Adventures in Babysitting - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Adventures in Babysitting Reviews

Page 1 of 2
September 17, 2019
The original is just better. This movie ruined the first one.
September 17, 2019
Yet another list to Disney Channel's dumbest decisions and ideas. This should not even exist. The original was more adult and funny. This one is just juvenile, unfunny and downright cringeworthy. That rap battle scene is the most cringeworthy scene in this entire movie. Almost as bad as Descendants. Yet another film that really desperate to be hip and cool.
September 17, 2019
I love this movie!! It is fun and great. It is modern and adventorous. Although it is a DCOM it still does picture aspects of the original. 2 completley different people such a big contrast, that can become such good friends.
½ September 17, 2019
great just what I need another live-action Disney movie that isn't marvel or StarWars
September 17, 2019
it is a good good movie I could watch it over and over and not get annoyed
½ September 17, 2019
The jokes are stale, giving it that distasteful Disney show flavor. Complete waste of my time-- would recommend not watching it ever
September 17, 2019
I give this movie 100%. Because IT WAS AWESOME
September 17, 2019
This movie is cancer. What have disney done to such a classic? It's a darn shame.
September 17, 2019
I really like it!! My favorite Disney Channel Movie ever
September 17, 2019
This movie was actually ok. This movie does have stale jokes but for a tween it is actually kind of entertaining. But if you are a fan of the original movie and are just watching this to get the same experience, don't expect much because you will be left disappointed. But most children that this movie is aimed for
might've never seen the original so it may be good in their opinion. But over all I'd give this movie a B-.I did have some moments when I chuckled but that's pretty much it. This movie is nothing more than a bad remake for fans of the original movie remake that most tweens and younger kids will like.
½ September 17, 2019
Cool adventure kids the 100th Disney channel movie, it's a dumb movie but it's a TV movie. I'm going to rate it in movie terms not TV movie ratings.
½ September 17, 2019
If it hadn't been a remake of an AMAZING movie it would stand as a pretty good DCOM, but pales in comparison to the original.
September 17, 2019
just horrendous. stick to the original.
½ September 17, 2019
Not as good as the original, but those are some rather large "Shues" to fill.
½ September 17, 2019
The most i'm believable story of everseen there is no way in hell the babysitters have this must drama as a babysitter
½ September 17, 2019
One night, two babysitters, five kids and various adventures!

Now its Maya's (Sabrina Carpenter) turn after Riley's (Rowan Blanchard) 'Invisible Sister'. I'm referring the two best friends from 'Girl Meets World'. This film saw a delayed release and initially it was said to be a sequel to the 80s film of the same name, but now it stated as an official remake. The basic theme was retained and the rest was modified to the present trend. They aimed for G and/or PG, not anything above that, so they had to give up those risky stuffs from the original, hence became a simple one night adventure.

The 100th film under the Disney channel's belt. I neither liked nor disliked it. It's a mixed feeling to me, but if you had loved the original film, which was for all ages, most certainly you won't enjoy this. This film is for those who had not seen the old version and it specially targeted for the little kids and tween audience. The main issue was the film characters doubled with the two babysitters and their two sets of children to be taken care, which means the adventures drastically shrunk.

There's no innovation and those altered scenes didn't do anything to lift the spirit of the narration. Especially the rap song was a disappointment compared to the 'Babysitting Blues' and also weak negative characters let the film down. But the display from the cast was amazing, if only they had refined story upto 60-70% new ideas, it had a good chance to impress the viewers. Overall, as a television film it did fared decently, but only when compared with the original, it goes stumbling.

5/10
Super Reviewer
September 17, 2019
Having little to absolutely no expectations going into this film, I did not expect much from this Disney Channel remake of Adventures in Babysitting. I believe it to be unfair to judge this film solely on how it stands up to the original, due to the fact that the original was meant for slightly older kids. This film being for a very young crowd, is a harmless remake in the sense that kids can enjoy it. Was it really necessary to have a remake to a film that nobody really talks about anymore? Probably not, but is that not why most films are remade in Hollywood these days. I have come to forgive the fact that eventually everything will be remade. As long as they change it up for a new generation I am willing to accept it. Some remakes improve on the original, most fall short, and then there are remakes like this. Lets discuss Adventures in Babysitting and why it was completely unnecessary.

Following a duo of babysitters who have a feud outside of their job, it is clear that the film will become cliched right off the bat. Both trying to get into photography, they are both up for the same position and then must learn to become friends to protect the children from evil. You will see everything coming from a mile away and even though the original film does the same, at least it was not afraid to go dark at times to create a more grounded feel. Disney Channel has become both too commercial and too kid-friendly nowadays, but that is fine if the emotion of the film is still present, which this film actually lacks. Due to the fact that the outcome is so cliche, there is really no raw emotion to back up the film, even though the writers did make a valiant effort. You can tell they were trying to make the best of what thy were given to work with, but it ends up being a sloppy final product.

Not thinking about the original, this film does stand on its own, and even though the original is better film, it wasn't all that great to begin with. That begs the question of why this film was made in the first place. With a story this simple and cliched, the cast needs to be tip top for me to buy into any of the events occurring throughout this film. I can gladly confirm that the cast is definitely the strongest aspect of this film.

I personally feel that Disney Channel shows hit rock bottom after the early 2000s, and while there are a few decent kids shows still on the air, this is definitely the one area Disney is lacking in. That being said, I think the television show Girl Meets World is the best thing to come from the Disney Channel in years. If kids should be watching anything from this channel, it should be that. One of the stars of Girl Meets World, Sabrina Carpenter, takes the lead in this film and delivers a very fun performance for what she has to work with. The kids, the second babysitter and the rest of the cast all work together as well.

It is a far better cast than I was expecting from a remake of Adventures in Babysitting, but that doesn't come without the farfetched ages of everyone. None of these kids acted their age, which completely threw out any realism attached to this film. The babysitters looked like they would have maybe been halfway through high school, but the plot has they going off to college. This was a huge turn-off for me, but again, the film is for kids.

Filled with ridiculous scenes, childish humour, and a plot that is more predictable than most of the Disney Channel sit-comes, Adventures in Babysitting is less than stellar to say the least. That being said, I am insanely far and away from the demographic that should be viewing this film, so I will give it the benefit of the doubt when I say that I probably would have had a lot of fun watching this film as a ten year old kid. For kids, there is a lot of fun to be had, but to put it plain and simple, it is an unnecessary remake to a film that was just okay to begin with. Unless you are a kid, there is not much enjoyment to be had here. For kids, it does its job well enough. My advice is to take these statements with a grain of salt and view this film is you have seen the original. Otherwise, it may just be a waste of time.
½ September 17, 2019
Much better than expected. The eighties original is still far superior, but this was surprisingly entertaining and sweet. I could have done without that rapping though. (First and only viewing - 9/4/2016)
½ September 17, 2019
it's just as good as the original if not better
Disney Channel has kept most of the same things from Chris Columbus' 1980's classic
where Elizabeth Shue was the central focus bringing a bunch of kids home before the parents returned Sabrina Carpenter and Sofia Carson both share the responsibility of looking after 2 distinct groups of children
both girls are polar opposites from each other; Jenny is the proper, organized perfectionist and Lola is the happy-go-lucky, carefree spirit
this version mixes in a few new elements like two thieves, a young police officer, and a love interest for only 1 of the girls
Sabrina and Sofia are the crowning achievements and if there are a few that don't like what this remake is doing at least they keep the picture afloat with their sparkly chemistry
the whole night is full is shenanigans and a race against the clock
the kid actors are respectable, you don't see a lot of the parents, the two crooks are just your standard crooks, and the rap number in here is a huge departure from Shue's solo but entertaining
I was really worried this remake would be awful, thank goodness though the two lead actresses work so accordingly plus it's truly family friendly
½ September 17, 2019
Quite a bit of fun, and I'd argue better in many aspects than the original (though perhaps only slightly better overall).
Page 1 of 2