Batman Beyond: Return of the Joker - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Batman Beyond: Return of the Joker Reviews

Page 1 of 62
February 13, 2019
Return of the Joker tells a dark mature story about one of the great rivalries to grace comics, film, and television alike, all while staying truthful to the show that came before it.
½ June 9, 2018
I had always heard how great this film was, and I'm quite fond of Batman films (Even the hated Joel Schumacher films and the divisive The Killing Joke). I'm not sure of why it took so long. Maybe it was because up until recently every copy I came across in stores was the PG cut, as opposed to the much-preferred uncut version, or maybe just because I jump around a lot with what I watch. Well, I finally made the jump and obtained a copy of the original version of the film. I'm glad I did, because this is an excellent and gripping film that manages to do so much within only a very short running time (76 minutes). It's a very dark and grim film with moments that are genuinely startling in their intensity and also great moments of emotional heft that allow this film to go well beyond just being a "cartoon" so to speak. It's very well acted, well written, thrilling, and leaves you on edge as you try to piece together the intriguing mystery. If you enjoy a good superhero flick, this is definitely one to check out.
May 31, 2018
this film tied very well into the dcau.
May 18, 2018
Love this one.Probably the best Joker death.
½ January 27, 2018
An average film with a fantastic sequence half-way through, it's no surprise that most people love this film. The flash-back sequence may very well be the best sequence not just in this movie, but perhaps in the entire animated universe, however, this only goes to showcase how underwhelming the rest is. For 20 minutes, the film finds this perfect combination of humour, suspense, and what it means to be Batman. The other hour is just McGuinness whining, falling out with the veterans, and taking on possibly the weakest and least charismatic animated joker in history. With plot-holes everywhere, and a script beyond dull, the fantastic animation and gripping flashback cannot make up for the ok-ness of the rest.
November 17, 2017
A fitting climax to many aspects of the DC animated universe, from the new Batman's coming-of-age to the old Batman's relationship with the Joker. It arguably gets a little too dark in places, but it always keeps character at its heart.
½ September 17, 2017
We have a new Batman and A new Batman suit well I prefer original Batman but there where funny parts in this movie I liked watching it
½ June 7, 2017
If the premise of Batman Beyond was originally a gimmick, it has become one that is equally innovative and carefully crafted.
½ May 27, 2017
Can the new Batman fight joker find out
½ April 1, 2017
it's good, reeeaaal good. animated joker handled perfectly by writers and voice-actor Mark Hamill, one again. and the twists! aah!
March 2, 2017
Well written, paced and voice acted. Nothing really mind blowing here, albeit the plot twist that works exceedingly well. This undoubtedly reminded me, however, why Batman Beyond is my favorite Batman cartoon next to TAS.
February 21, 2017
This movie is exciting & the plot twist was awesome! A MUST WATCH for Batman fans!
½ January 21, 2017
Batman Beyond: Return of The Joker is an interesting and action packed film with great animation, delivering often brooding and disturbing results.
December 29, 2016
With a reasonably complex storyline, fun action sequences and great voice acting, Batman Beyond: Return of the Joker marks another winner for Warner Bros. animation.
jamrcla
Super Reviewer
½ December 6, 2016
Way better than I expected it does a great job in paying homage to the original Batman, A great story that's full of action and some good twists too, One of the best animated Batman films even though it's not the original Batman, But if you can look past that then you will enjoy it.
October 10, 2016
Visually stunning and action packed. One of the very best movies I ever saw.
August 26, 2016
Batman Beyond: Return of the Joker continues to explore the intriguing world of Batman Beyond, while also delivering some unforgettable moments thanks to the Joker's involvement.
August 15, 2016
Action-packed and surprisingly disturbing film that makes me weep for DC today.
The terrific writing, attention to detail in animation, and Mark Hamill creates the perfect storm for an awesome batman movie. The writing, especially, needs to be put on a pedestal and should be better appreciated--now more than ever for DC. The disturbing Joker monologue (you'll know it when you see it) gave me chills and is highly underrated. DC's movies need this creative boost that will bring a smile to our faces.
The plot loses steam in the third act and led me to question the logic but the other aspects of the film made me forget these flaws. I highly recommend this to those looking for a dark, fun batman movie.
August 9, 2016
It was and will stay a dope movie
August 6, 2016
This is not just my favorite Batman animated movie, but my favorite animated movie of all time. I love Terry McGinnis and his relationship with the aging Bruce Wayne played by the best Batman voice actor to ever live (in my opinion), Kevin Conroy. Mark Hamill, the equal Joker to Kevin Conroy's Batman kills it voicing the returned Joker. The flashback sequences are absolutely horrifyingly amazing. The epic plot twist and the way Terry gets in the head of the legendary clown prince of crime are absolutely perfect. Everything about this movie is simply perfection in my opinion.
Page 1 of 62