Always Be My Maybe - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Always Be My Maybe Reviews

June 5, 2019
Past the performances, the remarkable part of Always Be My Maybe is how the film inhabits Asian-American culture.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
June 4, 2019
Always Be My Maybe has that made-for-the-small-screen quality, almost a movie but not quite-it feels rushed, rough and a bit too casual, as if the script needed just another draft or two.
June 4, 2019
It's not new, but it's just as powerful (and, yes, still funny) as it ever was.
Full Review | Original Score: B
May 31, 2019
Netflix seems to have found its true purpose in original movie programming over the past year: clever, endlessly meme-able rom-coms meant to be watched on the floor in your weird pajamas.
Full Review | Original Score: B
May 31, 2019
Rather, the screenplay - which was co-written by Wong and Par.k, with help from Michael Golamco - settles into a relaxed groove that allows its main characters to play at what they do best
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
May 31, 2019
Always Be My Maybe hits all of the beats we have come to expect yet fails to do so well enough, as if the mere existence of a technically well-structured romantic comedy is better than nothing.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
May 31, 2019
It's a film that delivers on all its promises, gives a lot of funny people a chance to shine and - yes indeed - provides some much-needed representation...
May 30, 2019
Ultimately, Wong and Park and their mutual affection carry the movie, assisted by a gut-busting cameo by Keanu Reeves, of all people, portraying a do-gooder rival for Sasha's affections.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
May 30, 2019
An Asian-Asian romance is rare in Hollywood, making this romantic romp both irresistible and quietly revolutionary. No maybes about the dream team of Ali Wong and Randall Park, they're too good to miss.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Top Critic
May 30, 2019
Moving, thoughtful, tender, and hysterical.
May 30, 2019
Park and Wong are both innately likable, which makes the movie pleasant enough to watch, but also a bit of a slog given the ostensible inevitability of where it's heading.
May 30, 2019
The positive influence of When Harry Met Sally is noticeable in the undercurrents, but this romantic comedy has its own unique identity.
May 29, 2019
Although the script is uneven, there is hardly a moment where we don't believe in these two.
May 29, 2019
A movie littered with Spanx jokes, money-focused Asian stereotypes and embarrassingly humorless setups.
May 29, 2019
This is a savvy entry in the rom-com genre, as the two leads take the time to circle each other in the ring and punch high.
May 29, 2019
"Always Be My Maybe" is pleasant without being particularly powerful, appealing if not exactly transformative.
May 28, 2019
Highlights that being in a loving relationship is not about surrendering part of yourself to make your partner feel good; it's about elevating each other.