The Road Home (Wo de fu qin mu qin) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Road Home (Wo de fu qin mu qin) Reviews

Page 1 of 32
April 24, 2018
one of the most beautiful movies you'll ever see. tenderly romantic, just wonderful. My favorite movie.
January 7, 2018
Saw this back in 2003. It was moving and inspired me. In short it was a beautiful love story.
March 7, 2017
Zhang Yimou at his best. Nuanced, simple, and beautiful.
Super Reviewer
November 20, 2016
Finally got round to watching this 15-year-old film. Very touching, well-directed, sumptuously filmed story of young love. If you are tired of seeing Chinese films that bring out the worst in people (corruption, abuse of power, greed, injustice), then you should watch this. I found the plot of The Story of Qiu Ju???????a bit more interesting though, but The Road Home is more beautiful to watch. Zhang Ziyi is very lovable here.
February 11, 2015
lis more ave deey why
September 9, 2014
As every good movie, it starts a bit slow, but at the end everything makes sense and makes you think about true love. At the end u r left with a smile and tears rolling down your face. You are able to experience a true love story filled with the innocence of true love.
January 15, 2014
My Favorite Film Is 1941's Citizen Kane.
January 15, 2014
a sweet movie with interesting Chinese traditions and a love story to remind us that our parents were also young people who fell in love :)
October 18, 2013
I absolutely love this movie. Yes, it can be slow, but if you give it your full attention, this sweet story will take your heart. It is a love story that is able to show love without any physical romance.
July 23, 2013
One of the few films to actually make me cry. An excellent, uplifting movie for all ages.
July 4, 2013
Exquisitely beautiful and simple love story!
June 28, 2013
Such a beautiful, simple love story. The cinematography is amazing, and shows that Zhang Yimou is a master in the use of color in film. This is a short, but perfect movie. I'd recommend it to anyone.
½ June 15, 2013
This is romance story, set in a Chinese village. The time period is perhaps a few years after World War II. A new, young, male teacher arrives to work in a remote rural village. A gradual romance begins between the teacher and a beautiful, young, local woman. She is Di (Ziyi Zhang). This is her first film. The woman is very beautiful and a very good actress. The story is told in flashback from the present. The old, long serving teacher has recently died. His son returns from the city to see to his burial. And, the story of his parents romance unfolds. I wanted to see this movie by director, Yimou Zhang. I figured it would provide some insight into Chinese culture. The story was a modest one. It seemed to be designed for a domestic Chinese audience. Themes of loyalty, love, self-sacrifice, devotion, and child fealty are explored.

Its a small film. I enjoyed it as a straight forward, simple movie.
January 20, 2013
Amazing story telling and what a moving piece of music
December 7, 2012
Will have to watch this one. Not necassarily good or bad. Will see. Want to watch!
September 13, 2012
I'm not very sentimental, but this film almost got to me, which is more than what most films do. Again Zhang Yimou gives us a beautiful looking film, but I feel this one has a little more heart than his others. I thought this was a wonderful film about love and respect and honoring love and respect.
Super Reviewer
July 25, 2012
Another gorgeous and well layered epic from Yimou. Zhang brings out the colour in ordinary folk and make them people that we would want to encounter in our lives.
June 8, 2012
Who needs special effects and Hollywood actors when you have an awesome story to tell? This is definitely worth watching!
May 7, 2012
beautiful movie about love, and relationships between mother & son, father & son, and husband and wife, and people with their community. very touching.
½ May 6, 2012
I adored this movie right when I first saw it. Even though I agree it?s a very slow paced film. It also is very genuine and pure. Only for those who can see a film for all it can offer, if this is you then this movie has more then enough to offer to make it worth the title of beautiful.
Page 1 of 32