Jarhead - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Jarhead Reviews

Page 1 of 746
May 15, 2019
My Favorite American War Film Of All Time Is 1998's Saving Private Ryan.
March 7, 2019
Good movie but if this is how American's train their troops then it's no wonder they can't win many wars. Moronic.
January 15, 2019
Good points: the casting is great. Very very believable acting from the entire cast. Gylennhaal draws you in with his ability to send out clear emotions. The emphasis on the pain of waiting for the fight, a huge part of war, is a side of war not explored enough - and this film addresses that. Also the theme of always remaining in the desert and never forgetting war is a well illustrated point.

Bad points: no action. Almost nothing at all occurs in the film which is exciting. The theme of having the wait and wait for war was taken way too far. Not even half as entertaining as it should have been. So boring. The script at times is ultra unrealistic and cringe (thinking about the bit leading upto where they brand the spotter for Gylennhaal). Also the way the men cried in the film was way too prissy seeming. The reality was broken and I would end up laughing.

Overall this film is a waste of time. Donā(TM)t watch it.
November 13, 2018
"Jarhead" is a misconception of the war film itself. Indeed, this isn't one of the war films where the audience wants to see war or action full of explosions or battlegrounds. It's a movie that failed to be understood by some of the mainstream audiences. Every war is different. Every war is the same. Every man fights his own war. At the end of the film, there is a moment when all the soldiers returning to the home on the bus and are welcomed by American. However, one of the veterans wanted to join the bus. What made me so touched in that scene was the expression from the veteran. It fills with sadness but irony. Even though there aren't too many backgrounds that we know of its character, it's just enough why we immediately understand. Swofford's idealism gave rise to the true taste of what war was. In fact, part of life can also be used as a weapon and war itself. Sam Mendes with such fantastic directing, Roger Deakins, Jake Gyllenhaal with such a crazy performance, Jamie Foxx too, Scott MacDonald even though only a small part but very slick and so insane, and Peter Sarsgaard with characters who put a burden. "Jarhead" is at least not a film that carries political or propaganda elements. Just like what Alan Troy said.
October 26, 2018
good movie good story
October 20, 2018
Smart, solid, and utterly compelling.
August 18, 2018
One of the best movies about [post Vietnam] war fighting. There are even a few explosions too if that's what you're after.
½ June 11, 2018
Multiple viewings required to fully grasp the levels and topics the movie deals with.
It's not just about the standardizing of everything in the military.
It's not just about the psych stuff that happens to overtrained, overhyped marines that don't get to do what they're so overtrained for.
It's not just about brotherhood.
It's not just about surreal encounters, useless chores, moments of mental breakdown...
It's about everything imaginable and the vast emptiness that comes with it.
June 2, 2018
The audience serves as the pre-enlistment marines. You are sold vietnam, in all its glory and fun. What you get is the reality. You are trained to need the kill, the movie is less fun without the violence. You need this. It is your only thought. And you, much like the marines who are trained to kill, and denied that need.
May 5, 2018
Beyond Jake Gyllenhaal, Jarhead doesn't offer much. It attempts to address themes pertinent to the soldier that have been better addressed in previous war films. It also has no business being 2 hours long.
½ April 27, 2018
Movie needed to showcase the actual boredom that creates the psychological stress on the marines, just glossing over with a narration in favour of boredom-adjacent set pieces severely dulls the impact when the war gets going for real. Also needed more of Jamie Foxx('s character). Has its moment s though, and some really cool stuff in the backend.
March 12, 2018
I love this movie, it is my favorite marine/war movie.
½ March 3, 2018
I'll say this movie is so far different from war movies I've watched. It depicts the modern drama of the marines, sure enough to be realistic. I loved it
December 10, 2017
Disgraceful. Making the main character unlikeable is a great way to kill a film.
November 22, 2017
Too much overacting! I admire the anti political undertones which they try to establish here, but it's just bogged down by the main character trying way too hard to work with the material that he's been given here.
½ November 13, 2017
I noticed that the reviews for this movie is very divisive. Honestly, I really liked this movie. It is a very realistic marine movie. The directing is very good, the color scheme of the movie, the way how it looks, the tone, and the characters. Especially, the characters. That's what makes this movie really good in my opinion. They got these really talented actors to play some really great characters (based on real people and an actual event, too). Gylleenhaal nails it as always, Foxx is good, Sarsgaard is great, and literally everyone was great in this movie. Overall, it's a good movie.
½ October 2, 2017
The first half is solid, but other than the social aspect of this movie, it ends pretty anti-climatically. The movie is scenic and interesting but nothing really happens, which is interesting because this is a real scenario, but without much actual story.
½ September 6, 2017
The film is well done and the rendering of the boredom, frustrations and absurdities seems accurate. Reminds me when I went to a camp of "Cadets de l'air" as a teen. Never was I bummed and bored so much with so many people. The whole army and war things are such a waste of time and ressources on all sides! War only solves problem by tiring one or both sides. It is not really solving problem. Except maybe putting psychopaths together and against other psychopaths.
½ June 26, 2017
Shows everything it can about the banality and boredom of war, with no reward for any efforts displayed and the end result of broken-glass jarheads that struggle to find meaning for the rest of their lives.
March 24, 2017
Tells the story of a GI in Iraq who doesn't do anything all day because there is no war in Iraq. Hated it. I couldn't make it to the end. Turned it off. A better story that is similar to this movie is 'Buffalo Soldiers' with Joaquin Phoenix.
Page 1 of 746