Anna and the Apocalypse - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Anna and the Apocalypse Reviews

Page 1 of 4
May 11, 2019
It felt like an elongated version of Buffy's "Once More With Feeling" and that's probably why I enjoyed it as much as I did.
April 8, 2019
Highly entertaining! Totally addictive songs. Great cast!
March 20, 2019
Characters are so endearing, music is great, plot is pretty solid, ending is believable. It's true to its roots; you can't make a zombie Christmas musical without being aware of the absurdism, and this film succeeds at embracing its zaniness. Great acting by people who actually look like they're in high school (refreshing!). Lots of foreshadowing as well, which I like. Awesome.
½ March 15, 2019
Just in case anyone else missed it... THIS IS A MUSICAL! Didn't make it through the first song.
March 4, 2019
Quirky teen zombie musical. Bought it on a whim and enjoyed it thoroughly.
½ February 24, 2019
A Zombie musical comedy ??? it was ok, i just muted the singing,
Shaun of the Dead was a masterpiece compared to this.
February 24, 2019
Loved everything about it but honestly the best parts to the whole movie were the songs. If the singing was actually the cast, I have to admire both their acting and their singing skills.
½ February 23, 2019
Yeah, I admit this one lost me quickly.

After saying that though, I do feel like I need to mention I am not really a fan of musicals, especially ones that take place in high school. So, no matter how I tried to stay open-minded about this film, after the second samey sounding song about how adults don't understand high school problems (Parents Just Don't Understand!) I was lost forever.

That wasn't my only issue with Anna and the Z's, although it was my biggest issue. Again mentioning not liking musicals or movies and shows with songs in them for the most part. A lot of that has to do with not enjoying listening to bland songs made for the films themselves. As much as I dislike songs in Disney films, I admit they feel like there is a variety of styles and topics. Anna and the Big A feels just like a long episode of Glee without any covers. I mean where is the style to them. I will say the duet with the kids dressed as penguins was amazing though, so there is that. Yet, I am left wondering why the song about being a big amazing zombie killer wasn't more campy and goofy like the Rock singing about how great he is in Moana. Why wasn't there a song at the beginning where the CDC sing about how the virus is getting out of control? A song sung by the soldiers being eaten by the Zs? Why don't the zombies have a fucking song!!!!!!!!!

This movie lacked character, fun, comedy, camp, and really anything interesting. It's High School: The Zombie Musical. Empty Brain Calories.
February 22, 2019
This movie was really good with a genre so stupid it works i mean it's a zombie christmas movie that's also a musical now that's what i call perfection the songs were really good the cast did a fantastic job i give it a 10/10.
February 18, 2019
This movie is so....good full of Horror and Gore Zombies with hints of comedy and singing I'm still laughing
February 14, 2019
Funny and sad at the same time. Great movie and the music is really good too! Went in not wanting to like it but ended up loving it!
½ February 12, 2019
3.5/5
Remember that scene from Shaun of the Dead, where Simon Pegg walks to the newsstand in his robe, oblivious to zombies? Now imagine it's a really cute girl listening to her earbuds, singing and dancing cheerily about her bright future, oblivious to zombies. This is absurdly entertaining for the first half, then runs low on energy. There are some sad scenes in the last third, that sort of betrayed the spirit of the film. It should have had the courage to maintain the absurd humor throughout. Still, name a better comic teenage Christmas zombie musical.
February 11, 2019
fome la comparan con zombie land pero esta es muy fome
February 5, 2019
It sure was as reviewed; Shaun of the Dead meets La-La Land. I enjoyed the songs, to be honest, they were kind of teenage but I still liked them. The goriness was to my liking as well.
½ February 2, 2019
The wors movie Ever!!!!!
½ February 2, 2019
Uma das maiores surpresas de 2018.
February 2, 2019
Refreshing in a saturated genre, Anna And The Apocalypse brings the fun and heart that zombie movies should have, with some good musical sequences along the way.
½ January 28, 2019
Really enjoy this zombie horror musical!
January 24, 2019
'Anna and the Apocalypse' is a hilarious and energizing film that uses it horror, comedy and musical beats in a perfectly fun amalgamation.
Page 1 of 4