Hard Luck - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Hard Luck Reviews

Page 1 of 5
½ September 26, 2013
huh? he opens the money case several times but only when the plot requires it the dye-pack explodes? pretty lame scripting guys. ps the good guy/bitchy chick has been done to death. ps when you take cookies right out of the oven they are soft and too hot to eat not hard and biteable....I really hate it when hollwood thinks we're to stupid to notice stuff like this.....
April 27, 2012
The movie sucks, but Cybill Shepherd is fantastic!!!
February 15, 2012
Bit all over the place but funny in bits
February 12, 2012
I think this is the most piss awful film I've seen in a long time
January 13, 2012
Not a bad movie. a little weird i found but pretty good.
½ November 21, 2011
At least see it fir Cybill Shepherd, she's great in this movie.
February 9, 2011
The plot line for this movies jumps around at an amazing pace. There's definitely a variety of styles of movies all put together to form this one, which can be a good thing or a bad thing. Some of it's scenes are cheesy. The one thing that stands out is the main characters unwavering integrity to hold to his values.
November 28, 2010
This movie was ok. I must admit I love to see Wesley Snipes act.
August 1, 2010
Hard Luck surprised me. It was not what I expected from Mario Van Peebles, who wrote, directed, and played a small part in it. It was a very twisted and freaky movie where people's lives cross and intertwine. An ex-hustler, a cop, a stripper, and a couple of serial killers make this movie one messed up flick.

IMDB says that it follows the ex-hustler as he tries to lead a normal life. That lasted about five minutes. It just gets fucked up after that. You should watch this to see Cybill Shepherd as a serial killer, if nothing else. Wow!
June 6, 2010
Sorry, I could not 'feel' for this movie.
Wesley Snipes have done some lame B-Movies, but this is up there on his top 5.
This was just a weird ass movie. Very strange characters all around. Luis Guzman is a great character actor, but what was he doing in this picture??
I could not get why Cybill Shepherd character was in it at all.

When I saw that Mario Van Peebles was in a Snipe movie I thought it would be a kick ass film, right? Wrong. Lame plot, lame action stunts, lame stunts. I tell you, I don't know why I even took the time to watch this at all...
March 2, 2010
a valiant effort to do something Pulp Fiction esque handicapped by inadequate talent to pull it off. Still entertaining and somewhat unpredictable
½ January 16, 2010
Weak story, plot, characters. Completely unconvincing. The serial killer subplot was a waste of screen time.
½ November 5, 2009
Hard Luck (2008)

This direct-to-video movie story line is all over the map. It follows ex-con, Lucky's (Wesley Snipes) story of getting out of prison and trying to go straight despite all of the bad luck that follows him from Katrina-flooded New Orleans to depressed New York City. Lucky is still trying to go straight.

Through no fault of his own, he gets involved in one of his shadier friends, Sol's (Noah Fleiss) birthday party. Sol is trying to sell some guns and wanted Lucky close by for street cred. Unfortunately the job was a sting with some crooked cops, and Lucky gets caught up in it and goes on the run with the stolen money and a latina stripper, Angela (Jacquelyn Quinones).

According to Lucky himself, he killed more black people than the KKK, back when he was a criminal. His long-time neighborhood rival, and now police Captain Davis (Mario Van Peebles) is out to get Lucky and bring him in. Everybody else seems to be out to get Lucky too.

The movie also deals with a couple of sadistic serial killers, Cass (Cybill Shepherd) and Chang (James Hiroyuki Liao), who like to video tape themselves torturing their victims.

Somehow they all come together in this mess to make some kind of sense. I love Wesley Snipes and he keeps the movie pretty watch-able despite the writing and editing. No doubt this is to help pay for his back taxes. Cybill Shepherd has a surprisingly juicy roll in this movie.
½ August 14, 2009
one of the worst than worst i seen. I even did not finish this.
August 11, 2009
was good good to see cybill shepherd in a movie and she played a good part
August 2, 2009
A amusing Action Movie with 2 twisted Plots and 2 funny Couples
July 10, 2009
good! wesley's still got it!
½ June 8, 2009
This film is okay to watch. It is a low budget film which has getting a high profile actor. Otherwise no one would have watched it
June 8, 2009
By no means a great film, but certainly a strange one, especially for Snipes who seems to be on borderline comedy territory. It's entirely character driven and watchable but missable at the same time.
June 8, 2009
This is what happens when somebody with Attention Deficit Disorder and a feeble amount of talent tries to rip off Pulp Fiction. I spent half the film wondering what the hell was going on and the other half not caring. Trash.
Page 1 of 5