Dead Heat (I Fought the Law) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Dead Heat (I Fought the Law) Reviews

Page 1 of 2
February 10, 2015
I watched it for the racing scenes, and even they weren't worth it.
DrStrangeblog
Super Reviewer
½ August 18, 2012
Surprisingly entertaining racehorse 'n' lowlifes yarn, deftly balancing comedy & drama better than most. Kiefer Sutherland gives one of his best performances as a cop forced into early retirement due to a bad heart and talked into a dodgy partnership with his good-natured but shady half-brother Anthony LaPaglia. This mismatched pair is great fun to watch as Kiefer blows a gasket with each step LaPaglia leads him deeper into the mire. Lothare Bluteau is great as their jockey with a dangerous gambling addiction, and his suspicious daughter draws several laughs too. And on top of all that, there's impeccable Radha Mitchell as Kiefer's separated wife who wish as she might can't seem to start anew. The climax falls into the conventional sports-movie "big game" category, and the final conflicts & resolutions aren't executed to full satisfaction, but on the whole this "ride" wins money at long odds on a bet to place.
October 22, 2010
Watchable Drama Starring Kiefer Sutherland, Made Just After His Big Comeback In 2001. With Some Great Performances From Sutherland & Mitchell, Unfortunately This Drama Wasn't My Sort Of Movie
July 5, 2010
Another one of those movies with a main character (The Kiefer Sutherland part) that you don?t care about at all. It takes the wind out of the films sails. The Anthony LaPaglia character is much more interesting, but for the most part, the movie is just boring. It?s not a complete loss, but it just never satisfied me in the end.
July 5, 2010
45/100. Another one of those movies with a main character (The Kiefer Sutherland part) that you don't care about at all. It takes the wind out of the films sails. The Anthony LaPaglia character is much more interesting, but for the most part, the movie is just boring. It's not a complete loss, but it just never satisfied me in the end.
½ May 9, 2010
So many holes in the plot, watchable but don't expect much.
November 24, 2009
An excellent team - Kiefer Sutherland and Anthony LaPaglia and a horse. Very funny and entertaining.
November 5, 2009
Ok movie about an excop bying a horse with his brother then it gets kidnap by someone that the jokey got a gamling debt too. Then when they stell it back some things gets a little out off hand.
July 6, 2009
This propably had more slowmotion than the Matrix!
March 9, 2009
The film gets stuck somewhere between a crime drama and a crime comedy, it ends up being neither. Apart from the weak acting, the script is poor as well.
February 16, 2009
Excellent movie! Funny as fuck. Kiefer was on top form, as always. I WTFd a couiple of times. Wasnt too comfortable watching him play with himself in his sleep, knowing that my dear mother probably enjoyed it more than he did ...I thought it was funny when he was hanging the fucking jockey out the window!
I loved Pally LaMarr's whole ethos. Great movie!
½ February 2, 2009
Pretty Interesting. I Love Kiefer Sutherland Though
February 1, 2009
I enjoyed this film mostly because of the really unique premise; the entire film revolves around Pally getting roped into buying a racehorse by his idiot brother. When I heard about it, it was hard to imagine that making a good film without it being a comedy, but somehow, it worked and maintained my interest. The film's downfall, however, its it's terrible, TERRIBLE soundtrack. Ugh.
September 9, 2008
Well the DVD cover was a total lie and the film was bizarrely about owning a racehorse!!! Weird, weird, weird...
½ August 29, 2008
Litt stusseligere enn jeg hadde håpt til og med. Ikke at jeg hadde håpt at den var stusselig altså. Du skjønner greia vel? Hvis ikke, fuck deg. Litt vanskelig å se Kiefer som noe annet enn Agent Bauer.
June 3, 2008
Not a good movie. I expected more out of this movie. Instead, it was a bomb.
April 10, 2008
"Ira Hayes....
Ira Hayes....
Call him drunken Hayes,
He won't answer anymore.
Not the whiskey drunken Indian or the man who went to war."
March 21, 2008
not a bad movie I'm watching this on tv at the moment and it's good it's a bit like the "Goodfellas" but without Deniro and the other guys we all knew and loved in that great oscar winning movie.

but this movie is very nitty gritty and it sure has some bite when it comes to gangster movie!
March 11, 2008
Great story in this movie and worth seing more than once. A very touching story about a cop played by Kiefer Sutherland who gets in trouble because of a horse.
Page 1 of 2