Pirates of the Great Salt Lake - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Pirates of the Great Salt Lake Reviews

Page 1 of 5
June 6, 2012
awesome and hilarious
December 22, 2011
I don't download, Please help me.
½ April 27, 2011
I'm still not sure how I feel about what I saw. It's a very similar reaction to what I had when I watched Brazil for the first...and second...time. I thought it was gonna be some sappy tale worthy of Lifetime. It was like expecting Mountain Dew and swallowing some gasoline. My gut reaction is to say it sucked and move on, but it won't let me. Maybe it's because I like pirate movies, I like treasure hunt movies and I love seafood. I just don't know, but I rate it higher than I probably should because it was just that strange. Tod, if you see this review, you need to see this movie.
½ March 4, 2011
great B movie just before johnny depp days lol
August 26, 2010
Witty and ironic! Some rough patches that take a few viewings to understand, but definitely fresh and unique conceptually.
½ February 28, 2010
so stupid its funny lol
February 24, 2010
I was incredibly surprised by how great this movie truly was. Its a true god among such parodies as "Stan Helsing" and "Disaster Movie." Upon watching it instantly shocks you with constant quirks and an underlying sense of life and love.
½ January 11, 2010
Not the best effort from an LDS point of view!
½ January 3, 2010
It looked hilarious but turned out to be rather dull and unimpressive. The editing was horrible and it only had a few funny moments. Another swing and a miss from the Utah film makers.
December 27, 2009
I had trouble staying awake through-out it. The one plus I would offer here is some originality - but the screen-play and acting for the most part were lack-luster and boring.
December 1, 2009
I was surprised how much I enjoyed this movie. It's quirkiness and absurdity (pirates in Utah?) just added to it's charm.

It has a cast of relative unknowns, but that didn't stop you from rooting for the pirates, or caring about the low-budget.

Take a chance, you won't regret it.
October 16, 2009
Despite the films short comings it's worth seeing.
August 28, 2009
Pirates of the Great Salt Lake, a film clearly meant to be a stoner comedy. That exactly what it turns out to be. This film about two guys who decide they want to become pirates on Salt Lake. Furthermore, they later come across a map of a long lost treasure, which they decide to pursue. Of course, a all too typical plot point, the treasure is curse. Some of the comedy in the movie is all right. The overall production quality was actually decent. The acting is bearable to watch. Due to it's narrow target audience, the overall direction of the film does not go very far. For most part, it pretty stupid movie, that might entertain you just enough. Unless your looking for a film that has this kind of comedy, it not needed to be seen.
June 17, 2009
I loved it, it is funny and has a story to it. If you like spoof movies (although this isn't one) and pirates you'll love this movie
May 31, 2009
I had very high hopes for this film. While I enjoyed it, I was a bit let down. Great characters. The technical quality of this film was great for an independent film, the story just left me wanting. Good luck to the film makers though. I'll be buying my own copy just to help support these guys.
May 14, 2009
I absolutely loved this movie. It's a seriously weird movie but very funny. :)
April 20, 2009
Hilarious film, but didn't live up to my expectations though. Still, worth watching if you like pirates.
March 2, 2009
funny as hell... if hell were funny
March 1, 2009
very odd very funny :)
February 15, 2009
Very random movie with some amazingly funny parts. You should watch it!
Page 1 of 5