Disney's A Christmas Carol - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Disney's A Christmas Carol Reviews

Page 1 of 703
½ January 24, 2019
Very interesting. It has all the elements of a Christmas Carol, and yet feels like a fresh take on the story. It might be too dark in some scenes, and it fails to make someone to laugh in its 'funny' scenes. Like dark films? This is one to take a look at. Children should watch it, so they can get a scare of a life time.
January 14, 2019
Story they told was very true to the book. The problem is with the animation. Too awkward. Would have been better to do it without animation, and live action.
December 29, 2018
Academy Award winning director Robert Zemeckis' take on Charles Dickens classic story of Christmas is actually quite good. There are better ones, like the made for television adaptation staring the late George C. Scott, and there have been worse ones such as an animated adaptation with the late Walter Matthau as the voice of Ebeneezer Scrooge with the stupid title "The Stingiest Man in Town". The animation is excellent and Zemiecks, who also adapted Dickens' novel to the screen, does a good job in staying faithful to the source material. My problem with it is the embellishments. Every adaptation of this series has them, but I think here they were more of a liability. They seems to drag the movie down and slow its pace. However once it gets back on track, it is very enjoyable. If you have not made time during your Christmas celebration to see this very well done and entertaining film. I suggest you do.
½ December 14, 2018
this a good film giving the story into a animation was a smart idea although it is not better then the classics it is better then some a great film
December 12, 2018
I had heard about the book but I did not know anything about this movie, but I watched it with some friends and omg I did not like this movie at all. The visuals is horrible with qwerky animation and CGI. The dialogue and the characters are cringeworthy to look at and hear. It's also a mixture of a lot of tones such as Comedy, Horror and Christmas. And it's waaay to dark for a Christmas movie. The only good thing about this movie is that the ending is fine and the character arc of Scrooge is good. Also the main story is somewhat interesting. But however the storytelling is poor and the script is bland. And the directing just sucks. But the worst thing is that the horrible animation and qwerky characters with poor cgi and dialogue makes it so horrific to watch. It's barely anything about Christmas in this movie either. It does not fit as a Christmas movie and the tones does not work together at all. I also find the voices very annoying even tho it's good actors. So DON'T watch this movie, only if you like the book.
December 6, 2018
Disney's A Christmas Carol is my Favorite version! It's a live-action-captured-animation starring Jim Carrey who is excellent and in top form.. The terrific score by Alan Silvestri combined with some spectacular animation and a fine supporting cast makes for a great family evening (for folks 9 and older-it's a little extra scary in parts). Be sure to linger for the the end-credits featured song GOD BLESS US EVERYONE! sung by Andrea Bocelli and choir. I sing this at the conclusion of all my Fall / Advent missions. it's stirring! And just plain FUN!
November 29, 2018
A very dark rendition of A Christmas Carol.

Robert Zemeckis knows how to capture your imagination with interesting angles and sweeping shots of London, but this tale gets too dark for a Christmas movie with little redemption. The motion capture work is impeccable and quite lifelike, but the CGI is rather ugly and distracting. I may even go so far as to call it dated.

Jim Carrey is the draw here with his joyous take on multiple characters. He seamlessly goes from person to person with splendid varied voice acting. His motions are very fun as Carrey always comes across. He goes overboard at times, but Carrey will always be the best part of this film.

Gary Oldman is great, Colin Firth is uplifting, Bob Hoskins is energetic, and Cary Elwes is quirky too. I feel like as neat as this supporting cast is, they all get out-shined by Carrey.

In all, Zemeckis made a fun, if grim, Christmas Carol that I feel may get forgotten.
November 16, 2018
The usual "A Christmas Carol" but with better animation than previous versions and wonderful casting. Jim Carrey does fine work as Scrooge and the ghosts.
½ October 19, 2018
I believe this movie remake is unforgettable. But the only thing I don't believe is a couple of flaws with the character's faces and their eyes that are affected by neither light nor snow.
½ August 3, 2018
Like any Robert Zemeckis film, whats good is unbelievably good. I honestly don't mind the motion capture, but it does look weird and very cartoon-y at times that it seems kind of distracting.
May 24, 2018
0 stars. This movie scared me for a good 3 years after my teacher put it on for us to see in second grade. The "ignorant boy" and the "wanted girl" (or something like that) gave me nightmares. What kind of children's movie has feral children and creepy as characters? Don't watch it.
April 12, 2018
Gorgeous and adventurous adaptation of Lewis Carol's timeless story. Disney's A Christmas Carol is to be enjoyed for years to come
March 28, 2018
Visually amazing and the voice cast is terrific. This "A Christmas Carol" adaption is not only stunning but intelligent as well.
February 23, 2018
Excellent voice work from its cast, and better animation than Zemeckis' previous "The Polar Express," add to this fantastic adaptation of Charles Dickens' novel.
½ February 13, 2018
I've seen many Christmas Carol adaptations and a lot of them a pretty light hearted but overall OK for what they are. This movie is by far my favourite adaptation of the book. It's actually incredibly faithful to the book, word for word, dialogue to dialogue, they're both dark but have great atmosphere. I know alot of people who don't like the dark tone of this movie and I can see why, like when the Ghost of Christmas present dies, it shows his skeleton laughing, and yeah it will frighten kids, but that doesn't bother me. It's supposed to have a dark tone because it makes it you appreciate the joy of christmas all the more.

I think Jim Carrey gives off a good performance, pretending to be an old man, but you can notice it's him when he acts more goofy in certain parks. There are a few parts in Carrey's performance I think could've used a re-shoot, like at the doorknob scene when Marley's face appears on it and scares Scrooge, but that's just a nitpick.

I know about the controversy surrounding motion capture and I can see why, but in my opinion, it kind of works for this film. Motion capture is a style of animation in it's own right and every style needs to match the tone of the film and in my opinion motion capture best fits films with a dark and realistic feel to it, so motion capture was a good choice. Also I know Zemeckis only wanted to use motion capture because he likes to exploit cutting edge technology, but like Tintin, I think they wanted to show what the character from the book would look like if they were real people and they do pretty decent job on the designs, especially for Scrooge himself. It's definitely a good update from the creepy uncanny looks from The Polar Express. My one problem with it is that some times the characters move like a cartoon which does sometimes brake the tone.

So overall, it has great visuals, great performances and has a heart warming feel to it. It may be too dark for children, but that doesn't make a bad film.
½ February 4, 2018
Disney's Christmas Carol is absolutely original and innovative and can transmit a strong moral lesson, however the Mickey's Christmas Carol is more advisable to children than this movie, because it will transmit more fear than charm, and it also has a lot of unnecessary action scenes that will only distract and bring boredom to this movie that could have been a Christmas classic.
December 28, 2017
I cannot understand any bad reviews. I think this adaptation is nothing short of remarkable and the special effects are absolutely astounding. The special effects hold their own even for the year 2018 . I'm really happy that I watched this again this Christmas!
December 27, 2017
It is worth a watch as a version of A Christmas Carol that is in certain ways more true to the book. But it is definitely more creepy... both in it's look and in it's content.
December 22, 2017
I saw this years ago when it fist came out and I didn't like it much back then. I will say watching all this time later that I did like it a bit more the second time around. Although, it still has problems (especially with the Ghost of Christmas Future sequence) and is uneven at times. It just felt like it was missing a bit more heart.
Page 1 of 703