All Eyez on Me - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

All Eyez on Me Reviews

Page 1 of 5
May 7, 2020
It's a closer call than you might think, but All Eyez on Me sells Tupac's life short.
April 15, 2020
All Eyez on Me is a sad contrast to the power of Tupac's words that have captivated fans over the years.
November 12, 2019
[T]he weak screenplay doesn't inspire viewers. While the focus is always on Tupac, there is not enough material to form an emotive connection with him as a person.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
December 12, 2018
ALL EYEZ ON ME will, without a doubt, have value to a viewer - and even though this is a hugely flawed film, this man's life will forever be fascinating to observe and cherish
Full Review | Original Score: B
November 6, 2018
Tupac fans won't need a reason for watching this movie. But if you are wondering whether it does justice to the beloved artist, then yes it does and you must not miss.
October 30, 2018
For most of the 140 minute running time the film plays like a bio-pic suffering from ADD -- unable to focus on elements of Shakur's life that could have given more insight to his legacy.
Full Review | Original Score: C
October 20, 2018
Legends never die. The legacy also doesn't but there's sadly nothing here to further it.
Full Review | Original Score: 5.5/10
August 30, 2018
A hollowly pretentious biopic that's equivalent to talking to the biggest Tupac fan for 140 minutes.
Full Review | Original Score: 0.5/5
August 22, 2018
Overlong, fawning, and with a straightforward narrative style that makes the story of Shakur's life plod along, All Eyez on Me (the title coming from one of his albums) is for the most dedicated fan only.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
August 21, 2018
While a good production provides audiences,... glimpses of the art form and its significance to America's musical legacy, it does not compensate for [its] hackneyed screenplay, with its confusing narrative and utter lack of character development.
December 28, 2017
When the anticipated conclusion hits its climax we feel relief at the ordeal coming to an end and no sense of the travesty that was the extinguishing of a bright, misunderstood and mysterious light.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
December 5, 2017
All Eyez on Me is absolutely awful. It's a collection of scenes showing us events without any tissue connecting the narrative. Nothing here is engaging, which is a shame because it's very clear that Demetrius is giving it his all
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 19, 2017
Since it's Tupac, the music being brilliant is a no-brainer. However, unlike biopics on rappers in the past like Straight Outta Compton or 8 Mile, viewers who aren't aware of the legacy of Tupac, won't quite be able to connect with the film.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
October 9, 2017
By comparison with Straight Outta Compton, this is lightweight, linear stuff.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 6, 2017
It's often so straightforward and celebratory that it lacks the rebellious spirit of its uniquely talented subject.
October 4, 2017
Disappointment overshadows the long-awaited biopic of one of the most influential music artists of all time...
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
September 20, 2017
While Shipp looks the part, that's about all that this neutered movie has going for it.
September 15, 2017
All Eyez on Me is a powerful film.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
September 13, 2017
Who knew such a riveting life could make for such a boring film?
Full Review | Original Score: 2/10
September 7, 2017
The decision to tell Shakur's story from the artist's point of view may have been honorable in its way, but it's not the best artistic choice. Despite the soundtrack, the film feels flat.
Page 1 of 5