakusha) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Before We Vanish (Sanpo suru shinryakusha) Reviews

February 16, 2018
As an experiment in blending the minute character observations of Kurosawa's dramas into a pure genre plot, Before We Vanish does succeed.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
February 15, 2018
It's a quirky hybrid of a film that mostly works, thanks to some fine performances and by a script to goes in unexpected directions.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
February 2, 2018
An unsettling, and sometimes high-concept doodle, but it's awfully hard to resist a film that marries Atomic Age paranoia and optimism with Kurosawa's signature post-modern, atmosphere-intensive style.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
February 1, 2018
Although a tighter cut of the 130-minute Before We Vanish would likely be an improvement, it might lose this version's intriguing asides.
February 1, 2018
The movie plods and meanders through an overly-familiar narrative on its way to a half-baked and uneven conclusion.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
February 1, 2018
Beneath its cheeky, scattershot surface is a surprisingly earnest core, as well as a sincere inquiry into what exactly humanity stands to lose in the face of its looming extinction.
February 1, 2018
Mr. Kurosawa, a prolific and skilled genre master, spins this parable with a light, nimble touch, punctuating heavy passages of exposition with punchy, modest action sequences and snatches of incongruously bouncy music.
October 12, 2017
Yes, it's the peculiarly heartwarming tale of a man who becomes a better partner thanks to an alien invasion, but it also has an enormous body count and a dimly optimistic view of humanity. Still, you won't see anything else quite like it this year.
October 3, 2017
Before We Vanish makes viewers walk a mile to reach conclusions that were only a minute away.
Full Review | Original Score: C
May 25, 2017
Ultimately, "Before We Vanish" serves as an inquiry into what constitutes humanity.
Top Critic
May 24, 2017
It unleashes Kurosawa's more playful side-his comic instincts and a largely concealed flair for action-movie pyrotechnics, albeit of the budget variety.
Full Review | Original Score: B