Noise - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Noise Reviews

Page 1 of 1
August 16, 2012
Any Preconceived notions that this was going to be a good film should be followed by two slaps; one for thinking, and one for watching this steamer.
½ April 27, 2012
Nothing new or worth seeing here.
April 24, 2012
Nothing special here.
March 6, 2012
In Noise, a young woman (Trish Goff) moves into a New York apartment to start a new life following her divorce, but begins to grow tired of suffering the excessive noise from her upstairs neighbor (Ally Sheedy). It is an interesting, if flawed, little film. Director Tony Spiridakis does a good job at creating a sense of torment and tension, playing on the conflicting feelings of curiosity and irritation (that manifest in voyeurism and ire) towards neighbours living in close quarters. Ally Sheedy (yeah, THAT one) is great as the source of the title noise, and her increasing weirdness is alternately entertaining and certifiably creepy. Unfortunately, Goff, while she has an interesting look -- she is a model turned actress for this role -- , often betrays her inexperience with flatly delivered lines. Moreover, the film takes a third act turn that is both predictable given thriller tropes yet unbelievable given what we know of the main character. Watch it for the atmospheric indie style, not necessarily for how well it hangs together.
½ January 7, 2012
The film had an interesting premise; Since just about everyone can relate to an unreasonably noisy neighbor. The cast performed well enough and it held my interest. A decent sunday afternoon light thriller.
½ September 20, 2009
Easy the worst film I've seen this year. I hate my friends.
January 14, 2009
Goff's performance is of the right tone, just not all the right notes -- which for this movie, is the key.
May 25, 2008
This flick is highly entertaining for those of us who have ever lived in thin-walled apartment buildings.
½ March 14, 2008
Trish Goff is a model and this film is her first try at acting... and it shows as she seems to just walk through her scenes with no real emotion. The storyline is just as bland as nothing really happens until the climax where even then the tension is very subdued. Interesting core concept but nothing memorable.
March 12, 2008
Anyone who ever had a relentlessly noisy neighbor will relate to this Kafka-esque urban nightmare. 'Hell is other people', indeed.
½ January 26, 2008
Pateticamente deprimente
October 6, 2007
Love. LOVE. LOOOOOOOVE. it.
September 19, 2007
This is great! It's like the total hell of having an asshole neighbor, played out on screen, with a very satisfying conclusion.
September 17, 2007
ally sheedy is amazing in this flick...trish goff is awfull...i cant beleive she won so many awards for this role...not a very good movie
August 7, 2007
Came across this one late one Sunmday night on network TV. Never heard of it or Trish Goff but hey it had Sheedy. It was pretty lame yet kinda fun to see Sheedy ham it up. I fell asleep before it ended.
July 29, 2007
definitely different. good cinematography, good characters. plot was kind of a stretch, and it ended with still too much to offer.
Super Reviewer
½ July 25, 2007
This one was a weird one, I don't know exactly how to describe it. It turns out this really skinny divorced woman moves into a small aparment building in New York where the upstairs neighbor is... uh... creepy would be the appropiate verb. Then I forget what happens and suddenly she woman just can't get ear muffs to sleep at night so she tries to get back at her neighbor and then her neighbor gets back at her and then the woman turns into an alcoholic. Or she was already an alcoholic and then she goes back to it. And there's also these weird divorced women's support group who don't really support each other. Like I said. Weird one. I suppose higher minded individuals would find this intriguing.
January 4, 2007
It's tough to expect much from a movie starring a Victoria's Secret model, but Trish Goff manages to hit the right notes more often than not in this claustrophobic little thriller. Ally Sheedy isn't given much screentime, but does a good job. Some nice atmospherics as well, but overall the movie's simply average.
½ March 31, 2005
Well, if this happend to me I would have lost it the first night. A recently divorcee moves into an New York apartment and gets the tenant from hell. Good movie.
½ March 26, 2005
not bad, nice ending, ally sheedy is a great evil actress.
trish goff has possibilities.
Page 1 of 1