The Escapist - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Escapist Reviews

Page 1 of 4
½ February 12, 2012
It was ok to watch but a bit far fetched. I would advise to watch it if there is nothing else on
May 3, 2011
Could of been good based on the idea, but storyline weak and bit boring to watch.
½ April 30, 2011
Sad story but an interesting take on revenge.
April 20, 2011
Half decent storyline, but some of the acting left a lot to be desired!
February 6, 2011
Revenge movie in which the revenge "plan" is so flawed.
December 11, 2010
Better than expected. The plot is not exactly realistic but it works well, Serkis and Miller work well backed up by Gary Lewis. Worth watching when it appears on TV.
½ November 17, 2010
Plot/Summary
When the botched break-in of a career criminal (Andy Serkis, of the Lord of the Rings trilogy) results in the murder of a beautiful young wife, her grief-stricken husband, Denis (Jonny Lee Miller), is so distraught that he devotes his life to avenging her death. True to his word, he'll do almost anything to take out the man who killed the love of his life -- including getting himself arrested so he can "visit" his target in prison.
Director & Cast
Director, (Gillies Mackinnon)
Cast, Jonny Lee Millar(Denis)
Andy Serkins(Rickey Barnes)
Gary Lewis(Ron)
My Review
When Rickey Barnes kills a pregnant women Denis must take his revenge by going to his jail and kill him. Now right off the bat i love prison movies so i wiil of course probably think whoa this is gonna be a great film which of course it was but i dont see much of an escape or like i have plan oh we have to bust or dam. But it still serves as a prison film by a man going to jail to kill his wifes murder. He escapes a couple of prisons to go to a specfic one which is dull what is also dull is that the escapes are not that long. but overall its a great prison film and is a good ultimate prison thriller so i give The Escapist a 4.5 out of 5.
½ November 10, 2010
Plot/Summary
When the botched break-in of a career criminal (Andy Serkis, of the Lord of the Rings trilogy) results in the murder of a beautiful young wife, her grief-stricken husband, Denis (Jonny Lee Miller), is so distraught that he devotes his life to avenging her death. True to his word, he'll do almost anything to take out the man who killed the love of his life -- including getting himself arrested so he can "visit" his target in prison.
Director & Cast
Director, (Gillies Mackinnon)
Cast, Jonny Lee Millar(Denis)
Andy Serkins(Rickey Barnes)
Gary Lewis(Ron)
My Review
When Rickey Barnes kills a pregnant women Denis must take his revenge by going to his jail and kill him. Now right off the bat i love prison movies so i wiil of course probably think whoa this is gonna be a great film which of course it was but i dont see much of an escape or like i have plan oh we have to bust or dam. But it still serves as a prison film by a man going to jail to kill his wifes murder. He escapes a couple of prisons to go to a specfic one which is dull what is also dull is that the escapes are not that long. but overall its a great prison film and is a good ultimate prison thriller so i give The Escapist a 4.5 out of 5.
½ November 8, 2010
better than I expected, indeed
½ July 31, 2010
what a meandering piece of shit.
½ July 17, 2010
The escapist is an interesting but uneven movie. The main plot of revenge with very little thought for self preservation works, but also kinda grows weary before the climax of the film. Where it does shine is in the acting of Johnny Lee Miller, who carries the film for much of the time with only cursory support from the cast around him who sometimes act well and sometimes act poorly. It was cool to see Andy "I Will Forever Be Known As GOLLUM" Serkis in a role requiring very little makeup for, and he even does a good job pulling off a heartless killer. So overall Escapist is a decent enough movie, but does not really further viewings.
½ April 5, 2010
This is actually better than expected...O.O
December 16, 2009
Just an average movie...guess with a predictable ending..alright for a night in with nothing else to do
October 21, 2009
Quite a silly film with a completely unrealistic portrayal of criminal law. Andy Serkis is not at all convincing as a sadistic killer and if someone like the character Jonny Lee Miller portrays did actually engineer a way into a maximum security prison I'm pretty sure he wouldn't stand a chance. The plot is very *very* contrived. To those complaints some would possibly quote Hitchcock and say, "It's only a moooovie," but it's a mediocre revenge movie that I wouldn't particularly recommend to anyone.
August 15, 2009
For a film that had a terrible script and some pretty bad acting I found myself sucked in and desperate to know what happened at the end! Now that I know the finale, I can easily say I won't be watching this again in a hurry.
August 9, 2009
I liked it a simple British film with a simple story but intersting storyline! Felt the ending let it down though as it was abit ridiculous but definitely worth a watch!
July 15, 2009
great film watched it a few times english prison film luved it top marks
½ May 31, 2009
i really liked this film.some great acting and a pretty nice,well rounded story.some nice minor characters too.the flick stayed with me a good while after the end.this could only have worked so well as british made.
½ May 26, 2009
Take everything good out of The Shawshank Redemption and you have The Escapist.
Page 1 of 4