On a Clear Day - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

On a Clear Day Reviews

Page 1 of 4
March 1, 2007
A satisfying 92 minutes.
July 26, 2006
There is much warmth and reconciliation in the final act, indicative of the movie's goodheartedness.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
June 3, 2006
There's an audience for this sort of mush, but don't count me in the mix.
Full Review | Original Score: C
June 3, 2006
On a Clear Day isn't so much a bad film as it is a thoroughly familiar and unnecessary one.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
June 2, 2006
One thing that sets On a Clear Day apart from other, like-minded films -- besides its spectacular Scottish location footage -- is the first-rate cast.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
May 15, 2006
Unlike my colleagues, I wiped my eyes instead of rolling them, and I'm hoping you will too. Worth seeing indeed.
May 5, 2006
The recycled spectacle of yet another downsized U.K. working-class type being reduced to an act of feel-good against-all-odds crowd-pleasing redemption.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
May 5, 2006
Flawed by moments of sitcom humour, On A Clear Day still manages to tell an engaging story about men, work and friendship.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
May 5, 2006
The wonder here, if not the redemption, is that so many toil so hard to make this saccharine stuff palatable.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
April 28, 2006
... despite its familiarity, it works, mostly on the strength of a fine performance by the Scottish actor Peter Mullan.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
April 21, 2006
Clear Day isn't terribly engaging.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
April 21, 2006
Fans of Mullan's more intense work will find this soft and all-too maudlin.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
April 14, 2006
The movie reaches for an emotional climax that is simply beyond the filmmakers' grasp.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
April 14, 2006
The social, economic and personal stresses don't seem very surely addressed by the big swim.
Read More | Original Score: 2.4/5
April 14, 2006
Mullan makes the journey more than worthwhile, but don't go in expecting profundity.
Full Review | Original Score: B
April 14, 2006
A lesser film, kindhearted, a wee bit weepy and a wee bit trite.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
April 14, 2006
Nothing in On a Clear Day is especially compelling. The movie doesn't dig deep enough.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
April 14, 2006
Does any of this work? Sure, but only through the graces of a cast that knows better than to play to our hearts.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
April 14, 2006
A thoughtful, thoroughly engaging portrait of fractured family and friends pulling together for an impossible dream.
April 14, 2006
takes its sweet time developing the story and characters, but delivers a fantastic ending that makes the journey to get there worth it
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Page 1 of 4