The Happening - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Happening Reviews

Page 1 of 1571
April 21, 2019
Tense, exciting and compelling, packed with amazing performances and visual thrills, The Happening is easily Shyamalan at his very best. His directorial debut, The Sixth Sense pales in comparison to this masterpiece. Can't believe it has such a low approval rating.
April 9, 2019
The Happening has a premise that seems reasonable on paper, too bad that it unravels really quickly. The story was incoherent, the acting was irritatingly dreadful just like the script, the directing was messy, and its not scary in the slightest of margins. Actually, its hilarious at how bad this movie is. With an ending/twist which evolves around plants making people commit suicide. WOW! A new low for the once promising director.
½ April 7, 2019
the wallmart version of a "stephen king themed" movie imo. also why is mark wahlberg so bad in this? he is an amazing actor but I just wasn't feeling it in this film at all...
March 25, 2019
I love this movie. I've seen it twice. It's like an extended movie version of a twilight zone episode. Mark Wahlberg and Zooey Deschanel are watchable for me in everything they do. I'm sure it had flaws as a major movie release, but I honestly was creeped out and had to look away at times. I just really enjoyed this movie!
March 22, 2019
I always thought the happening got a bad rap, until today. I just came to realize, I have never finished the movie. I always assumed everyone died, but now watching mark Wahlberg watching the girl take off in the school bus everything is the same except the girl can't talk now and the TV sums up why it happened. The scene of them watching TV is such a cop out. And I realized that they set it up for a sequel. Unfortunately if that were to happen, none of these actors will be in it guaranteed.
March 20, 2019
This is one of the funniest films I have ever seen but it was not intentionally made that way.
March 19, 2019
A fantastic gripping story starting with bees, straight onto the earth defending itself from us polluting humans. With a survival style story. A classic M Night Shyamalan film. Ending with an original cliff hanger.
½ March 19, 2019
Wow. Ive seen some stupid movies before but this has to be worst! Total garbage.
½ March 15, 2019
Mala, la verdad, muchas inconsistencias en la trama. Parece que todo es más bien pretexto para que al final se animen a tener un hijo (WTF)
March 7, 2019
I'm still not sure what's happening

It is truly comical just how terrible this movie is. I mean it is so laughably bad that I have to give it an extra star just for how hard I was laughing at some points. I have now seen more of the inside of Mark Wahlberg's mouth than I ever care to see again. And the only reason I would ever, ever, ever watch this again (or suggest it to anyone, even someone I hate a great deal) is if there were copious amounts of alcohol involved. And even then, I'm pretty sure I would spend most of the movie thinking about other, more worthwhile, things that I could be doing instead of watching "The Happening" and wasting all that delicious alcohol.
February 28, 2019
The happening is a great movie. If you love zombie, syfy movies you 1/2(TM)ll love this. The OG bird box.
½ February 20, 2019
Contender for worst movie of all time. Horrible script; preposterous dialogue; terrible acting. So bad it is unintentionally funny.
February 19, 2019
There's nothing here. Well, at least it appears so. A film like this presents us with information without managing to create art. Visuals in this film are bland, plain, and boring. When a director is presenting us with a theory about the end of the world we deserve lots of eye candy and neat features in relation to the problem. Here, if I wasn't fluent in English as a native, I wouldn't know what happened, what occurred, and what transgressed. "The Happening" can indicate in subtle manner the horror of disease-giving trees and I found potential for this storyline; that's because, with art, anything should be possible unless we're hesitant about expressing those dramas on the forces of nature. Imagine if the trees moved faster, if the bushes moved faster, if the leaves moved faster, if the clouds moved faster, all in wild colors of darkness in our approach to a future movie's presentation; then, we'd see something even half more fantastic than this current film. Art is often about drifting away from reality. However, in "The Happening", everything is too real and serious for there to be any harmony in our current understanding of the fields of science and pushy critics have quickly dismissed the movie's probable scientific theories. We're just so used to seeing something beautiful as opposed to a bland movie. Camera angles in the film become weak and unimpressive in terms of horror because all of this chaos is going on in the East of United States and no image, no visual, really convinces me of the frightening conclusions; hey, even the love story has little to speak for itself due to confusion, disorientation, and true colors of reality. But how do we know if critics mean well on the horror? That is, how could we just treat this with a laugh or two? I think reality in general makes us nervous when something goes wrong. We might laugh out of arrogance or take things lightly when reality is staring at us in the face; maybe this film would've just been better for a home-only program on Public Broadcasting. Throughout the whole film (one hour and thirty minutes) I only saw one frightening scene with the trees and nature blowing in the wind. That kind of effect lasted only 1 minute but I was intrigued to see more of the same, high power of nature; instead, we're left with barely a glimpse into the true powers of nature. Guys! Move the camera around! We need expert photography and filming to become convinced about the horrific, scientific possibility.
½ February 15, 2019
I saw this in the theatre. It was probably the worst movie I seen in the last 20 years.
½ January 31, 2019
Unintentionally The Happening is a comedy of bad film-making. The premise, the acting and the logic expressed in this pile of garbage is so shockingly rolled out you just end up rolling your eyes in disbelief. Zooey Daschenel gives the worst performance I have ever seen since characters in The Room. Throughout the entire film this wide-eyed character with no common sense or conscience forever stains the actress in my eyes. Mark Wahlberg shows how terrible he can act too as his timing and delivery are so calculated and downright desperate. I can't stress how CRINGEWORTHY the acting is in this film. Then there is M. Night the director who worked very hard to make this film as bad as it can be. Was there no one on the film crew who said: "Hey boss, this film is really stupid. Are you sure you want to do this?" I want you to avoid this film at all costs because it is one of the worst films ever made so I'm going to ruin the end for you. When you hear what the ending is it should dissuade you enough because it is the stupidest concept ever made in history. The plants are angry, they make you kill yourself because man is bad. So go find some vegetables to eat rather than popcorn and kill yourself before watching this one.
½ January 27, 2019
mediocre comedy, awful acting.
½ January 23, 2019
The Happening is everything a typical bad M. Night Shyamalan film is, but this one has a a completely confused and out there performance by Mark Wahlberg that makes this film a must watch.
½ January 20, 2019
What is happening (No pun) to M Night? He slides down the slide with every film of his. The Happening is so bad it is an unintentional parody. This film is a bore with none of the tension and suspense needed to keep us interested. Even simple scenes reek of contrivance. Everything in this movie is artificial - fake to a level beyond what even those with blockbuster-benumbed senses will endure. We don't believe in these people, their relationships, their circumstances, or even the things they say. Worse still, we don't care. It doesn't matter if they live or die, if there's a happy ending, or some kind of twist. The Happening is a movie to walk out of, sleep through, or - best of all - not to bother with.
½ January 19, 2019
Ebert and Roeper both gave this film a positive review.

Ebert said: " ... For me, Shyamalan's approach is more effective than smash-and-grab plot-mongering. His use of the landscape is disturbingly effective. The performances by Wahlberg and Deschanel bring a quiet dignity to their characters. ... I suspect I'll be in the minority in praising this film. It will be described as empty, uneventful, meandering. But for some, it will weave a spell."

The Happening is an homage to classic, low-budget horror films. M. Night stated beforehand that the goal was to make an excellent B movie. The acting is perfectly executed. Most people don't seem to get that the characters in the film are supposed to be a little spacey and odd. That is what the director told them to do. And where was the Academy Award nomination for Betty Buckley (Mrs. Jones)?! Her performance is probably the best thing; simply incredible.
½ January 18, 2019
I don't know if this was a book originally, if so, it should have stayed a book. One of the worst movies ever.
Page 1 of 1571