The New World - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The New World Reviews

Page 1 of 10
February 12, 2020
All [Malick's] trademarks are present and correct: the swaying grass, the gurgling rivers, the trees, the birds, the internal monologues. They all fit.
November 12, 2019
Rumored to be on a scale as grand as Titanic, I must say Malick succeeded -- if he was going for the events of the ship and not the success of James Cameron's film.
June 4, 2019
A probing, lyrical exploration of what makes us - as humans, as Americans, as inhabitants of this mortal plane - who we are.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
February 27, 2019
The true star of this film is the incredible cinematography by Emmanuel Lubezki.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
November 8, 2018
Closer to a symphonic poem than any conventional form of dramaturgical motion picture, Terence Malick's The New World is a triumphant work of unmitigated sensuality.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
July 30, 2016
Any ambience created in tandem by Lubezki and Malick repeatedly dissipates in the face of the plodding treatment of fascinating material.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
July 28, 2016
The filmmakers are very wise to make this New World, and the people in it, seem untouched, immediate, and present. There may be a small amount of cultural foreboding, but it is heard distantly, like an echo of lamentation.
March 2, 2014
Great works, when they next-to-never come, are always accompanied by giggles.
February 21, 2014
Malick manages to do something I never thought possible, and that's make America seem like a New World to begin with.
Full Review | Original Score: A
October 14, 2011
Discovery is a sensory experience by nature, and to lightly run one's fingers through someone's hair in The New World is to know them in some fundamental way.
June 10, 2011
It is about the dreams we have when we are awake but in a state of absolute peace and perfect self-reflection.
Full Review | Original Score: 10/10
May 13, 2011
By now the familiar elements have begun to resemble a misguided perfume commercial. Call it Terrence Malick's Obsession.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
April 20, 2011
Not Malick's best film, but more than up to his usual high standards, The New World is a powerful and emotional romantic drama, and an essential story in the history of America.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
March 17, 2011
Just beautiful.
August 30, 2009
Makes you view the world with virgin eyes again
April 29, 2009
A rather boring, and often pretentious bit of romance that's neither original nor memorable.
April 16, 2009
"The New World" is a movie that promises to leave its viewers with a bigger headache than you'd get contemplating the current state of global affairs.
Full Review | Original Score: D-
January 2, 2009
If I think I'm mostly going to keep coming back to [the 172-minute] cut (and I do hope, someday soon, for a Mr. Arkadin-like 3-cuts comparative DVD set) it's because it feels most fully realized.
October 12, 2008
...the romance of the three humans is secondary to the romance of the New World itself and all it symbolizes.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
June 3, 2008
[Malick's] characters must consider their lives, consider each other, and resolve the situation like adults. And when they do, a story that seemed to be irredeemably broken snaps back together.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Page 1 of 10