The Specialist - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Specialist Reviews

Page 1 of 34
March 9, 2019
Love it , great cast
½ March 8, 2019
The opening scene is a great entrance to the film and i was stoked, but the opening was followed by an obvious, cliche plot and 2D characters.
January 31, 2019
Worth watching for James' Woods scenery munching performance, Stone and Stallone's clunky romance and Rod Steiger's impenetrable Cuban accent. Cheese of the highest order.
October 11, 2018
Typical Sylvester Stallone movie from the mid 90s a lot of violence and explosions. A great movie if you are a fan of sly. If not it's just another generic action movie. 3/5
July 17, 2018
You can file this film under Enjoyably bad. It is oddly a pretty enjoyable movie warts and all.
This was made during the boom of erotic thrillers of the 90's and at the time Sharon Stone was at the top of the bill. Pairing her with Sly Stallone for an erotic thriller was a step too far for his fans and hers but nowadays it adds a bit of charm.

The tones of this film are all over the place and it uncomfortably jumps between cable TV eroticism to hitman movie and does neither particularly well.
James Woods saves the day with an over the top villain that is fun to watch for the brief scenes he has.

The main problem here is Stallone who is clearly out of his comfort zone and it shows. The film starts with teasing telephone conversations between himself and Stone, with the intent to build the sexual tension, It does not. We just get a series of embarrassing semi nude scenes that are more funny than sexy!
They both, very oddly are undressing while talking on the phone? The pair had no chemistry during these scenes and when they finally meet up for a shower room scene...my, oh my is it bad. Both of them look very uncomfortable and the scene is one of the worst love scenes you will ever see, cringe worthy.but a must.

Stone was at the the peak of her box office appeal when this was made but she is criminally underused. Her storyline about infiltrating the mob and plotting to kill them should have been the central focus of the movie but is pushed aside and she is reduced to eye candy.
She seduces the mob bosses son and slowly plots to kill them by hiring a hitman. Her motivation is clear as we see flashbacks involving the mobsters killing her family but the film moves its focus to Sly's "specialist".
He is a bomb expert who worked with James Woods but is now a contract killer that only kills bad guys, i presume!?
Woods his old partner, who went rogue on a mission, seen through more flashbacks is now a mercenary that does security for mobsters?! adding to a confused and convoluted plot.

The film eventually ditches the erotic thriller vehicle and moves into a cat and mouse game between Sly and James Woods that is pretty fun for the last hour of the movie.
Stone holds her own in her scenes with Woods and eventually they would both star in a better film, Casino.

Overall this film as i said is enjoyably bad due to the all star cast and some mind boggling scenes, one involving Stallone on a bus, apparently keeping the peace by throwing a man through a bus window?! bizarre choice.
They don't make films like this anymore but this is a guilty pleasure for 90s fans.
June 26, 2018
The specialist is no citizen Kane, in fact it isn't even in the same ballpark as the great action movies of the 90s, but it is a serviceable movie with a dashing lead and a gorgeous femme fatale of a leading lady in Sylvester Stallone and Sharon Stone respectively. Shot deftly by Peruvian director Luis Llosa the film falters if you try to think too much- which is what the critics at the time did. Stallone is beefy enough and still in his prime to run around Miami and the likes with Stone in tow. You should watch the Specialist if you happen to belong in the following two categories: a.) Fans of Sylvester Stallone; b.) Nostalgic need for older action films.
½ June 25, 2018
Laughably bad. It was hard to get to the end....
Super Reviewer
June 4, 2018
A bomber makes for about as heroic a protagonist as you might expect. There is no reason to put yourself through the plodding pretentiousness of The Specialist unless you, like I was, are on some sort of quest to watch the entire 80s-90s Stallone filography.
September 1, 2017
Can't believe no one else thinks this movie is SPECIAL...Woods is Brilliant, Sly is Slick and Stone is Smashing in this Avenging Sweet Revenge Action Flick. And Eric Roberts...OMG YUM YUM.
February 12, 2017
Serviceable af. If you're in the mood for this sorta thing it'll hit the spot.
January 22, 2017
Hilariously bad, yet oddly alluring. It's like watching a train wreck; you can't turn your eyes away, and prime Sharon Stone is always a pretty sight.
January 19, 2017
One of those cheesy, overdone sexy action films from the mid 90s. Saving graces are James Woods gonzo performance and Rod Steiger's terrible Cuban accent. The rest is forgettable.
½ November 27, 2016
Dumb...totally dumb and idiotic. The only reason I'm giving a half star is due to incredible performance of James Woods which never fail my expectation. But storyline, acting, action, climax are pure trash. The acting...totally wooden except for James Woods. I wouldn't waste my time on this, 1/2 star
November 24, 2016
It was a decent movie. The plot was basic but had a good supporting cast, especially James Woods. The explosions were very well done. The overall movie was predictable.
jamrcla
Super Reviewer
½ July 30, 2016
A solid underrated Stallone flick with some cool explosions so what's not to enjoy?, Ok the acting and on screen chemistry with Stone and Stallone wasn't great but you don't go into a Stallone film expecting it to have Oscar winning acting, Having said that James Woods played a pretty good villain but you watch these films to enjoy yourself and that's what you get with this film, It's a slow burner but soon picks up, Worth watching for any Stallone fan.
July 16, 2016
Very entertaining. Excellent cast. Rod Steiger is awesome!
½ June 30, 2016
6/30/2016: A mildly entertaining 90's action movie with a good cast. Stone looked amazing!
April 3, 2016
in the love scene SS looks like he thinks Sharon's neck is a forned beef sandwich
½ January 31, 2016
That seat's taken.

An ex-girlfriend calls her ex-boyfriend and claims to have had her family killed by the mafia. The ex-boyfriend is a former bomb expert for a tactical force but he has retired. He reluctantly begins helping the girl only to find himself caught between the mafia and police officers working for the mafia.

"You know, the next time you order a hit you might want to consider taking out your decorator."

Luis Llosa, director of Sniper, Anaconda, Fire on the Amazon, The Feast of the Goat, and Crime Zone, delivers The Specialist. The storyline for this picture is very straightforward and unimaginative. The action scenes are just okay and the characters are mediocre. The cast delivers average performances and the cast includes Sylvester Stallone, Sharon Stone, James Woods, Eric Roberts, and Rod Stieger.

"Anybody shoots and I shoot them."

I recently came across this on Netflix and decided to watch it again for the first time in a long time. I never thought this was anything special and having watched it again...I now know why. Overall, this is a very average addition to the action genre.

"That's new."

Grade: C
October 20, 2015
I suppose there's a reason why I never heard of this movie. All the cool explosions and Sharon Stone's sexy legs couldn't save this one. Heck, not even James Woods being his usual smarmy self made me like this one. The horrible plot combined with the ridiculous romantic subplot is what killed this. No doubt Sly Stallone's worst outing, blegh.
Page 1 of 34