American Beauty - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

American Beauty Reviews

Page 1 of 1498
May 18, 2019
um grande filme, digno de Oscar. todo os personagens são presos a temática do filme que (C) a necessidade de preencher o vazio interno, questões relacionadas à prisão de uma imagem e a dificuldade que (C) manter uma aparência.
May 13, 2019
I expected to love this film and I did, in between the awfulness of Dances with Wolves (1990) and Going My Way (1944) it was wonderfully refreshing to see a good, well made film that deeply explores modern sexual mores and family dynamics. Unfortunately the film is mired in controversy due to the presence of lead actor Kevin Spacey and although I am completely against the actions that he took in his personal life I would still urge people to watch this film because outside of Spacey it contains really great writing, direction and performances. Sam Mendes made his feature film directorial debut with this and I would have to say that this is my favorite of the films he has directed so far as he seems more focused here and deals with interesting characters going through mundane lives. I found the entire two hours to be highly entertaining but the ending to be emotionally affecting and I was surprised that I found it in myself to love these characters.

Lester Burnham, Kevin Spacey, is going through a mid-life crisis that has been spurred on by his meeting Angela, Mena Suvari, the attractive friend of his teenage daughter. He and his wife Carolyn, Annette Bening, have a strained relationship and he can't connect with his daughter Janie, Thora Birch, who has begun a relationship with her neighbor, drug dealer Ricky Fitts, Wes Bentley. Burnham quits his job, makes several purchases on expensive items and starts working out but as Fitts' abusive father Frank, Chris Cooper, directs his anger at Lester it is clear that it will all end in tragedy.

Seeing a film set in a vaguely recognizable setting and featuring characters that I could relate to in at least some way was a huge relief. Burnham's actions are not endorsed as he is mostly mocked or pitied by the film for his childish and creepy desire for a teenage girl, his letting go of all responsibility and his treatment of those around him. Carolyn is also seen as an uptight and difficult to live with woman and Bening is great at making you root against her but she becomes humanized by the end of the film and her faults are understandable. The relationship between Janie and Ricky was also accurate to how a certain type of socially isolated teenager would fall for an equally discontented youth. Even the seemingly shallow and manipulative Angela is revealed to be vulnerable as she searches for approval in lascivious older men and is desperate not to be ~ordinary'.

The screenplay contains several great scenes but in particular I enjoyed the attempted reconciliation of Lester and Carolyn and the plastic bag scene. We are lead to believe that the Burnhams will be able to rekindle the love and passion in their relationship as they kiss on the couch but their canoodling is cut short by Carolyn as she asks Lester to put his beer down for fear of it staining the couch. Lester then yells at her about how materialistic she is but this belies his hypocrisy as he has bought an unnecessarily flashy car and purchased several items that he has valued over Carolyn. The plastic bag scene is all about living in the moment and being able to appreciate the beauty of everyday life no matter how small a form it comes in. Bentley delivers his lines as Ricky as though he's in a sort of trance, much like Allison Janney as his mother, with a complete lack of caring about how anybody else feels about the moment he had.

All of the performances were great, including unfortunately Spacey. Bening carries off moments that would seem terribly pantomime-y in the hands of other actresses and watching she and Spacey square off is terrific fun. Cooper is truly fantastic though as the scene in which he confronts Lester then attempts to become emotionally intimate with him was devastating as the at first relieved then shocked, humiliated and angered expressions on his character's face convey all we need to know. Cooper makes us feel bad for a man who abuses those around him and shows us all of the horror that repressed sexuality can wreak on a man's life.

1999 was one of the greatest years in film history and therefore everybody has their favorites but personally I would have rewarded this film with Best Picture even though Being John Malkovich (1999) is equally as good.
½ May 11, 2019
Devilishly good and shaded by the suburban attitudes of the nihilistic 90s, "American Beauty" finds the perfect blend of dark comedy and disfuctional family drama.
May 4, 2019
Best Ever Movie Made.
April 14, 2019
One of the best movies
March 27, 2019
When it comes to movies like other people and myself been thinking about, American Beauty is a film that really came to everybody's interests. People liked talking about it and recommending it to those who haven't seen it. I'm sure for the fact I've seen it and you know what? I love it to death. It's one of those movies that you have to watch before you die. It is one of my favourite films of all time. Kevin Spacey has done it again with his excellent performance like in The Usual Suspects. He won an Oscar for his performance as Lester Burnham and now he's a two time Oscar winner. Everyone else did a fantastic job acting in this film including Annette Bening. The story in this is great and flawless about Kevin Spacey as Lester Burnham narrating about his life. He has a wife, Carolyn Burnham played by Annette Bening who is an ambitious woman and a daughter, Jane played by Thora Birch who f**king despises her family. Wes Bentley as Ricky Fitts who is obsessively filming everything around his surroundings with his camcorder and he is curious about Lester's daughter, Jane next door. Lester hates his job, has a midlife crisis and becomes possessed with his daughter's best friend, Angela Hayes played by Mena Suvari. He starts having sexual fantasies about her, in which red rose petals are a recurring motif. As much as I love everything about American Beauty, this is something that I watch almost every night. It has that amazing impeccable cinematography that just makes the way the film looks satisfying like the red petals that Mena Suvari is laying on. That is the moment of beauty. "Spec-tacular!" The directing is really good. It's made by Sam Mendes who I assume who directs two James Bond movies like Skyfall and Spectre starring Daniel Craig. I was shocked by the fact that this was actually his first film which is quite a coincidance! I really, really love this film. It shows the characters how they're feeling and communicate with one another. Whenever you're think of American Beauty, you would be like, "Wow! That is the most beautiful film I've seen!" and it is a beautiful film with surprisingly dark humour, the acting is perfection, the story is well written, the cinematography is impeccably shot and it's definitely worth your five Oscars if you haven't seen it. This is one of Sam Mendes' incredible Oscar winning masterpieces! You have no idea what you're missing, I'm sure. But don't worry... you won't someday.
March 16, 2019
A little bit confusing
Overall movie is superb
March 4, 2019
Overall good acting performances from the whole cast, including an incredible performance from Kevin Spacey; this combined with the great direction, screenwriting and cinematography and the seamless editing, topped off with a hearth wrenching score easily makes American Beauty one of the best movies in the last 20 years
January 11, 2019
Pretty well made - I don't know if all the cynicism that went into the making of this movie paid off. Great acting.
January 7, 2019
Amazing film and in my mind the best soundtrack of all time!
January 2, 2019
After recently being challenged to name my top 10 films of all time this one made the cut. Modern viewers will need to suspend any disgust for Kevin Spacey in order to properly enjoy one of his finest performances. This movie is so frickin(TM) rich in texture and tone I managed to find a way to forgive the one scene that just doesn(TM)t work for me (the one with the floating plastic bag). Truly an American treasure.
December 16, 2018
American Beauty was a huge success upon release(especially critically) and its easy to see why. American Beauty doesn't trailblaze a path into hitherto untouched cinematic territory, but its presentation of vivid characters in interesting situations makes the story seem fresh. In part because it's not a complete downer and in part because it doesn't cheat the audience, American Beauty is emotionally satisfying. There's a sense of poignancy at the end, but also the feeling that we have been on an incredible trip through the lives and souls of three perfectly-realized characters. In a year that boasts few truly memorable motion pictures, Mendes can stake a claim alongside the likes of Kubrick and Egoyan as one whose cinematic vision both challenges and entertains. (A mainstream film that is artsy)
December 16, 2018
Has some good moments. Mostly it's liberal propaganda. The military man who is against homosexuality is painted as a villain. The dope smokers are portrayed as good guys. Etc.

I do love the scene of Kevin Spacey's character with his wife where he points out the frivolousness of adoring objects and making them more important than people and relationships.
December 8, 2018
One of those super creepy movies - Kevin Spacey's character is that of a slimy father lusting after his daughter's friend. The movie shocks and stays interesting right through to the end.
November 24, 2018
The first movie to shock me with it's subject matters and stupefy me with it's beauty!
November 10, 2018
A true masterpiece. Kevin Spacey is so brutally transparent, you can see through him. I particularly loved the scene with the bag.
½ October 21, 2018
American Beauty makes understandable and relatable complaints and criticisms of our society, culture and the fact that we're enslaved to our duties of raising children, making money to survive and eat and escape doldrums and boredom from overlong marriages but the movie is directionless and lacks a cohesive plot without jumping between unrelated topics such as gratuitous on-screen nudity of teenage girls embracing their sexuality, a gay yet fiercely homophobic colonel struggling with his own sexual orientation, and a middle-class suburban father who rebels against doing what is necessary for survival and just freely letting go of all responsibility to obtain whatever he wants in a newfound love for hedonism.
October 9, 2018
Este magnifico film es la manera mas retorcida y sutil en la que la pedofilia puede centrar en una historia de amor, el guion es impecable y las actuaciones magnificas , por mucho este film se posiciona como un gran clsico del cine y una de las cintas mas conmemorativas de los 90`s.
September 29, 2018
Entertaining drama about suburban America that sadly is dated due to modern consequences beyond the film's. The cast is superb, with everyone giving career best performances, notably the leads of Spacey (this film does remind you how brilliant of an actor he is) and Benning. Behind the camera, Sam Mendes makes a remarkable directorial debut, balancing the drama and humor perfectly in examination of what really makes one happy. While a dark film, it's also a celebration of life and what really makes things beautiful. Sadly, the recent sexual assault allegations put a darker light on his character's quest to bed his daughter's high school friend, Angela (a then stunning Menu Suvari). While risqu then and though the resolution is surprising, it makes the film a bit unsettling to watch now. A pity, since despite Spacey, the cast and crew give some of their best work and is still worth remembering as one of the better films of the 1990's.
September 25, 2018
Speechless!

I'm not kidding. I may not review this masterpiece because I really don't have anything to say about this flawless piece of art! But I'll see later, anyway.

God! That's why I hate perfect films.

(10/10)
Page 1 of 1498