Backcountry - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Backcountry Reviews

Page 1 of 12
May 16, 2019
Took almot half the movie to even see a bear track. The movie was more the drama between the couple than anything. If i wanted to see that i would just have had a fight with my gf. Then the first sighting of the bear was it messing with the tent at the half way point. When we finally see the bear attack the blood and wonds were not very convincing. But after that its just a bunch a blury spinning sceans of the girl running through the woods. The bear was only seen once more and it roared. The ending wasnt even that clear. Yeah she found her way back. Yeah people found her but did she die? Did she survive?
April 28, 2019
No sense film. Nothing happens till the last 20 minutes, I could literally watch the firs 10 minutes, go have a run, come back and watch the last 20 that it was the same.
½ April 11, 2019
superb. no extraneous nonsense just quiet foreboding.
March 27, 2019
Surprisingly good Canadian thriller... just like I imagine every trip into the woods to be.
February 7, 2019
good movie for those that love thrillers and survival movies
pacing of each scene didnt feel normal. some will like it but others will not
some of the characters actions were a bit cliche, since its based on actual events i cant really give the movie fault
really good at building suspense
towards the halfway mark the dialogue left me speechless, it was that good
camera work was good, sometimes a little too much shaky cam
overall a great movie to watch
January 26, 2019
Some of the cinematography may be infuriating, but this is an overall intense, gruesome, and entertaining survival horror movie.
January 22, 2019
I really enjoyed the film the suspense was really good and the actors were compelling. Makes you not want to go camping in the woods! I love the woods but I will be PREPARED!
½ January 20, 2019
If you were hoping to watch a movie about a couple trying to survive from a beer, you will be disappointed
Super Reviewer
½ January 19, 2019
For a movie whose one thing is summed up in the Play School theme, "There's a bear in there", there could have been more bear in there. The intial contact with said ursine is magnificent though.

Final rating:‚~...‚~...¬ 1/2 - Had a lot that appealed to me, didn‚(TM)t quite work as a whole.
½ January 16, 2019
Lots of nothing. Some decent acting and cinematography. The story is pretty thin with the bear attack being badly edited and intentionally comical.
½ January 7, 2019
Great movie...and a lesson on gun control. Any idea why two people would hike alone in bear country without a firearm? Answer: Democrats banning private citizens the ability to carry, and the demonizing of people who own guns. And don't believe the lies...guns are NOT more dangerous to the owners...n estimated 2 million crimes each year are prevented by gun ownership, and none get reported, while crimes WITH a gun are always reported as if it was the guns fault (as if the crime would not have been committed without a gun). Look at the number of fatal stabbings in the UK....
January 4, 2019
The foreshadowing in this movie was insane. the first time i saw it, i'll admit i was getting pretty impatient for some action, because it just kept going and going with nothing actually happening. however, the build up was worth the super intense attack scene that finally came. it's a simple movie, but it really packs a punch. the main two actors really portray a couple in an iffy relationship, how they are not on the same page whatsoever, and the utter sense of urgency that takes over once they find themselves in the middle of nowhere and in real danger. this movie is suspenseful and keeps my attention every time i watch it. if you just want nonstop action and violence, this isn't the movie for you. it moves slowly, until it doesn't.
November 13, 2018
Fantastic rhythm. Superb acting. Great movie.
November 10, 2018
Adam MacDonald is a hack! Why not tell the real story instead of turning this into a feminist fairy tale1?
½ November 2, 2018
Well-directed, exciting thriller.
October 26, 2018
This movie is lame. Seems like its going to be good but then just goes nowhere. No story at all. - Couple go camping, come across weird guy, couple is suspicious of weird guy, weird guy leaves, couple get lost and have argument, woman finds out BF was planning on asking her to marry him, bear attacks and kills him, she escapes. gets back to car, weird guy is there talking to some people, the end. So stupid and pointless. Dont waste your time.
October 10, 2018
I love scary movies and this one was suprisingly good! the fact that this could actually happen I think is the most horrifying!
October 8, 2018
While Backcountry does have some decent performances from the cast and the cinematography works really well especially during the bear attack, Backcountry is, for the most part, dull, and silly. What makes this movie so ridiculously silly is the fact that the boyfriend played by Jeff Roop is so unbelievably stupid that it just took me out of the movie. Slow builds can work really effectively for a horror movie like Alien, for example, however, Backcountry never really takes advantage of the setup to make the characters really likeable or the characters very convincing and so it comes off as a bit dull instead. Overall, Backcountry isn't a movie I can recommend, although it looks good and is well acted the story turns out to be pretty dull and as a result kind of ruins what could have been an amazing survival picture.
½ October 3, 2018
1). Should start the beginning of the movie off with "Inspired By A True Story" not "Based On A True Story". The only thing that's actually based on the true story is that a bear attacks someone and there is a canoe.
2). A bear wouldn't immediately attack again after getting hit point blank in the face with bear spray. Bear spray can stop a charging moose. There's no way a bear can recover from that THAT quickly. Someone should have done research.
3). This movie is not believable. No one, expecially a lawyer, would go out into bear country with so little knowledge and common sense on a multiple day backpacking trip(Which also happens to be their first camping trip).

Besides those reasons, and the fact the movie went so slow, the movie itself is okay.
September 3, 2018
I dont know about these critics. Almost all movies they give rating to are no good including this one. Thats why i dont go by what they say, but what the audience says.
Page 1 of 12