Shutter Island - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Shutter Island Reviews

Page 1 of 1692
½ May 18, 2019
Grande filme. a fotografia ├ (C) linda e consegue misturar um jogos de luzes com muito brilho e ainda assim passar um aspecto sombrio e de medo. PARECE contraste. a perspectiva da hist├│ria com multi fases por├ (C)m sempre enganada no ponto de vista do Leonardo di Caprio foi espetacular. tudo incr├şvel. n├úo precisou ser de terror, mas ainda assim encocou um pouco de medo.
May 9, 2019
Pure implausible manipulative trash. And fuck all you idiots who keep writing about the "amazing plot twist" in your pathetic reviews. NEWS FLASH: Telling people there is a plot twist is a fucking spoiler! Stop this crap at once. Shame on Scorcese for choosing such an abhorrent story and mediocre script. Not surprised the book author co-wrote the screenplay. This whole failed bullshit is simply a copy of the plot devices of "A Beautiful Mind," but done ten times more manipulative and poorly. The greatest sin of the storyline is that it is portrayed in such an IMPLAUSIBLE way. No wonder critics and viewers trash this film.
April 19, 2019
Based on the Dennis Lehane novel of the same name Shutter Island is a pulpy psychological thriller based around U.S Marshal Teddy Daniels, Leonardo DiCaprio, and his partner Chuck Aule, Mark Ruffalo, who are sent to a mental hospital on Shutter Island to help locate the missing Rachel Solando, Emily Mortimer, a child murderer. Whilst there he experiences flashbacks to his army service in Dachau and begins to suspect that all is not what it seems with the hospital staff, Ben Kingsley and Max von Sydow. Eventually, as with most psychological thrillers, there is a dramatic twist.

I'm going to put it all out there and admit that psychological thrillers are one of my least favorite genres, I don't even really like Alfred Hitchcock's films, absolute sacrilege, I know. I can appreciate Sudden Fear (1942) but that's mostly because of the sheer brilliance of Joan Crawford who could sell me anything. This movie leans hard into the genre with insane twists and turns and campy performances that require you accept that the world the film exists in is entirely unrealistic, something I often have a problem with. With that confession out there I will be reviewing the film through that lens.

The problem is, I was not at all invested in the initial mystery and when the rug was pulled out from under the audience I just thought it was silly instead of being genuinely shocked and amazed by how they tricked me. The fault, I believe, lies with Laeta Kalogridis, the screenwriter, who is so often able to squander great stories behind her unwieldy handling of third acts. This film's sudden plot twist feels similar to the Ptolemy twist in Alexander (2004) in that it loses it's dramatic effect due to weak dialogue like "They are people, you can't be loved like them." Why she keeps receiving work I don't know but if she sticks to the increasingly less popular slew of Terminator sequels, reboots etc. then I will not have to endure her terrible writing in Ô~prestige' pictures.

The performances seem like something out of Sorry, Wrong Number (1948), Ben Kingsley has echoes of Harold Vermilyea, and they don't entirely work when presented with Scorsese's modern filmmaking sensibilities. DiCaprio is giving a performance that asks him to look confused for the majority of the first half of the film an eventually just insane. This lack of character development prevents DiCaprio from portraying any real change and, this is largely the poor script, but the lines he delivers are largely one-note. His two leading ladies, Michelle Williams and Emily Mortimer, are both tremendously talented actresses but they get very little do here and are perfectly acceptable crying whilst looking wistful. von Sydow and Kingsley fit the pulpy tone of what the film is trying to be but their roles are undercut by the film itself.

At this point in Scorsese's career, after The Departed (2006) and before Hugo (2011), he seems rather lost having just produced one of his better films as he prepares to make a film that lands with a dull thud. Lehane's novels are clearly popular for adaptation, with Mystic River (2003) and Gone, Baby, Gone (2007) but unlike Clint Eastwood and Ben Affleck he seems unable to create an appropriately engrossing mystery. Mysteries have been some of the most acclaimed films of all time from Vertigo (1958) to Chinatown (1974) and Shutter Island in no way equals those films. If he had just taken some of the pizazz or found a good screenwriter to put some darn suspense in this story and put this above the average not-quite-there mystery.

I would not recommend this film to most unless this is a genre that they love and in that case I would recommend they watch My Cousin Rachel (1952), Whatever Happened to Baby Jane? (1962) and Mildred Pierce (1945) before venturing to watch this below average thriller. It is worthy of being his 22nd best film. I am so glad that Scorsese bounced back to make The Wolf of Wall Street (2013) and Silence (2016), far better films, that contain a lot more of the visual aesthetic and clever writing that he is known for. Almost everyone who worked on this film went on to do better things and hopefully put this behind them.
April 18, 2019
A unique story, with an unexpected ending. Little details that i picked up during the movie, all came to the end to make a complete satisfying sense. Actors were absolutely amazing. I definitely recommend this movie. It was incredible.
April 15, 2019
Really nice movie ´┐ 1/2'┬?´┐ 1/2'┬? ´┐ 1/2'┬?
April 7, 2019
One of the best plot twists in movie history but sadly, the rest of the film didn't get me involved.
½ April 2, 2019
The twist was definitely surprising, but it was an extreme gimmick for everything else. The actors really go try their best; just like Scorsese did with his impressive cinematography. Everything else though stumbles right out of the gate. It lacks any suspense or mystery it claims to provide. The story was convoluted with many rough edges around its clear cut purpose. Lastly, the twist was surprising, but it doesn't come together when you think about it. Forming numerous plot holes in the back of your head. Its not bad, but you won't remember much about it later.
½ April 1, 2019
Wrapped with suspense and mysteries, Shutter Island is definitely one of the weirdest movies Scorsese has ever made. Leonardo DiCaprio performance help maintain the movie pace that can be sometimes a bit slow. The plot twist at the end might seem a bit cheap for some but does conclude the movie with a spark and a punch.
April 1, 2019
one of the best movies out there .
the movie is so underrated
its deserves a much better score
March 21, 2019
Gravely misunderstood. Repeat viewings are necessary to appreciate this expressive piece of cinema. From the use of music to the editing to the performances to the photography, Scorsese evokes the workings of an unreliable narrator and his mind, which slowly begins to crumble. Dicaprio's performance ranks as one of his best as he must suggest a person whose calm (and identity) begins to erode and crumble. Those who complain about the "twist" miss the point, for it wasn't meant to be particularly shocking. The entire film, from the first frame, builds up to that reveal.
March 20, 2019
Felt very unstatisfied with the ending.
March 16, 2019
Good mystery thriller with a twist, obvious in hindsight, but riveting none the less. For a while I didn't know which side of the story to believe. It directed very well and had a grimy taste to the whole thing, making the viewer consistently uncomfortable. Great performances by Ruffalo, Kingsley, and DiCaprio.
March 7, 2019
The story seemed to drag on for ever and ever, but then the beautiful climax arrived. It's a good movie that makes us think about the power of the mind.
February 21, 2019
Masterpiece ! Shutter Island worked on so many ways, The acting of Dicaprio was Oscar worthy !!! this is an all time classic! Forget the critics , they gave wonderwoman 93 % lol
February 11, 2019
I do not like too much this movie, maybe because I do not like the suspense
½ February 6, 2019
Masterpiece. Nothing to say..
½ January 24, 2019
Not the best of it's kind but Scorsese sure made a great movie. To the films credit, it did feel like a mindfuck nightmare. This is a good way to feel watching a psychological mystery thriller. The score seemed too good for the movie. Leonardo was trying too hard and was not fully believable and had a dumb sometimes-accent. I loved the ending. 6.5/10
½ January 20, 2019
scores are a bit harsh, it's good and a crowd magnet
½ January 14, 2019
dumb critics. this movie was fantastic.
December 28, 2018
Similar to Christopher Nolan┬┤s Memento, Scorsese┬┤s Shutter Island biggest strength is its unique narrative and plot twists, which will leave the audiences mouth-opened without a doubt.
Page 1 of 1692