Barbershop: The Next Cut - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Barbershop: The Next Cut Reviews

Page 1 of 25
May 21, 2019
Cube is getting the bigger cut and he never takes it for granted, just like the world he revolves around, the chemistry is off the hook.

Barbershop: The Next Cut

Lee knows it is the White House party of the parties. Everybody would want to be in it and everyone would want to have a big chunk of that cake. And offering them enough space to come in and present their show as they feel, the director, Malcolm D. Lee is rearranging the shuffled acts into one big discussion. Yes. Discussion is what the film feels like. And to be honest, it is a fair discussion, swooping in every opinion and perspective and idea and even a politically wrong comment. This is how honest, they are, they mock so arrogantly and accepts the insults and repercussions bravely.

In fact, the very first act is it. Ticking for almost the first half, the discussions are the best part of the film, it starts off from fighting over the equality, they find themselves tangled in a long chain, ping pong-ing back and forth, spewing and biting each other trying to prove their superiority sarcastically. The referential comedy is turned to 11. To someone who doesn't come from that background, would get definitely difficult to grab the momentum of the humor.

Another major improvement is scoffing off the limitations that their previous installments had, correcting themselves politically and going toe-to-toe with the generations, the pace has improved and sensitive content juiced up. Ice Cube is still the sober worker in this shop and Cedric still the most drunk one, no new character coming in with their fresh humorous vocab could beat Cedric's comic timing, he has been in their chair for more than a decade ago and that throne is well earned. Barbershop: The Next Cut may feel like the cut that you have been getting over the years, it's just that they have used the wave of the current media into account that will make you feel like you are new, once again.
½ April 13, 2019
Calvin his barbershop is still going strong in South Chicago, now together with a ladies salon ran by a woman called Angie. Although South Chicago has gotten a lot more violent over the years, and Calvin's Barbershop is going to do their best to find a way to fix things.

I really enjoyed this movie! Although I did miss the old "crew" a little bit. I really liked the new characters as well. The combination of Jerrod and Raja together was hilarious. I really enjoyed Common his character, he made a great part of the team. And of course Eddie. I was so glad that he's still there, with all his stories and everything. He for sure is one of my favorite characters!

I think they did great by choosing a subject like this and show what an affect violence has on locals on a daily basis. I really enjoy comedies which tell about a serious object. So yea, I really recommend this movie, and the two before this one, just for fun.

:-)
October 5, 2018
The first film had wit, clever dialogue, and a simple but memorable message that resonated with the people who watched it. The second movie was a few points short despite a couple of isolated funny moments. But this movie, this movie missed on so many levels.

First of all, if you didn't get it from the trailers, this movie really focuses on current social topics like the BLM movement and police brutality, all important things that should be discussed in a civil manner. In the movie I felt more like it was all getting shoved down my throat until I wanted to puke it back up. Honestly, the dialogue regarding these issues felt like a comment thread on someone's Facebook status. It felt forced and just didn't work.

In addition to that, the humor also felt forced and half of the jokes (I knew this was going to happen, and I hated that I was right) were about Nikki Minaj's fake butt and how big it was. Why?? Really, though, WHY??!!! Why do we keep coming back to that? Why is she even in this movie?

Calvin and his son had an interesting side story and honestly that's the only thing that got through the entire film. After I got done I watched the first movie again as a cleanse. Huge disappointment.
½ August 25, 2018
the worst stereotyped bull I've ever seen on screen. it was so awful. why. why does this exist. who thinks this is what acting is? who thinks this is what writing a movie is supposed to look like? What editor saw this and thought "Yup that's a good movie" ??? I can't even right now. burn it. burn it with fire. its as if a 5-year old's understanding of different played-out TV tropes played out on screen in front of me, but ten times worse than that. do not recommend. would not band. 0/10
July 15, 2018
I have not watched the whole movie, but so far, it probably has about a 64% D-
May 7, 2018
90% my ass. it's ordinary.
December 23, 2017
Extraordinarily uproarious, emotionally satisfying and undoubtedly amazing, Barbershop 3 does something a second sequel can never accomplish; a focused storyline with reasonable motives and stands by its predecessors.
½ December 12, 2017
More formulaic than the first 2 installments and too many jokes that fall flat make it the least rewarding in the series. The need to include one-dimensional political commentary detracts even further. Its time for the series to take a cut or two.
"Calvin: [voice over] This is the town I love, a neighborhood of family and friends. And right here at the heart of it all is where everyone comes together: the barbershop"
September 19, 2017
This is another decent entry to the series but still not quite as good as the original. The movie gets a bit political this time, and that is not necessarily a bad thing, but I think it was weak in a few places and forgot to keep up with the laughs from time to time. This movie had a message, but failed to sell it completely. Still worth a watch if you liked the others though.
½ September 9, 2017
It was thoughtful, funny, and relevant and I thoroughly enjoyed this movie! This movie also addressed the nonsense going on in Chicago in a relatable way unlike the offensive Chi-Raq.
September 8, 2017
so intellectually stimulating seeing all the pale white faces covering the screen. i was blinded by the bobbies of the Sra. Minaj. love zac efron in this movie. wish he and the sra had had had had some more SEX
August 13, 2017
This was my favourite of the three. It was the funniest. There were some sappy speeches instead of dialogue, and Anthony's death was totally unexplained, but it was enjoyable.
August 2, 2017
I'm pretty surprised with the high ratings for this one. The first barbershop was OK but the second was pretty mediocre. Sadly this one follows in those footsteps. There's a few laughs and the cast is good especially ice cube but there's nothing beyond that. The movie is way too preachy gangs are bad, Obama is amazing, violence doesn't solve anything, etc. At times I feel like I was watching a Tyler Perry movie. The movie also feels very stagey. If you're a fan of the previous films and cast you might enjoy it more than I did.
July 17, 2017
Interesting, heartfelt, funny, and my favorite of all of the Barbershop movies.
June 5, 2017
Was really funny and enjoyable :)
May 30, 2017
Barbershop 3 is really good, I like it a lot
May 11, 2017
It's a decent movie that brings up quite a few social issues. It's not one that's going to make you laugh out loud. But it's really cool how they touch on topics like racism, shootings, gangs, family time, trust, relationships, affairs, peace, and so much more. Again you'll laugh a few times but it's more of a serious movie.
½ May 1, 2017
Watching this was hard, the amount of liberal views is ridiculous. Actually if you're wondering how liberals think just watch this movie lol safe zone, gun free zones, free gifts, BLM bs, a token muslim and all the racist comments you can think of. Oh pardon me, their black so it's not racist.
I really liked the previous films, but this movie is just another way of liberals pushing their views into your heads.
April 30, 2017
loved it because of niki
April 24, 2017
Preachy and too on the nose, but what "Barbershop 3" suffers makes it up for its amazing chemistry between the actors and their jokes. To be honest, it felt like a play rather than a movie. Movie means "moving pictures", most of the scenes in this film takes place in one set, kind of defeats the purpose of an "moving picture."
Page 1 of 25