Adventures of Johnny Tao Rock Around the Dragon - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Adventures of Johnny Tao Rock Around the Dragon Reviews

Page 1 of 2
½ February 21, 2016
I really wanted to like this movie, but it just didn't grab me. It reminded me a lot of the excellent "Six-String Samurai" which was quirky, smart and had a unique balance between arthouse and grindhouse. "Tao" is set at a desert gas station owned by the son of a one-hit-wonder rock star who finds himself caught up in ancient martial arts mysticism as good and evil clash over a sacred relic he unknowingly is in possession of. The film does feature some decent fight sequences and I was really rooting for this scrappy film, but it's pacing, story and characters just never grabbed my interest.
April 16, 2012
not even worth the 1.00 in red box.
Super Reviewer
November 4, 2011
I tried and tried to sit through the whole thing & almost made it but I just could not do it.I was hoping this movie would suprise me & be as good as some of the other low budget action flicks I've been watching lately but I can't even remember what I just watched
½ December 30, 2010
Just another horrible film I needed to watch to keep myself in check. Keep scrolling, movie watchers!
October 18, 2010
This was really stupid, but good in a mindless, relaxing sort of way. Just what I needed at 3 in the morning.
April 20, 2010
Likeable nonsense that wants desperately to be a cult favourite but just doesnt quite make the mark. Some of the fighting is good but there's rather too much of it and the budget doesnt stretch to having the whole town taking over rather than just a few bikers.
October 9, 2009
The script was good, it looked good but the something was lost in editing.
½ July 5, 2009
Well it was terribly cheesy but good for some kick back, relax and veg time. Overall, it needed better actors, a better director, more money, a better script, storyline improvements...pretty much the works. But no doubt lovers of cheesy kung fu films will glean some enjoyment from this.
June 25, 2009
Horrible movie with some fairly good fighting scenes.
½ January 14, 2009
A triple cheese sandwich with some really outstanding martial arts sequences for such a low budget movie. It's also pretty entertaining.
½ December 17, 2008
I know this was a B movie, but I really enjoyed it!
December 3, 2008
Well I was suffering from a bout of insomnia the last two days, The Adventures of Johnny Tao cured that right away. Halfway through the flick my boyfriend walked into find me fast asleep on the couch.

In all fairness to the film it would be good for the lower aged crowd, Power Rangers styled martial arts without any gore. So the film might be more tolerated by kids. Adults though should stay as far away as possible unless they are in desperate need of sleep.
½ October 22, 2008
wow, what a bad movie with a really bad story line and lots of poor acting. the film opened up with some awesome traditional hongkong style martial arts and quickly sizzled 900 years later. for those that have watched this film knows what i'm referring to and will agree that this movie is a bust. I'd give it a 0 but I gave it a 10 because Chris Yen is super hot in this movie.
October 20, 2008
The most fantastic cheezy movie I've seen in a while! Sugar craving kung fu zombies! Definitely a must see. I haven't laughed so hard in a long time for a movie. If you need a movie with all the promise of classic B movies..this is it! This one could easily become a cult classic!
October 19, 2008
Everything about this movie is so bad that it's good, really good. When I say 'bad' I don't mean that it was ineptly handled, a blunder of direction - it was a great parody, a bad-on-purpose riot to counter the bad-on-accident horrors of The Forbidden Kingdom (which was seriously just bad).

And you know how most summer movies are a parade of special effects? This is a great example of a tight budget going a long way thanks to creativity. If you find The Adventures of Johnny Tao you should watch it, if for no other reason than because you're NEVER going to see anything else like it (for the rest of your life).
October 10, 2008
A pretty cool low budget film, top choreography. I almost stopped watching after the first 15 min but I pulled though and enjoyed it quite a lot.
½ October 2, 2008
A corny and heavy on the cheese family-friendly martial arts film that has a ludicrous plot but surprisingly good fight scenes. Depending on how you look at it, you may overlook the awful story and appreciate the action or enjoy the overall cheesiness and be entertained. If you enjoyed the first TMNT live action movie you'll definitely enjoy this film but if you're looking for the plot to match the intensity of the action, look elsewhere. Kudos on the cheese factor!!
September 27, 2008
not even worth the 1.00 in red box.
½ September 13, 2008
talk about sucked ass...
September 13, 2008
First, the last name in the title doesn't match the last name in the movie. Second, when I think of kung-fu, I think 'action and excitement'. This was just crap.
Page 1 of 2