Backcountry - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Backcountry Reviews

August 28, 2015
Backcountry thrives in the close-quarter details: the verbal knife-pricks of a dying relationship, the jangling impact of the smallest sounds breaking silence, that dread certainty that you're completely lost and it's getting dark.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 27, 2015
MacDonald does quite well in his dramatic feature debut with solid performances from the cast. Backcountry is satisfyingly intense, although quite gory in patches.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 26, 2015
"Backcountry" inevitably brings on the bloody, but it finds atmospheric ways to depict how the bucolic hush of a nature getaway can morph into a survival nightmare for the unprepared.
March 23, 2015
A couple of weekend backpackers face off against man and beast in director Adam MacDonald's accomplished, blunt-force wilderness adventure.
March 20, 2015
It's beautifully tense and well-acted - the kind of modest genre picture we don't see enough of these days.
March 20, 2015
Apparently inspired by a true story that the movie made me very much not want to look up, which I suppose may be taken by some to be a token of its effectiveness.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 20, 2015
Just when you thought it was safe to stand up to a bear in the woods, this jarring indie horror drama will make you scurry back indoors.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 19, 2015
For most of its 91 tense, uneven minutes, "Backcountry" plays on your nerves like a kid flicking you with a rubber band.
March 19, 2015
Backcountry is potent in its moments of sheer animal panic, reminding the viewer that humans, for all our advanced technology and intellectual vanity, are powerless against the faceless cruelty of nature.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
March 18, 2015
Knowing that the situations depicted in actor and filmmaker Adam MacDonald's Backcountry are based on "true events" only makes them more harrowing to watch unfold onscreen.
March 18, 2015
On one hand, this kind of narrative serves to remind us that we haven't totally vanquished the natural world and it retains some of its ancient dangers. But on a deeper level, something more complicated and sinister is going on.
March 17, 2015
Backcountry is simply another paranoid cinematic reminder that exiting the beaten path is a course best avoided - or, at least, one that also requires taking some basic, common-sense precautions beforehand.