Autumn Lights - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Autumn Lights Reviews

Page 1 of 1
October 31, 2018
Great movie. Loved all the characters, new and old. I recommend to watch it !! I can bet you'll love it just as much as I did.
December 7, 2016
Autumn Lights: Attractive, wealthy and largely self-interested characters deliver bland dialogue, have a bit of sex and drink at dinner parties. Yes, the cinematography is lovely, but it's Iceland -- what else would one expect?
½ November 17, 2016
pretty movie. great acting, smart characters, a lot of dialogue but its interesting. i love foreign films, this felt like a foreign film but in english. i recommend if you want something fresh
½ November 15, 2016
Talky, & tedious, some nice cinematography thou.
November 10, 2016
This turned out to be a really great movie. Couldn't shake it a while after seeing it. Compelling writing! Interesting choice for a first feature director. And top notch performances by the leads Guy Kent, Marta Gastini, and Sveinn Olafur Gunnarsson.
November 7, 2016
A beautiful, what-lies-underneath kind of drama. Smart dialogue, excellent performances, strong direction. The kind of story that kept me guessing with an outcome I didn't see coming. If you enjoy movies with soul, wisdom and style, you'll love 'Autumn Lights'. Five stars for a beautiful film I did not see coming.
½ November 4, 2016
Pleasantly surprised by this. I expected the film to be a little different from the trailer but if you enjoy art house, you'll respond well to this. It's gorgeously shot. The music is very suspenseful and adds something unexpected to the film. But it is the performances that carry this movie of a very small/quiet story. Guy Kent is perfect as a quiet, manly foreigner and is extremely easy on eyes. He has many layers to him. It's lovely to watch. He is also credited as producer which I didn't expect since he is just debuting. Marta Gastini, who I've seen in The Rite, was perfectly cast in this as well. There's a coldness to her performance that made this character interesting. She is troubled with intense emotions yet she is so withdrawn and incapable. That was an interesting counterbalance to me. Icelandic man Sveinn Gunnarsson was also very good as the husband of Marie. There was a strangeness to him that worked well with the eerie mood of the film. The supporting cast of characters were certainly interesting. It was how these characters intertwine and the performances that support it that made this film all the more interesting to me. Kudos to a new filmmaker Agad Aulakh as well. 4.5/5 -Jenna
November 3, 2016
The film vacillates between some nice scenes and amateur fluff akin to a female teenage romance novel. All the main characters smoke, and there is drinking in almost every scene. A lack of morals and and marital fidelity is always equated with maturity. If not for the spectacular scenery, and some fairly good cinematography, the film would have flopped. Guy Kent's acting does not carry the film. Maybe if his lines and character development had been a bit more consistent, he might have almost pulled it off. If I were him, I would stick with producing, that is, if he can get the big bucks together. I'm thinking he must have contacts or come from money to produce this film and to me that is not admirable. I admire talent on the screen, charisma, and heart. The Icelanders acted circles around everyone else. I guess those long summers and winters give them plenty of practice to hone their craft. S.O. Gunnarsson managed to keep his character alive, despite the corny lines he was sometimes given. That bodes well for his talent as an actor.
October 30, 2016
I'm rather fascinated by the character of Marie. It's subversive. It flips the cliche male-female relationship in films. It's unique and original and gives power to the ladies. "She does what she wants, whenever she wants." It's a celebration of female sexuality and unhinderedness.

Emotionally, the film is understated. But the emotions are certainly there. I respect this approach by the director. It's atypical and was more interesting. It's a film that requires your attention. It's asks for your participation in that way. But it rewards you when you do. Four days after seeing 'Autumn Lights' and I'm still mulling it over.
½ October 30, 2016
Caught this movie at Cinema Village in NYC. Was looking forward to it when I saw the trailer. Was even more looking forward to it when I saw the artwork. I'm a little surprised by these critic reviews. What a fantastic, interesting film.

From an incredible score to the subtly and restraint in the performances and the emotional authenticity/earnestness of these sometimes unsavory characters, it's through and through a special little film. I love how this small story is set against this very grand and very dramatic setting, how each character is morally in a shade of grey, how they talk about interesting things in interesting ways. The direction and use of sound design was bold and supported the tension in the film. And what a performance from a new actor Guy Kent. He's a man of a different generation. There's a subtle strength to him and a perfect solemnness that he gave this character which I was very impressed by. The entire cast did a beautiful job.

The story is intimate yet grand in ideas. There's a papable heartfeltness. I'd watch it again in a heartbeat.
October 30, 2016
Saw this film at NY Critics screening before it opened. Beautifully shot. The performances were terrific. The dialogue was also a highlight. Full of life wisdom. I think the melachony nature rubbed some of these critics the wrong way but we enjoyed this film immensely. The director Angad Aulakh and producer and star of the film Guy Kent were present to speak about the film. Was highly insightful. For a first feature film, it's a very impressive movie. I'd recommend this movie for the thinkers.
Page 1 of 1