Road House - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Road House Reviews

Page 1 of 135
March 26, 2019
This is peak Swayze.
March 10, 2019
Basically a modern western.
½ February 1, 2019
I rated this too high. You know it... I know it... but I couldn't help myself anymore than I can help but watch it if I come across it flipping through the channels.
January 9, 2019
Dudeeeee. Awesome old school action and violence that was so freaking dope and totally not 35% !!!! Man haters gonna hate swayze is the man here
October 11, 2018
Great 80s film all the way around!
October 8, 2018
I probably got a biased point of view concerning this movie. Well it's part of the one I watched as a kid, and still today when I watched it I find it awesome, funny, classy with legend Patrick Swayze and Sam Elliott. Road House is awesome, one of the best of Swayze for sure.
July 17, 2018
Brilliant classic film that can be watched again and again, only feminist and men with no balls would not like this film, but it's a brilliant watch with a good story, take no notice of the liberal critics, pathetic
July 15, 2018
Cheezy but still awesome
July 3, 2018
Not sure why its called road house, in any case its so bad its almost good. Def a guys guy movie. The soundtrack is pretty bad, the script is awful, and the plot is over the top n not believable (where were the cops or insurance companies)? It is 80s cheese galore with plenty of tanned blonde white women with fake boobs strutting around. What I loved was the 80s aesthetic mansion (minus the trophy room) n the converted barn over the lake was beautiful. There is also tons of fist fighting and some rather gruesome fights towards the end. I pretty much shut my brain off for this movie and enjoyed it for what it was good guy vs. bad guy.
½ April 25, 2018
Patrick Swayze being hunky cleaning up thugs in a bar.
10 words exactly!

Pure 80s fighting movie with a bit of flesh tossed in here and there, set in a community that's run by the local rich bully.
Watch it with a cold beer & pizza after a long week, no thinking required.
½ December 28, 2017
Top notch 80s entertainment. The film is basically an updated version of the old western, hired gunslinger comes to town to take out the trash with a modern twist.
What's great about this movie is they simply do not make them anymore, it is a film from another time...when muscles ruled the world!

The film is fun, action packed and entertainingly over the top.
Sam Elliott adds some cool but the film is Swayze's.

A cult classic that made the rounds in the video rental days.
November 18, 2017
One of my favorite movies (director's cut) .. an occult classic, though to many a ridiculous film. First off - I love the '80's, their movies, edgy styles and experimental music. Second, The Jeff Healey Band, was off the hook !! and really gave the movie an edge. Swayze's character is both tough and laid back, explosive and philosophical. I dug the Cali filming locations, especially scenes w/ the Kings River, which ran between Swayze's barn and Brad Westley's mansion. This movie has it all: sex appeal, violence, a spiritual / philosophical element mixed w/ tough guy antics, plus an underlying humor (comedy). It did a great job wrapping up the very unique 1980's genre (sparing us the retarded '90's). This film was a gem in my opinion.
November 11, 2017
Patrick Swayze reaches the pinnacle of small town tavern based story telling in this savage action based narrative. I don't care what those jealous hipster critics say, Swayze shows he is more than a PhD educated bouncer by packing the excess space in the zipper/crotch and leg area in his mom jeans, ripping the throat from small town corruption, and gives the viewer a roundhouse kick to the heart.
September 16, 2017
Not best at bet, but better yet, a dull triumph.
August 25, 2017
So the critics didn't like ROAD HOUSE... What else do they get wrong? I liked it. I bought it.
August 10, 2017
Utimate guy movie about a bouncer who kicks major ass at a nightclub in Kansas City. Ben Gazzara is so awesome in this movie. If it wasn't for him I don't think I would like it. Swayze is okay. He never could act. Talk about it being shown over and over again on cable. It used to be a goto movie for cable in the 90's. Very good movie.
August 4, 2017
Good classic bar fighting movie starring Patrick swayze. I had a blast with this movie, I don't know why the critics hate on this movie. Of course it's not a masterpiece but i had fun with the fight sequences and to me that creates a memorable movie. I will definitely watch this movie again and I am going to give it a classic, it will be a classic in my mind forever.
July 14, 2017
I rank you among the dumbest of American society if you give this film anything other than 100%. It's the best movie.
½ June 23, 2017
Some might call Road House one of the worst movies ever made, and they would be both right and wrong in that estimation. The movie is a conundrum, because it's entertaining on the most basic of levels but yet you still want to hate on it. It's has all of the essential 80's movie ingredients (stylized violence, big hair, strippers, monster trucks, etc), but it also has a sort of western vibe to it with the hero coming to town to save it from an evil overlord. Unfortunately, it just doesn't really work all that well... but yet it does. I can't say that it's amazing or a classic, but it's definitely an interesting watch, and somewhat entertaining. It's just nice to see some hardcore violence that doesn't wuss out in a mainstream movie. I really miss that.
Page 1 of 135