All Eyez on Me - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

All Eyez on Me Reviews

Page 1 of 5
December 12, 2018
ALL EYEZ ON ME will, without a doubt, have value to a viewer - and even though this is a hugely flawed film, this man's life will forever be fascinating to observe and cherish
Full Review | Original Score: B
November 6, 2018
Tupac fans won't need a reason for watching this movie. But if you are wondering whether it does justice to the beloved artist, then yes it does and you must not miss.
October 9, 2017
By comparison with Straight Outta Compton, this is lightweight, linear stuff.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
September 15, 2017
All Eyez on Me is a powerful film.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
June 22, 2017
A grand tribute to the legacy and the legend of Tupac Amaru Shakur.
June 22, 2017
Under Knight, Shakur is propelled down a path of consumer commercialism. From there, All Eyez becomes less the story of a troubled revolutionary and more the tale of a brilliant black man whose talents are squandered by those close enough to do so.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
June 20, 2017
The film's director, Benny Boom, is best known for music videos, but he's done something remarkable here: He's taken a legend and made him into a man.
June 16, 2017
There's a lot of nostalgia, but few revelations; for the unfamiliar, it's probably a pretty decent introduction.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
June 16, 2017
It's a relatively straightforward biopic using conventional framing devices (including the liberal use of flashbacks) to tell the story of an extraordinary artist who overcame tremendous odds to become an American icon.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
June 16, 2017
What we get ends up feeling more like a 'dramatic re-enactment' of events more than anything structurally, or emotionally 'dramatic... the whole denouement has an eerie feeling: something that looks like Shakur's life, only it's wallpaper.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
June 16, 2017
A glossy, but entertaining biopic that could have used more nuance.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
June 16, 2017
All Eyez On Me might be about Tupac and his insane lifestyle, but it guides our attention to issues far beyond the realm of music.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
June 15, 2017
Ambitious, but more solid than sizzling, a generous overview of a too-short life.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
June 15, 2017
Demetrius Shipp Jr. gives it his all with an impressive performance that's far more than just an impression.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
June 15, 2017
[A] messy, hugely flawed, but fascinating biographical drama ...
June 14, 2017
A 'best of' reel, but a very good one at that.
November 12, 2019
[T]he weak screenplay doesn't inspire viewers. While the focus is always on Tupac, there is not enough material to form an emotive connection with him as a person.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 30, 2018
For most of the 140 minute running time the film plays like a bio-pic suffering from ADD -- unable to focus on elements of Shakur's life that could have given more insight to his legacy.
Full Review | Original Score: C
October 20, 2018
Legends never die. The legacy also doesn't but there's sadly nothing here to further it.
Full Review | Original Score: 5.5/10
August 30, 2018
A hollowly pretentious biopic that's equivalent to talking to the biggest Tupac fan for 140 minutes.
Full Review | Original Score: 0.5/5
Page 1 of 5