Elegy - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Elegy Reviews

Page 1 of 7
January 27, 2020
Smart and devastatingly sad, Elegy is at heart a film about the many damned-to-fail ways we try to protect ourselves from the inevitable certainty of death.
July 6, 2019
A finely crafted, intelligently written work, featuring some exceptional performances by Ben Kingsley and Penelope Cruz.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
December 12, 2018
As far as it goes, it's enjoyable enough.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 19, 2018
... will not disappoint those who are able to enjoy [director Isabel Coixet's] unique rhythm... [Full review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
December 15, 2017
My main disappointment is that it takes a predictable, tragic turn in the third act, which drags out the pathos and gives the romance more credence than it deserves. But in art, as in love, two acts out of three ain't bad.
August 15, 2011
A proven favorite, the Horny Old Devil Professor - Ben Kingsley in Isabel Coixet's intelligent but weepy drama.
July 29, 2011
Your final affection for this literary treat of sorts is how well you accept the finale, which is touching, and intellectually potent, yet possibly one depressant too many.
October 23, 2009
There are moments when the story sags, as it postures and revels in its own eloquence, but with strong performances and a moving final act, this is still a fine, thought-provoking film.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
April 13, 2009
No se ubica entre lo mejor de la directora Isabel Coixet, pero es de todos modos una interesante y sensible reflexión sobre la soledad, el amor, el sexo y la madurez. Gran trabajo de Ben Kingsley.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
April 10, 2009
A film which stays and stays.
April 10, 2009
An intelligent tale of aging, beauty, love and loss.
April 10, 2009
Coixet has blunted the impact of the novel's ending just as she has softened Roth's misanthropic depiction of Kepesh and, as a result, she's taken flak for being over-polite. I didn't care.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
April 3, 2009
Ben Kingsley is extraordinary, but Penelope Cruz is just astounding as Consuela. It is really a beautiful film.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
April 2, 2009
Beauty, obsession and longing are the central themes of this hypnotic but ultimately flawed drama in which Ben Kingsley's ageing college professor falls in lust with Penelope Cruz' stunning and vulnerable student.
November 10, 2008
With his fierce, impeccable craft Kingsley shows us around David's tortured, preening, desperate psyche.
October 18, 2008
Full Review | Original Score: B-
October 18, 2008
Sparse, low-budget drama, helmed by Spaniard Isabel Coixet, intelligently translates Roth's meditation on lust and mortality without soft-pedaling its narrator's brutally honest, unabashedly sexist views.
October 18, 2008
Full Review | Original Score: B-
October 18, 2008
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
October 13, 2008
A seemingly forced ending, keep Elegy from being more than a character vehicle for one of our greatest actors and an opportunity for some creative dialogue on the pitfalls of romance.
Page 1 of 7