35 Up - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

35 Up Reviews

Page 1 of 4
Super Reviewer
½ November 5, 2018
At first, the impression is that this is more of the same following what we saw in 28 Up, with very basic questions about work, marriage and family, but then the film grows much more interesting as it begins to take a deeper look into the complexities and nuances of those people's lives.
½ March 10, 2016
Another fascinating installment in the series, but its hampered by the reluctance of the director to explore deeper subject matter.
August 12, 2015
Heavy stuff! I feel like it just gets darker. It's crazy how much people change and how difficult it is to predict.
July 9, 2015
Much has changed yet again. You see divorce, career change, more kids/relationships. It's astounding when u really think about it how much we all change over time just in 7 years let alone a lifetime. I really think the format has gotten more organized and better overtime.
November 25, 2014
Continuing the journey, so fascinating to watch
½ December 20, 2013
It was good to see Charles talk in this one, I was really curious as to what he was up to after not speaking with the program in the last movie. It was really interesting to see all the people that participated at this time of their lives. I noticed that there was more grief in this one like there are more things happening that are sad. Lynn with her brain issues, Bruce is still alone, the divorces, and the loss of parents. It is definitely cool to see where these people are ending up and I look forward to watching the rest of the installments.
½ December 11, 2013
still very interesting to see where everyone's lives have gone. i don't think i yearn for the children they once were, it seems silly not to accept that people change as they get older.
½ June 1, 2013
Ever Farther From Where They Began

Strangely, this one is where they are "my age." Oh, I was in ninth grade when it debuted, but in this installment, they were a year younger than I am now. This means that I no longer look at them and think how things were for me "when I was their age." From here on out, I will instead be thinking about what I will be like when I am their age. This is the point anyone coming to this series well after it was started reaches, I think. I mean, yeah, they're always going to be younger than my mom. For her, it will always be "when I was their age." But the nature of the medium means that more of us will reach this moment somewhere along the series as we watch it. And for now, of course, we also reach the point where we're caught up and are starting to wait for the next seven years to go by so that we can see where the participants are now. I would imagine that, when I start doing that, I will also be checking in with the changes in my own life over the last seven years.

Another seven years, another glimpse into the lives of our fourteen participants. Or, in this installment, twelve--Charles has pretty much permanently dropped out, Peter suffered difficulties after criticizing Margaret Thatcher in the last installment and chose not to return, and Symon was going through a messy divorce at the time and chose not to participate in this installment. But the others are back, and their lives have continued for good or ill. By now, most of them are parents. Some are married; some are divorced. Neil has remained single, and he is also the one without a steady life. At this point in his life, Bruce has also traveled, and he is single and teaching in Bangladesh. In a way, none of the others have led lives that are all that unusual, even if you take the film's starting point and assume that their class will determine their lives. Or if you don't, really. Most of their lives aren't all that extraordinary under any context except the one in which they get filmed every seven years.

It isn't even all that surprising that one of them is having mental health issues. It would be more surprising if none of them did. It isn't surprising that he doesn't want to take medication, either. A few years later, it would become surprising if none of them were medicated--though the medicated one wouldn't necessarily be Neil, who needs it most. He seems surprised, I think, that he used to be happy and isn't now. He seems to have been a cheerful enough child, and that bugs him, because it should be consistent. But of course it isn't necessarily. Most mental illnesses don't appear in childhood. In fact, a lot of people in the mental health care field are still surprised when symptoms of, say, bipolar disorder appear in children, because everyone knows symptoms don't appear until adolescence. Neil is taking the opposite tack, the belief that mental illness is always there, and that isn't valid, either.

He seems surprised, too, that people are interested in him. Leaving aside that self-esteem issues are not infrequent in those with certain mental illnesses (and I promise you that I don't have enough data to diagnose even at a guess), I think that's because all of the participants think they're ordinary. Of course, if they were extraordinary, there wouldn't have been much point in choosing them. None of these children are nobility; their parents aren't even in the House of Commons. None of their parents are famous at all. In fact, the parents are only just beginning to be part of things for purposes of the series, because they are starting to die. (Bruce's father comes up in the first installment, but few if any of the other parents do, even Bruce's mother.) They were chosen because of their class, but there was a class that wasn't included.

I understand fully both why the various people would choose not to be in the documentary series anymore and why they would. I'd probably be proud to be part of it, no matter what I actually did. It's a sociological examination, if nothing else. Flawed, of course; they get recognized in the streets, some of them, and they certainly know they're being observed. How could they not? Still, there is both what the original premise claimed and what eventually happened. John, who missed the last installment, returned in this one because he knew that it would give attention to things which mattered to him. Charles, I think, probably resents the invasion of his privacy; he has sued (unsuccessfully) to get his image removed from [i]49 Up[/i], which I'll be getting to soon enough. And, yeah, if I were in the middle of a divorce at the time of an installment, I'd skip out on it, too.
February 11, 2013
The 30s ... Now they are starting to look back , reflect on what's gone by and mostly regret what might have been. They are more honest here and walking along with them this time was no easy ride; in fact, it was quite painful, specially when it came to Neil; but all said and done, this is my favorite part of the series so far.
Super Reviewer
January 29, 2013
Perhaps I should review Apted's series in its totality but each of these films has their uniqueness and charms. This one is no exception although some of the children who were originally filmed in 1963 declined to be in this and subsequent series. Lives are falling a bit apart for our subjects. All the more reason to get updated in 42 Up.
August 9, 2012
The 'Up Series' represents one of the most fascinating and unusual uses of film in cinema history.I wondered to myself many times where I would be in 7 years. I even felt a bit jealous that I didnā(TM)t have a camera crew checking in with me at regular intervals. Itā(TM)s a fascinating series that everyone should see.
½ May 26, 2012
Nice continuation of the great documentary series. The characters (?) in this human drama begin to realize the loss of those closest to them. Tony continues to be a favorite!
Super Reviewer
May 22, 2012
This series is great. Well worth watching from the start, but maybe with a few month's worth of rest between each film (unlike what I did) otherwise the flashbacks get a bit much. By 35 up I was starting to feel like it was all flashback and no current footage.
January 21, 2012
Watch the whole series.
January 21, 2012
Watch the whole series.
August 30, 2011
These movies show the lives of several real people. That makes it INTERESTING.
June 30, 2011
I found this very similar to 28 up. Having them talk about the death of their parents is an interesting choice I wasn't a huge fan of these segments but it does lead to some deeper reflections. What struck me was how similar so many of the subjects turned out. Characters like Neil who stand out are the most interesting.
December 20, 2010
Truly a film series that becomes more impressive and meaningful with each installment.
June 26, 2010
Probably not as great as the other installments, but it's interesting to see how the subjects were doing when they were 35.
Page 1 of 4