Before We Vanish (Sanpo suru shinryakusha) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Before We Vanish (Sanpo suru shinryakusha) Reviews

Page 1 of 3
October 17, 2018
The plot takes some unexplained - or inexplicable - twists.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
May 30, 2017
A film with a very promising first part that is losing irrecoverably. [Full review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
February 6, 2018
It's too goofy for mere words. Worse, it clangs against Before We Vanish's ultimate goal, dramatically undercutting its framework as art concerned with the course of humanity's fate. The film suggests we're close to extinguishing our own race as is.
Full Review | Original Score: 5.9/10
October 3, 2017
Before We Vanish makes viewers walk a mile to reach conclusions that were only a minute away.
Full Review | Original Score: C
March 14, 2018
Sardonic, satiric aliens invade horror without the wit, urgency or style to come off.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
February 1, 2018
The movie plods and meanders through an overly-familiar narrative on its way to a half-baked and uneven conclusion.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 30, 2018
Kiyoshi Kurosawa's invasion sci-fi shows humanity's alienation from itself
May 22, 2017
The sparks of dark humour within this awkwardly paced and overlong drama are not enough to sustain audience interest until the film's laboured conclusion.
January 27, 2018
A Japanese sci-fi pic about aliens who invade human beings is too laid back to be of interest.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
February 15, 2018
The term genre-bender is often applied to director Kiyoshi Kurosawa for his mix of horror and drama. With this odd alien-invasion story, however, genre-broken might be more apt.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
September 23, 2019
While the plot used here is as cringe-worthingly cheesy as most alien invasions tend to be, many viewers will find plenty of worth in the emotions on display. As the aliens keep saying in the film: "This is interesting. I'll take it!"
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
February 8, 2019
By the time the credits rolled, I felt that I'd seen something I wouldn't soon forget.
January 23, 2018
Before We Vanish is a beautiful, wonderful tale that explores what it means to be human when faced with the threat of extinction.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 16, 2018
... one would be hard-pressed to deny that half the fun lies in taking the film in as the strange sum of its many seemingly ill-fitting parts.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
June 5, 2019
Genre has always been his strong suit and Before We Vanish is entertaining and accomplished enough to show why Kurosawa remains one of Japan's foremost auteurs working today.
March 13, 2018
Before We Vanish is very funny, very bloody, and doesn't have a happy ending.
May 25, 2017
The main interest of the film lies precisely in the human appearance of the already transformed beings. [Full review in Spanish]
May 25, 2017
Kiyoshi Kurosawa manages the elements of the genre effectively and brilliantly. [Full review in Spanish]
September 28, 2017
In his attempt to painstakingly try to understand the unanswerable questions that bind humanity together, Kurosawa has made a jumbled mess out of his ideas, but one which is nevertheless fascinating in its mad-cap ambition for answers.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
May 30, 2017
This transposition of Tomohiro Maekawa's novel is not bad, but it's light years away from the best works of its creator. [Full review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Page 1 of 3