Aenigma - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Aenigma Reviews

Page 1 of 2
½ February 16, 2019
I'm a huge horror fan. I've seen some pretty bad ones. This has to be one of the worst. There isn't anything for horror fans. More of a movie Cinemax would put on after midnight.
April 4, 2017
A very far from classic supernatural mind-fuck movie from Lucio Fulci. Hardly excessive with the gore, it does feature a bizarre death by snails scene though. Cheesy '80s horror.
½ January 16, 2014
A little something off the To-Watch Pile, with some typically silly Fulci where someone gets snail-ed to death, because eh seems to really love a slow moving killer animal or creature.

Rental.
October 27, 2012
Students play a mean prank on a classmate that lands her in a coma. Another Fulci film where all the dots don't quite connect but still entertains. Multiple grammatical errors on the film box suggest it was not proofread prior to distribution.
½ September 23, 2012
AWFUL, even by Fulci standards
½ November 20, 2011
More Fulci magic in this Italian giallo of outcast student exacting revenge on housemates after a cruel prank. A promising start never progresses far and includes some snail-paced action. Distributor ABC Video seems to have limited command of the English language.
March 30, 2011
Students play a mean prank on a classmate that lands her in a coma. Another Fulci film where all the dots don't quite connect but still entertains. Multiple grammatical errors on the film box suggest it was not proofread prior to distribution.
February 12, 2011
it's almost like a book i read and it was really interesting
WrenchLT
Super Reviewer
January 9, 2011
Supernatural revenge movie which is what would be created if the movies Carrie and Patrick could biologically conceive a child. It's quite cheesy and silly at times and Lucio Fulci restrains the use of the gore in this one, but it's still decent fun overall.
October 17, 2010
Santos caracoles asesinos, batman!! jajaja
December 14, 2009
A more intense Carrie. i don't know about you but i always wanted more with carrie. i love crappy people getting their comeuppance. i cheer all the way. this movie was excellent. i took a chance, and i am so glad that i did!!
November 8, 2009
Later Fulci effort that's awesome. The overhead shots in the opening and beginning make it look like a very high budget flick. Kills are a bit weak but I think Fulci was starting to go more suspenseful with this one.
July 28, 2009
These kinds of flicks are guilty pleasures for me. Aenigma plays like a rip-off Carrie Suspiria blend but it was fun all the same. Only for Fulci or italian horror lovers!
Super Reviewer
½ November 8, 2008
After Kathy's classmates play a prank on her which sends her into a coma poor Kathy has only one way to get back at them and thats with her mind she assumes control over the body of the new girl in school Eva and exacts her revenge and starts killing off the students one by one. One of Fulci's more weirder movies is a italian take on the movie carrie except for the girl being in a coma really worth checking out for anyone thats a fan of Fucli's work or just italian horror in general as this does have the goods to keep people interested.
October 9, 2008
This is probably the worst Fulci film i have seen to date. Quite slow and in places rather annoying plus there is practically no character to empathise with.
½ September 30, 2008
Only recommended for fans of Fulci and/or cheesy Italian horror.
May 31, 2008
Lucio Fulci's worst film.

This is really the only time in his career when Fulci actually seemed to be imitating Dario Argento. Ironic that Fulci should choose to rip off PHENOMENA, which is probably Argento's worst film.

AENIGMA also borrows from CARRIE and the atrocious Australian horror flick PATRICK. But like I said, it all adds up to Fulci's worst film.
May 8, 2008
So awkward, stupid and lame that it's almost admirable. Lucio Fulci was really slumming with this riff on 'Phenomena' and 'Carrie,' but it's got the good sense to avoid any moments of real value, so it's amusing. The great/atrocious music and cues, the bitchy girls badly dubbed over bad dialogue, the complete nonsense and lack of tension or scares... it's kind of remarkable. Considering it's all nonsense leading to various deaths and set-pieces, it's outstanding that not one is even remotely good. I can still say though that it's a bad movie with the merit of being completely watchable, but even Fulci apologists are going to have a tough time with this one. My favorite bit might just be the Top Gun "thumbs up" poster gone evil.
April 25, 2008
Well this one was an easy sell for me as I do like Lucio Fulci's films most of the time, and since this particular story is sort of his "Carrie" homage I needed to see it. I have a thing for stories with the plot of a girl being teased or abused then getting revenge and this nicely fits in that area. What didn't work so well was the pacing, and most of the dialog was a bit boring and some of it unnecessary. When the film got going though there are moments of pay off and even some highly memorable scenes.


In this case the "Carrie" figure is named Kathy, and is she ever tormented. Her classmates dress her up and set her up on a fake date (sound familiar anyone) and then listen in and make fun of her. Well the trouble is they chase her out to the road where she is hit by a car and put into a coma with no brain activity. Somehow from there she is able to channel her rage at her classmates through the new girl in school called Eva.


Eva then infiltrates the popular kids and starts bumping them off (since she is being mind controlled by Kathy of course). It does take a while for much to happen, and there are large breaks in between murders so it does sort of drone on in places, but then when we see some of the creative murder methods it becomes worthwhile. We all know Fulci is capable of some great gore, and this isn't necessarily gory but there is a fantastically unique 'death by snails' scene that should be seen by most. I can't say that anyone should rush out and see this one, but if you like "Carrie"-style films that aren't as great then this should fill the void. Also fans of Fulci's will want to see this even if it's not his best effort.
March 17, 2008
Death by snails!! Quality Classic Fulci!!
Page 1 of 2