Invasion of the Body Snatchers - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Invasion of the Body Snatchers Reviews

Page 1 of 69
March 1, 2019
A good remake, but overlong and meanders too much. However, the ending - the very ending, shocked and scared the hell out of me!
½ January 29, 2019
It is very rare for a remake to hit the mark (or even surpass) the original. However, this version does exactly that. The metaphor for human conformity and great acting, makes this a near perfect movie. Get ready for one of the most chilling finales ever put to film. The screeching of the Body Snatchers are sure to keep you up at night.
January 16, 2019
Great acting and building of suspense. Plays on a truly terrifying concept about the loss of identity with an invading alien force.
December 31, 2018
The remake not only refreshes the story, it had given it a timely modern update to the frightening chills for meeting expectations while adding clearer twists and expanded thematic approach in the retained sharpness, therefore a standardized example of how remakes can be truly effective in an actual functioning matter. (B+)

(Full review TBD)
December 13, 2018
Scary in the most mysterious way
November 15, 2018
Very interesting and creepy. Must-see film.
Super Reviewer
½ November 2, 2018
Ah, here we are, at the end of another October horror fest. We certainly started off on an incredibly high note with Hereditary and, while we're not quite there with this movie, we certainly also close it off on a high note as well, particularly with how bad Prom Night actually was. And, of course, some of you might say that this really shouldn't fit within the month, given that it's more a paranoid conspiracy sci-fi thriller as opposed to full-on horror. But, once again, if I can make the case for Monster Family being a part of the horror fest then, surely, I can make a more legitimate case for this movie. In many ways, this reminds me of The Thing (which is one of my favorite horror movies of all time) in that it focuses on a similar approach to its...villains in that whatever it is that's going on, it takes the form of other humans, with the only perceptible change being the fact that, in this movie, they are emotionless substitutes. In The Thing, the changes are imperceptible, with the creature being able to fully assimilate the person's personality. In this case, however, this being substitutes them and the personality changes are noticeable, the physical remains exactly the same. The thing, pardon the pun, that works to me about this is that it plays with the concept of trust and, in a world like this, you really cannot trust anybody. The original Invasion played with this concept excellently, as it was an obvious political allegory to the McCarthy days, where people were so paranoid that their neighbors might be communist spies that accusations were thrown around with no real reasoning or evidence. This movie, however, doesn't have that element given that it is 1978 and, thankfully, the McCarthy era has been long gone by this point. The point I'm trying to make is that I love concepts like this, where you cannot trust anybody, even someone you may have known for decades, because they could have been substituted by one of these pod people. I do think, however, that the movie lays this on too thick at first. Elizabeth is in a relationship with this man and, of course, this man is taken over by the pod people. Elizabeth, to me, makes such a big deal about this without any real evidence to suggest that there's some sort of conspiracy. I mean, of course, there is some sort of 'conspiracy' going on, if you can call it that, but for Elizabeth to start blathering about it so, relatively, early on in the movie feels like a bit too much when she, literally, doesn't know anything about what's happening. Or, at least she's supposed to not be able to know what's happening, it's just that her guesses are so on the point that I found that, honestly, to be a case of too much, too soon. Elizabeth says that it's not Geoffrey, it's everyone that she sees has the same expressionless faces. Her boyfriend, Geoffrey, has been meeting with strange people that Elizabeth does not know. So, naturally, there has to be some sort of conspiracy going on here where people have been changed, right? Like I said, Elizabeth is obviously right in the long run, but I feel that it's too much for her to know, too early. I would have liked there to have been a little more guesswork involved as opposed to, almost immediately, hitting on what it is that's going on, despite no one believing her. I feel like this is something that, a lot of people, might feel is minor, and I'm not saying that it completely destroys the movie, but it does detract from it a bit. I suppose that's neither here nor there, I guess, given that I still very much enjoyed this movie. Later on, of course, Elizabeth's colleague, friend and love interest believes her once he sees Jack's second body being...grown at his Jack's wife's bathhouse. And, of course, Matthew finds Elizabeth's duplicate body being grown at her boyfriend's apartment as well. It's kind of difficult to argue against that kind of evidence, I think. Eventually, after this, it becomes the group's attempts to keep away from these pod people, who shriek loudly whenever they're in the presence of someone who's human. I think that part of what I liked about this movie is the fact that there's a certain inevitability of it all. There is no avoiding the fact that, sooner or later, you will become a pod person. Avoiding them by pretending to be emotionless is very doable, but not sleeping is gonna be impossible. Eventually the body is gonna shut down. The pod people fully take over when their 'host' has been sleeping for quite some time. Elizabeth, Jack, Nancy and Matthew are all fighting against this and, you know that, despite how hard they may try, they're not gonna avoid this. It's only a matter of time. For some reason, though, I like that. The futility of it all. With that said, this movie is exactly perfect. And, realistically speaking, no film ever is. I just think that the pacing off the movie is a little bit inconsistent. It feels like it goes on longer than it probably should and there's some self-indulgences that probably could have been cut out in order to make the film feel a little less cluttered. The script doesn't always do a great job at making things clear to you. Not that they have to explain everything, that's not my point, but sometimes you're not exactly sure how certain things happened and the scripting doesn't do an amazing job at, at least, giving you enough pieces for you to piece together. These are, really, minor complaints, as I still thought this was a damn good movie. The lead cast is tremendous. Donald Sutherland, Brooke Adams, Leonard Nimoy, Jeff Goldblum and Veronica Cartwright all deliver the goods. It also helps that their characters are really well-written. The film also has a great ending. Perhaps it's not shocking, given that THAT scene has become a meme, but it's still a great ending nonetheless and, once again, it plays into the futility of it all. And the only human character that is left standing will, inevitably, fall victim to the pod people and they will, seemingly, take over the U.S. I don't know what else to say, it's not a perfect movie by any means, but this is still a damn good remake that, in spite of its flaws, still holds up quite well all things considered. This is obviously not gonna be for everybody, but I would still give this an easy recommendation. At least we ended the horror fest on a, relatively, high note. Not as high as how we started it, but still a high note nonetheless.
October 13, 2018
Employing gritty camerawork and evocative sound effects, Invasion of the Body Snatchers is a powerful remake that expands upon themes and ideas only lightly explored in the original.
½ September 21, 2018
The scares (namely the jump scares) no longer work on current audiences. But still, there's a nice story and a great ending to look forward to in Invasion of the Body Snatchers. The sound effects and visual effects are advanced for their time and really help establish the suspense. The acting is great led by Donald Sutherland.
September 1, 2018
I really expected this to be a dated cheesy movie I'd get a kick out of making fun of but now find it impossible not to watch every time I come across it on TV. It draws you in as the creepiness develops and you follow the characters along as they realize the inevitability of their demise as they do their best to fight to survive to the last. Young Veronica Cartwright and Jeff Goldbloom are lovely to see and the leads, Donald Sutherland and Brooke Adams are compelling and charismatic.
½ July 15, 2018
Invasion of the Body Snatchers works well, constantly twisting and turning, more unpredictable than you probably predicted it would be. It's got some nice central performances, especially by Sutherland, who makes the movie vastly more interesting, and even though it is a little slow and doesn't have much action at all in the first half, it does lead up to an intense finale and a creepy last scene. It's a mystery that deserves to be seen by sci-fi and horror fans, even though it isn't actually as scary as it think it is. But it works well with its budget and actors, and Amazing Grace on the bagpipes is one of the best things to ever hear. Like, ever.
May 13, 2018
A health inspector tells her boss about her husband's sudden change of behavior and his strange doings. The boss notices several other oddities over the course of his days as he passes through the city. Upon further investigation he notices the similarly affected gathering and exchanging items. A chilling, paranoia-inducing film which could be used as an allegory for political movements. A solid cast including, Donald Sutherland, Jeff Goldblum, and Leonard Nimoy, with cameos by Kevin Mccarthy and Robert Duvall along with Michael Chapman, cinematographer on Taxi Driver, Raging Bull, The Fugitive, and Primal Fear, ensures this Philip Kaufman-directed horror is presented effectively. The version I have posses terrible audio-quality which affects the enjoyment of the movie; part of the chilling eeriness is supposed to be derived from the sound. For example, the decrease in natural sounds, such as dogs barking or birds chirping, as the film progresses or the famous horrifying pod-scream. A timeless psychological-horror which 1970's gritty film style only adds to its impact.
½ April 15, 2018
An extremely rare case of a remake that is almost better than the original, Invasion of the Body Snatchers proves how a 70's movie can be relevant and scary even nowadays, passing the test of time thanks to brilliant photography, cinematography, acting, writing, production and concept.
April 1, 2018
How Alien snatches bodies
½ March 15, 2018
Remake done 22 years after the original with the same name. Some plants are making weird stuff happen. When you sleep, you are transformed into some clone of yourself while your original "you" dies. The clone is cold and expressionless.

When our gang, with Donald Sutherland and Brooke Adams in front is fighting this evil, most likely from space. They got a young Jeff Goldblum and a not so old Leonard Nimoy on their team, but who are friends and who are foes?

Pretty creepy but I find it hard to buy the story. Some weird turns and it's like a slow hunt with some shockers here and there. Some gore and brutality wrapped up in some very creepy sound effects. The effects are generally fine but I never felt this film.

The original is probably better, but I've hear that this one is pretty close to it while the two newer remakes seem pretty bad.

5 out of 10 pods.
January 8, 2018
3.4/5

There were moments were I couldnt help but think of John Carpenters The Thing, mainly because the grotesque effects have a similar aesthetic, but also because I missed the tension and the horror that that film provided, all because the characters and situations in Invasion of the Body Snatchers arent nearly as interesting or emotional as the obvious paranoia subtext believes them to be.
December 19, 2017
One of the most beautiful, eerie, disorienting, and ethereal openings ever in a movie. I still don't know what the hell was being filmed. It looks like bacteria or some fungus you would see crawling through a microscope.

What an amazing soundtrack. The use of strings contrasted with eerie and ominous synth sounds, makes for a very interesting collage of sounds. That one pulsating sound is one of the most unnerving and uneasy sounds I've heard come from a synth.

Right from the get go, I knew this was going to be one creepy movie. The scene with the priest swinging on a swing set was already something that made me question everything that was about to unfold in the movie. The San Francisco setting makes it lovely to watch. I wish to one day, visit this amazing city.

Donald Sutherland is always fun to watch. He has this very nonchalant and cool way of doing things while acting that makes for a very interesting and entertaining watch. His charm is also very contagious. Brooke Adams is so cute and lovely. Seeing a lightning quick cameo of Martin Scorsese was awesome. Could barely make out who it was but with a beard like that, impossible to not recognize. I think there was even a 2001: Space Odyssey reference when Sutherland's character says, "David, your killing me".

What a terrifying feeling it must be to be to know that people are changing and their not their usual selves. I think it's pretty clever how the garbage men are the ones who take away the bodies. The pod scene in the backyard was one of the most terrifying, uneasy, and uncomfortable scenes to watch. Who knew birth could be so fucking twisted. The part with the dog that has the face of a man, pretty fucked up stuff. Left me scarred.

The camera work and cinematography is wonderful. It compliments what is being shown and makes a scene or shot that much more interesting to watch. The use of lighting is brilliant in this movie. Reminds me a lot of The Exorcist. The special effects were great.

What a great twist at the end. While your watching it, you're not really sure of the situation but when you hear the shriek at the end, everything comes to a terrifyingly twisty conclusion.

Overall, brilliant film. Wonderfully written and acted with a terrifying story that reminds us that what makes us human, are our emotions and our care ad love for one another. Once that is gone, we're pretty much alien to this world.
October 22, 2017
That should be rated r!
October 7, 2017
In my experiences, movie remakes have usually been inferior to the originals. On rare occasions, however, I come across a remake which improves upon the original version. While this isn't one of those instances, it was still a great film as it captured the different aspects which made the original film so good such as not showing anybody being taken over by the aliens throughout the first act, maintaining a claustrophobic atmosphere throughout the 2nd half, and containing an unsettling ending (which, to be honest, was better than the one from the '56 version). On top of that, I also liked the acting and the special effects. Despite this, however, I still prefer the original version, because, while this version captured the strengths of the original film, I don't think it had enough additional strengths to make it an improved version. It's still an outstanding remake though.
½ September 8, 2017
The sound work is great and most the cinematography is good, but the predictable story is has done been to death and the characters are nothing special especially today. The movie was great for it's time, but it hasn't aged well at all.
Page 1 of 69