Blindness - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Blindness Reviews

Page 1 of 202
September 10, 2018
I was surprised to find this film not just engrossing but incredibly well shot. With a white color pallet that is seldom put to screen Blindness is about a city that is suddenly engulfed by something that causes instant blindness. Exquisitely shot and well-paced this is a film that will make for something that will surely fascinate the audience.(Underrated barely seen independent film).
August 18, 2018
This movie is boering. Do waste ur time. It SUCKS!!!
June 18, 2018
I was surprised to find this film not just engrossing but incredibly well shot. With a white color pallet that is seldom put to screen Blindness is about a city that is suddenly engulfed by something that causes instant blindness. Exquisitely shot and well-paced this is a film that will make for something that will surely fascinate the audience. (Great premise well executed).
November 26, 2017
This movie was haunting, an honest reflection of humanity under extreme duress. ITS TOTALLY FRESH. Definite must watch if you're not afraid of confronting your own monsters.
½ September 27, 2017
It doesn't matter if nothing is explained in the film. And yet it does matter because that is the whole idea. It's supposed to feel uncomfortable. For me, it was about bringing everyone to the same level of vulnerability and the savage corrupt behavior of desperate human beings when fear takes hold and civility has disappeared. The point of the sudden tragedy of the blindness is about many things. Life can change instantly. Good fortunes can turn to bad fortunes. The illusions of civility is determined by the illusions of good fortune.
½ September 25, 2017
I liked it a lot more than most. I would argue that it ends just as it is about to ask some of the most interesting questions.
August 22, 2017
A different and interesting story but they dind't explain anything ! Why are all the people suddenly blind except Julianne Moore and why can they see again at the end ??? I dind't get this. aaannd i hated Mark Rufallo in this movie,u son of a bitch,ur wife did anything for u and u go and fuck ananother blind girl against her ???? Girls u will hate all the men after that movie,i promise !
July 17, 2017
I always get a kick out of Julianne Moore, because she always manages to top herself in terms of playing brain-dead, empty, pathetic human beings who somehow triumph over adversity due to the magnificent healing powers of having random sex with strangers. Julianne Moore is the best porn star in the history of cinema. Never has Julianne Moore's talents and assets been on clearer display than in Fernando Meirelles Blindness. She strips. She passively submits to gang rape. She watches idly as her blind husband cheats on her with a blind woman. She forgives him. And...wait for it...yes, she is actually outsmarted by blind people. This movie taught me that it's impossible to exploit actors who are three steps behind cattle in mental faculties. Julianne Moore is a beautiful cow and has a magnificent pair of utters. And that, no one can ever take away from her.
March 6, 2017
Loved it. It's touching, obscure, revolting at times.
September 19, 2016
Blindness is a film about a disease that makes people blind and in order to stop the spread, the blind are quarantined together. I thought the concept of this movie started off strong, but it turned bad and progressively got worse from there. The idea of grouping together a bunch of people who don't know how to deal with being blind, and then one sighted person making it in there with them is interesting. However, it seems that every human being in this film is an idiot. I mean we have a doctor who should know that clearly his wife has some kind of immunity, and therefore she needs to get out of the quarantine as quickly as possible so scientists can work on a cure. But instead he's content to have her be nursemaid to an entire ward full of blind people. Then there's the rest of the people in the ward who are so dumb that they can't realize the woman who always knows how to guide them around can see!

Finally, and more befuddling than all the rest, there's the stupidity of the seeing woman who allows herself and others to get raped instead of utilizing her huge advantage in order to take control of the entire situation. No, she has to wait until after one of the women has been murdered in order to decide it might be a good idea to do something. Blindness was literally two long hours of me just saying things like "Wait, why didn't they..." "Hold on, you could just..." "Stop being an idiot, and..." I hated the characters, I hated the story, and I hated them so much that I could not appreciate anything that might have been positive about the movie. I imagine there were some artistic choices that were interesting, and the unique look at what happens when society breaks down was special, but I couldn't care less because it was presented in the stupidest way possible. Just thinking about this movie again is making me want to punch something.
½ June 25, 2016
I really like this movie. I thought the filming and acting were pretty good!
½ January 23, 2016
A movie based on a book by my pal José Saramago. Its premise is good, but be mindful of the orgies common to his books too.
Positives: Julianne Moore; Powerful premise and what it tries to teach us.
Negatives: Orgies and be careful where you watch it, people might think you're watching a porno.
January 15, 2016
The book is great and in the start of the movie is just like the book says, but in the development you see a lot of unexplicated jumps in the timeline.
½ December 30, 2015
$9.50 compelling if you manage the slow bits
October 23, 2015
Fernando Meirelles, el talentoso director de las excelentes "Ciudad de Dios" y "The Constant Gardener", intenta adaptar a la pantalla grande la historia de José Saramago "Ensayo Sobre la Ceguera" y falla miserablemente. La pelicula no puede decidirse entre ser una metáfora sobre la desesperanza de la humanidad o la historia sobre un virus desconocido que obliga a las personas a buscar como sobrevivir. Los personajes actúan de manera absurda (con razón muchas personas ciegas se enfurecieron con el manejo de los personajes) y la trama no va ni llega a ninguna parte. "Children Of Men" y "28 Days Later" son dos cintas con temáticas similares que se llevan a "Blindness" por delante. Se destaca la excelente fotografía.
October 23, 2015
Fernando Meirelles, el talentoso director de las excelentes "Ciudad de Dios" y "The Constant Gardener", intenta adaptar a la pantalla grande la historia de José Saramago "Ensayo Sobre la Ceguera" y falla miserablemente. La pelicula no puede decidirse entre ser una metáfora sobre la desesperanza de la humanidad o la historia sobre un virus desconocido que obliga a las personas a buscar como sobrevivir. Los personajes actúan de manera absurda (con razón muchas personas ciegas se enfurecieron con el manejo de los personajes) y la trama no va ni llega a ninguna parte. "Children Of Men" y "28 Days Later" son dos cintas con temáticas similares que se llevan a "Blindness" por delante. Se destaca la excelente fotografía.
October 6, 2015
It doesn't do any justice to Jose Saramago's masterpiece.
Robert B.
Super Reviewer
September 28, 2015
I read various reviews of Blindness and they reminded me of some people's reaction to District 9, so I decided to give it a view and see what it was about. Blindness is a relatively straightforward movie and is not particularly good or bad. It is ironic how a film about how ugly humans can become when there are no laws or institutions (why do you think we need them?) gets a strong negative reaction from those that don't want to see that reality, much like the characters don't see what they are doing and what they've become. I didn't find it very insightful or poignant. I can only recommend it as an exercise for those who would consider what they would do in a worst case scenario. Blindness is not really entertainment nor is it very artistic but it is not the worst film ever made either.
July 30, 2015
I got to write a paper on this film in college.

It's a strange story about am unnamed city where the people experience "white blindness" where everything is so overblown that they cannot see anything at all. AKA: Whiteout.
Not knowing what causes it, they are all tossed into a quarantine zone and things quickly descend from there. Each ward developed their own power structure and very quickly the Monarchy ward effectively takes over everything.

It can be seen as pretentious as the metaphors are rather obvious. But I actually found a lot of enjoyment analyzing this film piece by piece.

An interesting note: none of the characters have names. They all call themselves by their job. In the credits they are usually called by what they are wearing.

Bleak, depressing, and always interesting. Check it out.
Page 1 of 202