Screamers - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Screamers Reviews

Page 1 of 23
February 28, 2019
Predictable B-movie.
November 9, 2018
Cheesy low budget "Aliens" rip-off, which was incidentally co-written by Dan O'Bannon, who co-wrote the original "Alien" film, and was based off of the Philip K. Dick short story "Second Variety." In the distant future, a war has ravaged for years mining planet, until human devise the perfect weapon for fight their enemies. A hoard of small burrowing, self replicating robots, the titular Screamer, to kill off their enemies. Unfortunately the Screamers evolve on their own and are now determined to end ALL life on the planet. Peter Weller leads a small military group on a dangerous mission to cross a deadly area filled with Screamers to negotiate a peace settlement. The ragtag team finds unexpected human survivors, run low on supplies, and experience all sorts of siege film cliches done much better elsewhere. Besides Weller, Jennifer Rubin and Bruce Boa also provide familiar faces for this trite and rather dull sci-fi film. Overall, feel free to skip this one and don't feel guilty about it. Dullsville all around.
Super Reviewer
October 25, 2018
Unfortunately, not quite the movie I remember it being when I was a kid. Not bad, even worth watching, especially for Peter Weller, but I think I had made a better version of it in my head in the twenty years since the last time I watched it, so this re-visit was a little disappointing.
May 13, 2018
It's time to get your nerd on!

Another sci-fi creature flick I remember growing up, based on the Phillip K. Dick story entitled "Second Variety." The film's screenplay was penned in part by the uber-nerdy Dan O'Bannon, who helped create the germ that would eventually become Ridley Scott's "Alien."

Starring in the film is Peter Weller (as Colonel Joseph Hendricksson, he's from "RoboCop"), Jennifer Rubin (as Jessica Hansen, she's from "A Nightmare on Elm Street 3: Dream Warriors), and Roy Dupuis (as the cheese-ball, Becker).

"Screamers" is heavy on backstory, and has to do with two factions of humanity living on a backwater planet called Sirius 6B, The Alliance and the N.E.B. (New Economic Bloc) who are at war with each other--who really knows why--It has to do with radiation and nukes, I think.

In order to protect against invaders, the Alliance created Autonomous Mobile Swords, also known as Screamers. They got their name because of the squealing sound they make as they approach their target.

Alliance soldiers wear tags to keep themselves safe from the Screamers. Those who are not wearing their tags, are quickly dismembered and killed.

I should mention that the first type of Screamers borrow underground. It's reminiscent of the Graboids from "Tremors."

It's revealed as the film progresses that there are two more type of Screamers, some disguised as soldiers and others as little boys (Davids). Whoever is really behind the Screamers wants to wipe out all the humans on the crappy planet the film takes place on.

"Screamers" covers themes such as paranoia and how technology can actually do more harm than good.

So what did I think of it...hmmm...

Well, "Screamers" is both good and kinda meh.

As I stated above, the story is deep, but the film spends too much screen time explaining everything that I nearly fell asleep. Seriously? Show don't tell, c'mon!

On the other hand, the acting is decent, and Peter Weller does a good job, except for some of his line deliveries feel weird at times. Jennifer Rubin is alright, too.

The effects are sub-par, but there was a cool scene with a wonky stop motion Screamer. It's a low budget sci-fi flick from 1995, so you can imagine...

There's enough action happening to keep the audience interested, but the middle is pretty dry and boring. The highlights would be: the tense scene in the command center, the return to the Alliance base, and the final conflict between Henricksson and his old friend, Chuck.

Let's put it this way, if you like your sci-fi horror with a large side of silly, this one's for you. Funny thing is, they play it completely straight in the movie.

Have fun!
October 24, 2017
An entertaining little sci-fi/ horror flick. The story is actually really interesting and has some similarities to The Thing. While the acting may not be great, it does enough to get you invested in the story and enjoy the film. Certainly worth a watch for fans of the genre.
½ November 20, 2016
Screamers is a decent film. It is about a distant mining planet ravaged by a decade of war and scientists creating the perfect weapon: a blade-wielding, self-replicating race of killing devices. Peter Weller and Jennifer Rubin give good performances. The screenplay is well written. Christian Duguay did an alright job directing this movie. I liked this motion picture because of the mystery and thrills.
½ October 20, 2016
In the future on a distant planet the Earth military battles the former employees of a mining operation. One tool the military has used are shape-shifting killer robots which have now gone rogue and kill everyone. After it has been discovered both forces commands have abandoned the war and have moved it to another planet, the few remaining soldiers attempt to return to earth. The source material is from the same guy who gave us Blade Runner and Total Recall, but this is nowhere on that level Nor on the level of Minority Report,.which kinda sucks).
September 15, 2016
- No not those kind of screamers. Get your mind out of the gutter. The military-designed underground killing machines with saw blades for teeth, duh.
- Based on a short story by Philip K Dick. Score.
- Well. Starting a movie off with a good old fashioned dismemberment is always a fine idea.
- I think they spent a good $50 on this set.
- $40 of which was for smokes.
- Best line of the movie: "Aw, get your head outta the lilacs, man!"
- Special "red" cigarettes neutralize radiation poisoning. Huh.
- Aw, what a cute kid. And by cute I really mean creepy as hell.
- Said to a rock in surprise as it grabbed his hand: "If you're gonna be a rock...be a rock! Don't be a bug!"
- Normal kids don't have that much machinery in them, do they?
- Or teeth, right? I mean, that's really an excessive amount of teeth for a small child.
- "Whassamatter Ross? Rat got yer tongue?"
- Damnit Ross! You blew up the only remaining command console.
- Well, Ross is gone. And wouldn't you know it...not a Screamer.
- Whoa. That's a lot of small children each with excessive amounts of machinery and teeth.
- Well, down to 2 last people on the planet. That escape pod's looking mighty inviting right about now.
- Yay! Jamming the knife in the circuit box and wiggling it around made the thing work again!
- There was a lot of mechanical screaming during this movie. My dogs were not amused. I'm guessing neither were the neighbors.
August 7, 2016
90's Sci-Fi at it's finest. Dark, gritty, dramatic and drab.
March 28, 2016
Actually great sci fi came across early much like the p k dick story the movie somewhere lbetween dune mixed with
robocop, alien and village of the damned
½ February 12, 2016
One of those movies that bombed on its initial release both at the box office and critically, Screamers has become somewhat of a cult favorite. It has a pretty interesting premise, though most of the movies faults are just with how cheap it looks and feels. Looking past the horrible mid-90s CGI, everything has bad TV show-like lighting and the direction is pretty flat and lacking energy.

Despite this, Peter Weller is pretty entertaining and the movie does make for a decent Invasion of the Body Snatchers/The Thing style of sci-fi horror. If it were shorter (it's unnecessarily long), it might be better. Still, it's fine for a late night watch. It's one of those rare movies that if you have no expectations, it's great. However, if you have some expectations, then you'll likely not enjoy this movie.
September 7, 2015
Bleak sci-fi effort with well-worn theme of man waging war against the machines for survival on post-nuclear planet. The reliable Dan O'Bannon was co-writer, which is a good start. Maybe one too many twists in the end but entertaining enough from beginning to end.
½ May 9, 2015
An admirable sci-fi flick with a ultra cool feel of the villainous titular characters. Weller does well along side an original story and decent directing. But it takes awhile to payoff and certain action scenes seemed borrowed from other good sci-fi films.
½ April 25, 2015
Looks good in parts but throughout I was left with that"what the hell is going on'confusion.
November 11, 2014
I loved the old school effects in this film in particular the animatronic Screamers and Matte Backdrops, though the director loses his way with screen direction as the survivors wander between compounds,has a sloppy final act and the screamers master plan maybe should have worked more efficiently earlier than what happens within.
½ October 10, 2014
A Boring And Bland Sci-Fi/Horror, Which Involves Man-Made Machines, Evolving Into Killers On A Deserted Mining Planet. The Film Itself Has A Small Amount Of Action Scenes But For The Most Part It's A Journey With Characters That The Viewers Couldn't Really Care Less About. The Screenplay & Script Are Terrible. But For Some Reason The Cast Performances Aren't As Bad As What You'd Expect From A Screenplay This Bad. The Film Was Too Long And Too Slow. Slow Films Work When There's An Effective Atmosphere Or Tension But This Has None Of These. Leaving The Viewer With A Boring Tale Of Survivors On A Near Deserted Planet Which Doesn't Make Much Sense.
March 17, 2014
one of my favourite b movies from the 90s
March 13, 2014
One of my favorite sci-fi horror films
March 6, 2014
An interesting and original scifi that builds up suspense and an dystopian atmosphere. Low-budget movie but with a really good storyline, good cast and generally well made. I consider this movie a scifi classic - a must see for every scifi fanatic...
January 5, 2014
Standard stuff any scifi horror buff will have seen before in better films.
Page 1 of 23