A Most Wanted Man - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

A Most Wanted Man Reviews

Page 1 of 63
April 18, 2019
Chilly adaptation of a John le Carrà (C) spy thriller emphasizes the political implications, competently made with a top-notch cast.
March 23, 2019
While the espionage genre produced thrills and an intellectually complex flow out of a finely challenged direction as well benefitting from the strong leading performances, the engagement is depended on those delivered efforts when the convolution censors most of the accessible clarity of the international circumstance's factual points after the introduced lead-in as a setting. This film is no different but it still entertains and carries a slick unsecured theme before swiping the rug at the last minute. (B+)

(Full review TBD)
½ March 10, 2019
A frustratingly slow film that tries to be overly broad in scope and ends up shortchanging too many of it's characters. Pointless contrivances such as the young agent who ends up being the target's son add nothing and just reinforce the impression of an aimless and poorly written script.
March 3, 2019
Anton Corbijn adapts John le Carre's espionage novel into an intensely thoughtful and sombre thriller ruminating on the intricacies of ethnically fuelled conflicts in the global war of terror.
March 1, 2019
Excellent adaptation of a John le Carre novel. Philip Seymour Hoffman is supberb - watching this film reminded me of the greeat actor that he was. How we miss him.
December 22, 2018
A fine goodbye to Phillip Seymour Hoffman. Slow phased but interesting work ... also Rachel McAddams looks just so cute in this one ...
½ October 24, 2018
Great performance by PSH, but the movie got hideously bogged down in its style, the plot was lost, and what should have been a poww4house of an edning, left me with a "HUH?" expression. Sorry, this flick is a dud. Two hours of my time wasted.
½ August 19, 2018
inexpressibly refreshing to encounter a chess game..

A Most Wanted Man

3 And A Half Out Of 5

A Most Wanted Man is a character driven political thriller about a few good-hearted infiltrators whose attempt to pull of an impossible yet utterly glorious task ends up with dilemmas on each step.

The stakes aren't higher as one usually gets in such tales, but the inner politics is so well constructed that you cannot not communicate with its designing. The screenplay is so tight and written like a poetry on the sense that it enfolds each time a different perspective, angle, character and a piece of information that somehow sets the clock at zero.

And since the feature is build upon the race against time factor, the sense of urgency never fades away even though it ticks for an entire two hours. Corbign's world is busy in all its act (even in its first act, it doesn't spend its time on laying out the plot for the audience) where the viewers has to work hard to catch up with it.

It is rich on technical aspects like using its props, amazing camera work, fine editing and sharp sound effects although fails on pitching a palpable background score. Goose fleshing revelations, tricky and convoluted plot and eye-popping cinematography are the high points of the feature that keeps the audience tangled in its world.

Bovell's adaptation might be gripping and layered but Corbign's execution surpasses the script and sensibly respects each frame projected on the screen. Hoffman oozes power, vulnerability and emotional aspects of his character unflinchingly with an amazing supporting cast like McAdams, Dafoe Wright, Bruhl and Krieps.

A Most Wanted Man is not what we wanted but needed, in an industry where most of the mission were taken over by action and chase scenes, it is inexpressibly refreshing to encounter a chess game.
August 14, 2018
Apart from the (predictably) fine acting, Anton Corbijn manages to make a fairly uneventful narrative gripping and understandable. So often in spy dramas the audience is left to fend for itself while the screenplay does the splits trying to confuse and befuddle. Here, Corbijn is as interested in his characters' individual solitude, and the moral compromises each has to make to keep their heads above water. In his final role, Seymour Hoffman presents a fat monosyllabic self-destructive spymaster. It's a marvellous swansong, although he should have cut half the smoking scenes.
June 17, 2018
kasian sekali intelijen ini, udah nyusun rencana cape-cape di ujung gagal.. kesian emang
March 21, 2018
Marvelous performances, a flawless script and the most dynamic rhythm to keep you cling to your seat. Seymour Hoffman and Robin Wright lead such a great built cast for such complex, believable realistic characters, and the story is so well written there is nothing else to do but to enjoy how the film traps you in this adrenaline rush, by far the best political thriller you will see in years
February 28, 2018
Intelligent, slow burn thriller. The last 15 minutes are some of the most intense I've seen. Excellent acting all around.
December 19, 2017
I really liked this movie. This is a slow burn espionage thriller that was well acted and kept my attention. It's good to see spy movies that don't try to hard to be Jason Bourne and are a bit more realistic. Even though I think Hoffman gave a great performance, I think he tried a little TOO hard with the German accent. Otherwise I love the movie
½ December 4, 2017
Philip Seymour Hoffman is Riveting ... One Last Time. A Most Wanted Man succeeds thanks to another compelling performance from the late Philip Seymour Hoffman.

It's sad to say that this is the last full-scale Philip Seymour Hoffman performance we will see on screen. Luckily, his performance as Gu?nther Bachmann, a German intelligence operative, is one of his best roles since 2005's Capote. A Most Wanted Man also benefits thanks to director Anton Corbijn's (Control and The American) touch and a top-notch cast (Hoffman, Rachel McAdams, Willem Dafoe, Robin Wright and Grigoriy Dobrygin). This slow-burning spy thriller will sneak up on you at the end.

Based on John le Carre's 2008 novel, the film takes place post 9/11 where the stakes are high against Muslim communities. Hoffman runs a small-scale spy unit that tracks Hamburg Muslim communities. Tensions arise between the Germans and U.S. security when an unknown half-Chechen, half-Russian, tortured immigrant, Issa Karpov (Dobrygin) shows up in Hamburg. Karpov hires a human-rights lawyer Annabel Richter (McAdams) to collect his father's fortune from a German bank run by Thomas Brue (Dafoe). So is Karpov doing this for his own pleasure or is it to fund terrorism?

Hoffman wants to know and so does American diplomatic attache Martha Sullivan (Wright). Things get twisted as Hoffman and Wright duke it out in a cat-and-mouse game until the end. This tightly packed script by Andrew Bovell (Edge of Darkness) relishes maximum suspense that will leave audience members at the edge of their seats. The true master in this film, of course, is Hoffman, who really transforms into his character. From the uncanny German accent, to the drinking, to the chain-smoking, to the lifeless glances at his workers ... Hoffman does it all in his tour de force performance.

Many will be in awe with his performance, like I was, while others may have a harder time at the slow-burning spy pace. In the end, it was worth it. I have always admired Hoffman's acting and it saddens me that we won't be able to see anymore lead performances from him again. To the late Hoffman, who goes out with a bow ... we will miss you.
Super Reviewer
August 15, 2017
A Most Wanted Man is yet another mature spy thriller based on a John Le Carré novel. I struggled with Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy but really enjoyed Our Kind Of Traitor. I'm on the fence with this one. There is no denying that this is a well executed spy thriller that oozes maturity. But I found myself disengaged, particularly during the first half. The story is SO heavy and full of dialogue and minor characters that I struggled to keep up with what was happening. It's only in the second half that the plot becomes more focussed. Philip Seymour Hoffman gives an understated performance and is easily the stand out of the film, without a doubt. If he wasn't talking, then he was smoking (seriously his character smoked about 30 cigarettes). Supporting cast were good, I felt Rachel McAdams was unusual casting at first but slowly warmed to her. The direction was solid and every shot was clean and precise. The story itself was relevant and felt very realistic in terms of spy espionage. Hard to call this a thriller though, when really there were no thrills...I wasn't gripped! There are two tense scenes and they each last about ten seconds: the train chase and the taxi escort towards the end...that was it. I wasn't gripped, I wasn't compelled and I certainly wasn't transfixed with what was happening. Sure it's watchable and the technical aspects are there but it was too hard to follow. Everyone was dead pan serious, literally! No one liners or any fun to be had here, it's stern cold stares and monotonous facial expressions. It all seemed too...what's the word...clinical? Like it would've benefited better if it was a TV drama? Look I don't hate the film, I found it to be watchable...just not compelling enough for me to get excited about it. "A gripping spy thriller"? No, I'm afraid not.
August 7, 2017
A Swan Song Performance By P.S. Hoffman That He Well & Truly Nails With Passion & Many Shades Of Grey. Bringing A Wonderful Novel To Life With The Justice On Such A Topical Issue It Deserves On Every Level. Very Well Done.
August 7, 2017
no action what so ever,couldnt find any fun enjoyment in this movie
July 31, 2017
A Perfect Film. One of LeCarre's best transformation.
April 1, 2017
"A most wanted Man" is a movie about about an alleged terrorist that wants nothing more than give all his fathers money away and be a free man. This story is implemented in a very confusing manner and with too many characters having influence. It is never clear what exactly is happening and what the characters are up to and in the end the purpose of all the work and all the uncovering is unclear. There never seems to be a real ending to the story and nothing really makes sense. The movie is packed with renowned actors and while all of them deliver solid performances, even actors as good as Hoffmann or McAdams seem to feel uncomfortable and they never really seem to find their game. Corbjin is a great director and while he did an amazing job in "The American" in every aspect, he seems to try a little to hard in this movie. The cinematography is off and while in "The American" the camera did all the work here it is at times confusing and some lingering shots of buildings or in cars don't fit the situation and the movie. Corbjin's style is a great one and I admire it a lot but it just doesn't fit this movie. The whole movie is overall confusing and doesn't really make sense. There are so many exciting plot twists that one could've imagined in this movie, but instead the story is very plain and lacks tension and suspense. In conclusion we can say that "A Most wanted Man" is a rather boring movie with a basic plot that never really takes off and the most enjoyable this is to see those great actors together.
March 9, 2017
It's a visually pleasing film with a helluva lot to say about the current state of global intelligence and an admirable Philip Seymour Hoffman performance, but there's also this overall sense of mundanity about "A Most Wanted Man" that I just can't help but call attention to. True, the business-as-usual tone sure helps establish the characters as being familiar with the world at hand, but without any urgency in almost any character within this film, there's simply nothing for me to latch on to as a viewer. Like some other recent le Carré adaptations, "A Most Wanted Man" plays things frustratingly close to the vest, with a slow-burning pot of a plot that never quite boils over into anything memorable. Sprinkle in a couple of spotty German accents here and there and you've all but lost me. Again, director Anton Corbijn may have achieved a noteworthy aesthetic here, but I'm more of a "colorful narrative and characters" kind of guy myself. Not necessarily a bad movie per se. Just a film that I desperately wanted to like that ended up not reciprocating in the end.
Page 1 of 63