Avenged - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Avenged Reviews

Page 1 of 2
October 14, 2018
Great movie better than I expected really enjoyed the storyline
½ September 23, 2018
Terrible movie. Terrible acting. Terrible cinematography.
October 10, 2017
This was a nice little gem I found on Hulu. I liked this a lot more then I thought I would! I recommend this if you are in the mood to watch so racist SOBs get what they deserve!!!!
September 17, 2017
A solid revenge B movie. Nothing new to see, but all appear to have put everything into making a good film on a limited budget.
½ August 18, 2017
Badly acted with a lackluster plot. Somewhat heavy on the gore but that's the only appeal.
February 1, 2017
A solid lively B-grader
½ June 18, 2016
I'm not quite sure why the critics ratings are so high for this. It was really sleazy. Sure, it was artistically done, but very hard to watch. Maybe if you like really twisted exploitation pictures, you'd enjoy this.
February 4, 2016
great b movie horror film. top acting and storyline. worth watching on TV
December 31, 2015
Awesome revenge flick creatively incorporating our heroine with supernatural powers and then relentlessly pursuing the bad guys and gratifyingly killing each in slow, humiliating deaths. Satisfied my blood lust and thankfully the brutalization/rape scene was not to graphic or long and pretty devoid of nudity. I love "revenge" flicks but not "torture porn". For me this movie was fun, entertaining, fast moving and gratifying.
Super Reviewer
November 21, 2015
I don't think I've ever seen, and I may be wrong, but a film that combines femsploitation with some supernatural elements involving an Apache warrior out for vengeance on the family of the people that murdered him, which also happens to be the people that end up murdering Zoe. And it's, honestly, a really cool idea and the execution definitely works. That's the thing, the idea is nothing if the execution isn't there and it works as two revenge thrillers at one time. And the allegory here about the damage that men, in this case white men, have done to people with a rich heritage, the native Indians (I find calling them native Americans horribly offensive, because we're calling them by the nationality of the people that exterminated them in the first place) and violence against women. So it works as an allegory and a revenge thriller all at the same time. They also touch on Zoe and Dane's romance, but that's a little corny in comparison to everything else that's going on here. But it also highlights a change from what the villains in this film have been raised to think is the norm. So it's a more thoughtful revenge film than what one would normally expect from a low-budget horror movie. And, of course, the film is quite satisfying at making you hate these detestable assholes before finally meeting their grisly ends, it almost goes without saying. Though, of course, I'm sure there's some fringe group out there that were outraged at all these white people being murdered, not even looking at the fact that they're horrible human beings, but those people don't really matter, because they're idiots. The film was well-paced, I thought. They don't blow their wad early by cramming too much stuff in there, they let it all play out the way it should. I think that that might bother some people, in that they feel that there's not really much going on in between the murders. And I would say that that's a valid complaint, even I thought that at some points. It's clear that the film wouldn't have been as long if it was straight to the point, all killer no filler, but I don't think that the film would've been as effective if they didn't let its concepts and ideas sink in first before moving on. So while it is a valid complaint, I think it's one that would've ultimately hurt the movie from a 'storytelling' standpoint. I digress, this is a good movie. There's plenty of gore at the climax to satisfy horror fans and there's enough of a thoughtfulness to its characters and presentation that even casual horror fans can enjoy this. I wouldn't say it's perfect, but it's a satisfying and smart revenge thriller. It's Amazon Video Prime, so I'd definitely recommend it if you're a subscriber.
½ November 19, 2015
I expected more out of "Avenged" because the storyline intrigued me so much. But it is mediocre and unsatisfying.
September 13, 2015
What an Anti-White fest.. Good grief did anyone not think the antagonists weren't going to call her an (NWORD) lover?? More predictable anti-white drivel. Seriously i've seen cartoon character that were more believable than the bad guys in this anti-white hate fest.
August 16, 2015
Playing out like The Crow meets I Spit On Your Grave with a Native American twist, Avenged is frenzied, ferocious, and a bloody good revenge story.
June 27, 2015
kinda strange,yet had to watch it all the way...a low-budget,indie flick...but i liked it...
May 17, 2015
Meh. kind of lousy and cliche, but it's cool finally getting a female crow...lol
½ May 16, 2015
It wasn't bad....but I do LOVE stories of sweet revenge tho. #Karma
½ May 15, 2015
A messed up, mash up of genres that is low budget, but still kind of cool.
May 15, 2015
Great graphic violence , excellent believable story, never dull! Well done horror flick!
½ May 3, 2015
A decent independent film. The film is a mix of The Crow and I Spit On Your Grave, which resembles those films a little too much, but overall it's still entertaining. I think a bigger budget, some better camera work and perhaps a script re-write could have made this film something more.
March 30, 2015
Michael S.Ojeda's "Avenged" is a post-modern battle cry against the monstrosity of bigotry. The film blends elements of exploitation-revenge horror with classic, supernatural-action. "Avenged" stars Ronnie Gene Blevins, Rodney Rowland, Willow Hale, and Peter Sherayko in a nightmarish tale that sees a young deaf woman crossing paths with some of the worst humanity has to offer. Witness to the brutal murder of two Apache men, Zoe is abducted, raped and left for dead. But the supernatural power to be avenged reaches beyond this reality exact primitive justice on the men who did this to her. "Avenged" can best be described as "I Spit On Your Grave meets The Crow".

The story that Ojeda has created around this supernatural transformation of a sexual assault victim is powerful, compelling, and emotional. "Avenged" becomes a complex multilayered story with characters rich in dimension. From the beginning I felt the fear rise in me for what was to happen to Zoe-that just on the exploitation-revenge horror side of this story which dominates the first piece to this story. I also hated the notion that the GTO was gonna be brutalized, luckily that didn't happen. However "Avenged" is filled with cruelty, brutality, grittiness and blatant sadism.

The acting and directing are quality. Michael S. Ojeda is a true talent with the gift of telling a really high-octane, and twisted story. The characters and situations are emotionally driven and effectively pull on you to feel and relate to both the horrors of man and the suffering of humanity. As "Avenged" gets into the crux of this supernatural-revenge legend-and legend is what Zoe is-some of that "human touch" gets lost in the intensity of the action and gore that permeate through the film. It isn't really a bad thing, "Avenged" morphs into a major action driven, splatterfest of thrills.

The special effects are pretty awesome. Some moments seem to fall a bit flat when it comes to realism, but for the most part "Avenged" will excite any gore, and blood thirsty horror fan. There is some CGI mixed in but Ojeda seems to have an understanding of what is a healthy balance of its use. The CGI is blended effortlessly in most of the violence-rich scenes. A couple of times it looks kind of The Asylum-ish, but honestly there is so much visceral, raw carnage that uses practical effects that the CGI is more than embraceable by the "Purist" horror fans. Overall "Avenged" is a worthy supernatural-exploitation mashup that entertains on pretty much every horror level.
Page 1 of 2