Batman - Return to the Batcave - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Batman - Return to the Batcave Reviews

Page 1 of 10
½ June 10, 2017
An interesting look at the show and it's production but the plot throw in set during present day is awful.
April 24, 2017
While it could have been better due to the low budget of a made for tv movie, it still has lots of campy humour similar to the old Batman series. Still a delight for any batman fan!
½ November 16, 2014
A glaring reminder of why nobody truly respects this incarnation of Batman.
September 27, 2014
When the original Batmobile is stolen from a car museum, Adam (Adam West) and Burt (Burt Ward) jump into action, investigating the theft and in the process taking on their famous old roles as crimefighters Batman and Robin. They soon discover that the clues to the case are linked to their own pasts, and their memories of the behind-the-scenes conflicts and comedy on the show are dramatized in flashback sequences by actors playing the duo.

also stars Burgess Meredith, Cesar Romero, Frank Gorshin , Julie Newmar, Lee Meriwather, Jason Marsden and Lyle Waggoner.

directed by Paul A. Kaufman.
Super Reviewer
½ April 18, 2014
Holy predictable review opening Batman!...sorry, yep I know, no more. Way back in the vintage days of 2003 this TV movie came out on CBS in America, so basically no one outside of America knew of its existence. What's it about you say? well its simply a comical retrospective or quickfire trip down memory lane for Adam West and Burt Ward over their three season career as Batman and Robin. Its made around a silly little plot involving someone stealing the Batmobile at a convention, so the ancient dynamic duo set out to find the culprit.

The bookend plot is frankly meaningless really, I've no idea why they even went down that route when a simple bio approach would have been much better. The minor problem being that the actual sequences of West and Ward in their superhero days are flashbacks dotted throughout the plot. This means they are all too brief which is a shame because they are the best bits by far and you wanna see more.

The general approach of the entire flick is a harmless ridicule of the original show and is in no way meant to be anything but a good laugh. So on that note I can't complain, it is a silly ride, there are some nice moments that homage the old show, mainly a lovely punch up between the aging pair and some goons...the camera of course being suitably tilted at an angle. There are a few cameos from stars of the show naturally, Frank Gorshin and Julie Newmar being part of the daft plot, Meriwether makes an appearance and is still pretty darn hot (as is Newmar), whilst other old stars are played by actors and I must say they are very good, Tony Tanner as Meredith/the Penguin is excellent.

During the wafer thin and pointless Batmobile mystery plot you get nice cameos, homages and general cartoonish tomfoolery which is of course all in the same camp slapstick vein as the classic show. At the same time the retro flashbacks show highlights from West and Ward's lives in the famous outfits but in a light-hearted family orientated manner. These little snippets mainly focus on things we've heard about in the Batmania documentary like Ward and his audition, meeting West for the first time, Ward getting injured on set often, Waggoner's audition, the duo squabbling, Ward's troubled married life, the intro of Yvonne Craig as Batgirl, some of the big star cameos etc...It does seem to follow Ward more as the underdog, where as West (as in real life) was the more experienced older ladies man who could do no wrong.

The two actors playing the young versions of West and Ward are really good and they look like their real life counterparts, plus the stories from behind the scenes during the time of the old show are really interesting. I really liked how the retro flashbacks were done, think Tim Burton's 'Ed Wood' but not quite as cheeky. So while is it cool to see West and Ward firing dialog at each other again (don't forget about the awesome OAP bar room brawl), overall I would have liked to see more of the well created flashbacks.
December 7, 2012
Could be worth watching. Will find and devour with my eyes!
October 16, 2012
Good Movie series & T.V. serial...
October 3, 2012
Why not. I am a huge fan of the old series, and will post a review after I see this.
September 6, 2012
They made a point of not mentioning the word "Batman" for the first 15 minutes, so I thought it was going to do something interesting with the conceit, but no, it was just weird awkward filmmaking.

Half stupid adventure, half flashback, all sort-of dull.
July 27, 2012
A self-consciously silly trip down memory lane that would've worked better as a complete biopic on typecast actors Adam West and Burt Ward, who send themselves up with great effect here. But, as it is, 'Return to the Batcave' is as fun and undemanding as the cult camp television series it revolves around. With top marks to the perfectly cast Jack Brewer (as West), Jason Marsden (as Ward), and Brett Rickaby (as Frank Gorshin), special mention goes out to the lovely Julie Newmar who looks as though she could easily slip back into her Catwoman costume from 35 years ago.
½ July 26, 2012
This goofy semi-biography about the making of the Batman TV show from the 1960s. It has Burt Ward and Adam West return to play themselves "remembering" their time on the show as they try to uncover who stole the Batmobile from some charity event. It is really damn goofy, and you can tell it's truth level on how the show came to be and how it all worked was tainted by the involvement of the two original stars...they come off really well in the dramatized parts. The soundtrack is awful. If you liked the TV show, you will probably like this nonsense, but it is nonsense.
½ July 23, 2012
Pretty fun made for tv movie.
July 15, 2012
More corny than the show but worth watching.
½ May 17, 2012
Very entertaining !! I was a huge fan of the t.v show! This was a great throw back!! Adam and Burt still got it!
May 14, 2012
I never knew of this one, Now i am trying to watch it!
½ May 3, 2012
A fun little reunion.
April 21, 2012
Adam, I hope you know your done. lol
½ September 16, 2011
jejej absurdamente cómica esta película,
August 11, 2011
A very good tv movie. An enjoyable piece of nostalgia which should be enjoyed by all fans of the series. Although some of it isn't as good as it could have been and it's never as funny as the original, Adam west and Ward still make a great team.
July 14, 2011
West and Ward reunite to recover the stolen Batmobile from their snickering castmates.
Page 1 of 10