Elegy - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Elegy Reviews

Page 1 of 85
April 13, 2019
i think this movie offers an honest and touching view of love by an old cynic, without losing romanticism. I didn't understand a choice made by the main character, but maybe this is how it was originally written.
October 21, 2018
This was so painfully slow I thought I had been watching for 10 hours. I thought all the scenes involved Penelope Cruz and she disappeared for a third of the movie. Ben Kingsley looks the same every movie. He is a master actor. I heard some "Don Logan" coming out of his lines at times. I found the Dennis Hopper scenes a little odd. Peter Sarsgaard as his son was a grumpy horrible git until toward the end. Patricia Clarkson what a complete tart. Wont see her in the same light again. All in all bit to slow but Penelope is super hot.
½ October 5, 2018
The story deftly examines the price of independence and freedom from emotional ties, as well as the inevitable confrontation with the loss of sexual influence, and the pain of having to let go of the things you love deeply.. A challenging film to be sure, as it is constrained in the point of view of an unreliable narrator given to objectifying women and fetishizing hedonism. Yet despite being trapped in this old man's fantasy, the film still moving and surprisingly relatable for those of a certain age.
April 8, 2018
Beautifully done and haunting.
½ December 2, 2017
An emotionally intense film. It is a bit melodramatic at tomes but all the performances are good. Hopper actually plays a half-way normal character! Cruz is absolutely luminous in this.
August 20, 2017
Dennis Hopper & Patricia Clarkson are awesome, an interesting movie with good performances but a bit unrealistic/unrelatable I guess?
August 3, 2017
Ben Kingsley and Penelope Cruz are excellent in this movie. A man having a May/December romance finds himself in the unfamiliar territory of actually falling in love, despite the fact that he despises commitments.
April 24, 2017
good acting from Kingsley and Cruz but the film falls flat on a few occasions. Thought provoking and well acted but could of been bwtter
½ November 16, 2016
Watching this film blindly not knowing the synopsis or having watched the trailer leads to re-establishing it's focus throughout. Beautiful, yet simultaneously tragic, Ben Kingsley really acts this simplistic role well
March 6, 2016
Smart, mature, well-acted and elegantly crafted, Elegy is a beautiful piece of work that poses deep existential ideas.
½ January 23, 2016
Quietly beautiful, with powerhouse acting from Kingsley, Cruz and Clarkson.
September 5, 2014
wow....sad.....very very very touching......man this is such a really really really sad movie 2 watch......its got a good cast of actors/actressess throughout this movie.....i think that penelope cruz, ben kingsley, dennis hopper (.R.I.P.), patricia clarkson, peter sarsgaard, play good roles/parts throughout this movie.....i think that the director of this drama movie had done a great job of directing this movie because you never know what 2 expect throughout this movie....i think that this is such a really sad movie 2 watch, it is such a beautifully directed movie 2 watch, its got a great cast throughout this movie.....i think that both penelope cruz/ben kingsley were absolutley brilliant throughout this movie.....



Elegy received generally favorable reviews from the majority of critics. It currently holds a 75% "Fresh" rating on Rotten Tomatoes with the consensus "An intelligent, adult, and provocative Philip Roth adaptation that features classy performances, Elegy is never quite the sum of its parts." The film also holds a rating of 66/100 based on thirty-two reviews on Metacritic, indicating "generally favorable" reviews



Top ten lists::
The film appeared on several critics' top ten lists of the best films of 2008.
3rd - Kimberly Jones, The Austin Chronicle
4th - Mike Russell, The Oregonian
5th - Marjorie Baumgarten, The Austin Chronicle
6th - Andrea Gronvall, Chicago Reader



man this is such a really really really sad movie 2 watch, it is such a brilliantly well written/acted/directed movie 2 watch, its got a great cast throughout this movie....,man this is such a really powerful drama movie 2 watch, its got a great cast throughout this movie.....


the whole cast is::::


PenÚlope Cruz as Consuela Castillo
Ben Kingsley as David Kepesh
Dennis Hopper as George O'Hearn
Patricia Clarkson as Carolyn
Peter Sarsgaard as Kenneth Kepesh
Deborah Harry as Amy O'Hearn
Charlie Rose as Charlie Rose
Antonio Cupo as Younger Man
Michelle Harrison as 2nd Student
Sonja Bennett as Beth
Chelah Horsdal as Susan Reese


man this is such a powerful drama movie 2 watch, this is such a really really really sad movie 2 watch, its got a great cast throughout this movie, it is such a really really really sad movie 2 watch,




The film is set in New York City, but was filmed in Vancouver


its got a good soundtrack throughout this movie....man this is such a really powerful drama movie 2 watch, its got a great cast throughout this movie, man this is such a powerful drama movie 2 watch, it is such a really sad movie 2 watch, its got a great cast throughout this movie....man this is such a fantastic movie 2 watch, with a great cast throughout this movie....it is such a powerful drama movie 2 watch, it is a really really really sad movie 2 watch, but it is such a fantastic movie 2 watch......
July 28, 2014
Draining, powerful character study.
April 22, 2014
There comes along a film that causes wonder, a change of current, and ultimately causes a reexamination of importances in every relationship.

For the accords we carry, at times, we place them beneath our microscope of discernment in a petri dish for scrutiny- we then determine those we leave and others we yearn to hold onto.

Kingsley's character was a seasoned tom cat who refuted commitments until tragedy struck the very breasts of a young brunette he adored- 30 years younger in Penelope Cruz' character.

In short, following the death of his close friend (Hopper) and the release of an unwarranted relationship with a damsel his age, he found purpose. He found the answer to what his heart relayed countless of times when wallowing in the rain, after each of his insecurities and heart of brokenness, a revealing illuminated him through that hurtful space, and he found the definition in someone who truly loved him.
January 22, 2014
Great acting by both leads, but something is missing!
December 7, 2013
If you are an old man who dreams of sex with a young woman, or are a young woman who dreams of sex with an older man then this movie is for you. Add in some refined artsy fartsy plays, pictures and other pseudo classics and the movie is done. Acting is strong due to Ben who gives his character a posh predator disposition making for involvedness that stings. Nibbles: Roast Pheasant with wine gravy.
December 3, 2013
A tame, uneven and only mildly sucessfull adaptation of Roth's energic, confrontacional and "naughty" novel "The Dying Animal". Kingsley, Hopper and Peter Sarsgaard's give tremendous performances that help elevate the film beyond it's restrained screenplay, one that poorly explores the themes and zest of the novel it's based on.
½ November 11, 2013
Interesting story, great acting by Ben Kingsley and Penelope Cruz, yet the plot moves so slowly you feel like fast-forwarding most of the time.
October 17, 2013
thoughtful drama. love the two stars
½ October 3, 2013
Didn't think a Kingsley/Cruz combo would work but it did. Ben his usual charming self also Penelope Cruz is absolutely stunning. At first i found Kingsley's character annoying and wanted to reach my hand into the tv and give him a slap. Intelligent script, well acted, Dennis Hopper taking some time away from blowing up buses, the lovely Patricia Clarke as Kapesh's long term flingy person. 'Melancholy with a spark of hope.'
Page 1 of 85