James Dean - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

James Dean Reviews

Page 1 of 8
August 21, 2018
James Franco is excellent in the title role, but otherwise a stifled and cursory account of the actor's life.
July 21, 2017
directing and screenplay meh, franco yeh
½ October 5, 2016
Wonderful biography of the great cult actor James Dean, brief and to the point.
April 18, 2016
The story looks interesting, it's based on the story of a Hollywood star, some really interesting sub-plots and an overall very interesting character--all topped off with a very good-seeming James Franco performance, I'd like to see it.
November 17, 2015
I am a bit disappointed with the movie. I didn't like that it was focused around his dad and also the fictional parts can be confusing. People who haven't read anything about him and they just starting to know him will have misconceptions about his character. The cast is great though, Enrico Colantoni, Samuel Gould and of course James Franco in a quality movie without Seth Rogen for a change.
July 28, 2014
James Franco's performance is perfect, his physicality and tone of voice is all truly James Dean. Heartbreaking performance.
July 16, 2014
james dean was a real actor....
May 19, 2014
An okay made for TV movie that is worth catching because of James Franco's amazing performance. He simply becomes James Dean, completely embodying the film icon; the swagger, the sneer, the cigarette, the angst, the weirdness. This bio focuses on the difficult relationship he had with his absentee father, while also giving us glimpses of his years as a starving actor, sudden rise to fame and short movie career (three starring roles in two years.) There's also plenty of shots of "Little Bastard," the car he was driving when he crashed at the age of 24. This portrayal didn't particularly make me like JD, he comes across like a bit of a dick, definitely troubled and strange but I think its probably acucrate. The costumes are well done and James Franco is awesome. 5/18/14
½ May 5, 2014
James Franco was amazing , but the story left multiple details out of his life and fell flat on the floor. Even how he died was shortened to a small blurp. Iffy at best .
March 13, 2014
Loved this biographical drama. James Franco is perfect in the role, however some aspects of Dean's life were too implicit for my liking in the movie.
½ December 14, 2013
A great film on the short but colourful life of James Dean. It covers his life as a young boy when he lost his mother right up until his tragic death at the age of 24. A well directed film. James Franco manages to successfully portray Dean's complex and enigmatic character. It was interesting to see how Dean prepared for his role in East of Eden in the 'behind the scenes' parts of the film, particularly the famous father/son scene. The film gives one insight as to how James Dean came to be seen as the loveable rebel.
November 14, 2013
Just another James Dean flick, nothing new. Franco was ok, but nothing special.
September 27, 2013
This was a very good movie
½ June 18, 2013
The movie itself wasn't that great, but James Franco's performance was unbelievable... so great. I knew he was a marvelous actor since I first saw 127 hours, but him portraying James Dean confirmed his true talent to me. He was simply stunning, I am proud he could play a troubled, rebellious, strongly talented person such as James Dean with such grace and confidence.
Super Reviewer
May 3, 2013
It's rare to see such a good television production, mostly due to the Franco's portrayal of James Dean. Although the film was detailed, it wasn't accurate.
½ May 1, 2013
Not what I thought it would be, but very intersting at the same time to be able to learn about James Dean and his life in general.
January 22, 2013
Way too "movie-of-the-week" for my tastes.
½ December 28, 2012
James Franco killed it in this...i just got it for x-mas.
½ December 19, 2012
This is where it all began for James Franco. The movie is a little too traditional made for TV and it would be interesting to see what hbo might have done with the material. But James Franco eerily embodies James Dean. It was here that a star was born.
December 2, 2012
This was great! Best performance I've ever seen James Franco give.
Page 1 of 8